We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Hotel Karthi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Karthi
Ranked #221 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

the room is pretty fair and clean, but the smell is stink. Bad service,The staff not friendly, the room is difficult to open, I guess the keyroom isn't compatible with the door.. That makes the key easily be broken. And they will charge you with something that isn't our fault. It's like I've been tricked.
The food is quite well, and the good thing about this hotel, it's near the shopping centre and cafe, good location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    21
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
14
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Having read some of the other reviews I was a little apprehensive over staying at this hotel. Upon arrival we were put into a stansard room (although having paid a deposit on a super deluxe). This was very small and lacking in amenities. Next day the manager rectified the problem, we were moved to our original order. The room was larger and had more facilities. Included breakfast was adequate, if a little lacking in variety.This hotel appears to be aimed at the Japanese. We fed many times during our stay, the only disappointment being the steak. The menu was also fairly limited. Bintang beer was some of the cheapest in town. We stayed for thirteen nights, slept very well. TV stations were somewhat thin for our tastes. I had a problem, losing my heart tablets and was unable to replace them in Kuta, the manager went out of his way to find some replacements for which I was extremely grateful. Overall we got what we paid for. This is an adequate hotel in the very centre of Kuta with friendly staff and all your basics covered.

Room Tip: For couples, request a super deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. The location is excellent. Located near Kuta beach (5 min walk). 24h convenient store (Circle K) is just in front of the hotel. If you prefer international restaurant, you can find many of them. Discovery shopping mall, Sogo department store can be reached in 5 min walking.

The room is terrible. I would say it is a hostel instead a hotel. No blanket provided. Poor toilette. You can find a ton of limescale in the shower. The provided towels must have been used and washed more than thousands times since it is not white and bright anymore but rather a bit yellow. The bed-linen has the same story as the towels.

I would not leave my stuff in the room, since the lock is also poor.

The hotel staffs were relative friendly (except the one who responsible for breakfast).
Breakfast was OK (acceptable) with friend rice and cauliflower.

Summary: If you are a very low budget traveler, or student looking for some adventure in Kuta area, then go for this hotel. Since what you need is only bed and breakfast. Otherwise, if you travel with family or partner , stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keylogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Malang, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

They move your room without confirmation.Unfriendly staffs, staff was informed, but no apology/action taken, location was kinda terrible - have to go through a dark,dirty lane, map was misleading in website, category nowhere near a boutique hotel, breakfast was pathetic! It was a disastreous hotel i ever stay in Bali

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaponno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Pros:
Location was good, shopping centre just beside, restaurants opposite.
Walking distance to kuta beach.
Cons:
Faulty toilet flush
No blanket.
Small room.
Lousy breakfast

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank envisage06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My wife and I, celebrating our 2 year wedding anniversary did a South East Asia trip for about 3 weeks – staying in Singapore, Bali, Phuket, Koh Samui and Bangkok

If you are planning on going to any of these places please feel free to read my reviews on Padma Hotel - Bali, Sugar Palm Resort - Phuket, Best Western Bayview – Koh Samui and Park Plaza – Bangkok.
Even if you are not staying in any of these hotels I did my best to give you all the key things you need to know while you are at these locations and make the most of your time there.

To keep things simple and easy I’ll first review the hotel and then just list the keys things you need to know about the actual location itself (in point form) so you can simple take the information and run with it.

First - we did not originally desire to stay at Hotel Karthi. My other hotel reservation (All Seasons Legian) got mixed up and so we didn't have a place to stay. Hotel Karthi is owned by a friends cousin so they told us to stay there as a last minute suggestion.

The only good thing about this Hotel is the location (if you desire to stay in busy KUTA beach area). It is right in the middle of the main street in KUTA which means it's loud, noisy and dirty, but easily accessible to everything.

That about the only good thing...

General Review:
- The rooms are dirty, lowly lit and have an odor to them
- Rooms also have bugs, even bed bugs which my wife got bit from
- the rooms do have A/C but don't give you any blankets except a really thin sheet
- there is a pool but not once did we see anyone in it, nor any staff cleaning it
- wifi internet is an extra charge (about $5 a day which is really expensive out here)
- the staff are quite nice
- breakfest is provided and is not bad

Overall I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't suggest anyone else to. For the same price you can find something MUCH MUCH better.


About Bali - key need to know things...
When going to Bali I would say you'd probably want to stay in one of two places - KUTA beach area - which is the most busy place in Bali and where 'all the action is' OR LEGIAN beach area which is right beside Kuta, but a little quieter, less busy and 'friendlier'.

If you insist on staying in Kuta, I would stay at the Hard Rock Hotel and Resort Kuta. It's right on the beach and although didn't get the most rave reviews on tripadvisor, everyone we met staying there said they liked it.

If you are like me and like just a little more relaxed atmosphere - then Legian is your spot. It's just beside Kuta but you'll see the difference. If you are planning to stay in Legian the only place worth considering is the Padma Resort. We stayed there a couple of nights and it is a piece of heaven. Expensive (but you can find a great deal), but worth every penny. You can read my review on it.


TRANSPORTATION
* Rent a scooter your first day there (and maybe for the whole trip) and get familiar with the local area
This was our main means of transportation getting around locally. It's REALLY cheap (like $5usd a day) and you really get to see everything and have the freedom to go where you want, when you want.
It's a little tricky navigating the streets, but nothing you can't do.
Just BE CAREFUL. Bali traffic and drivers are crazy. There are TONS of people and scooters zip in and out of traffic all the time. Just be safe and stick to the left side of the road (they drive on the opposite side of North America) - so stick left and let cars and other pass accordingly if needed.

If you want to go on excursions HIRE A DRIVER - don't get sucked into these 'TOUR PACKAGES'. It's the same thing but for much more.
We hired a driver for the whole day -8 hours (cost us $35usd) and basically told him all the places we want to go. Even if you don't know any places, he can make suggestions.
We also hired him to pick us up and drive us to the airport (MUCH cheaper than taxi or hotel airport transfer) so I would say do the same.

Our driver's name was I WAYAN SADRA and his number is [--].
He is AMAZING, speaks almost perfect English and is REALLY helpful. Call him up when you're there and he'll truly be a blessing to you.
At the very least call him before you go to arrange airport transfers (if your hotel doesn't do it for free) otherwise you'll probably end up overpaying.


THINGS TO DO (excursions):
There are places to swim with dolphins, white water rafting, any and all water sports, etc.
There are TONS of tour agencies everywhere - so my suggestions is just walk into any of them and check out the options and prices.

We chose to go to Turtle Island - a great little island just off Bali where you can see turtles and a ton of other animals
and
Monkey Forrest - a temple that has tons of monkeys. There are also some great look out points from here.
The rest of the time was spent either at the Beach (Kuta or Legian), driving around to see all the cool places or at the resort pool (Padma Resort).


FOOD:
Although I'm not a huge fan of Indonesian food, the food is good, but best of all it's really CHEAP. No matter where you go (local places) you can get a good deal for a meal. I don't think we spend more than $5usd on a meal. Other than the free breakfest, we didn't really eat at the resort.

Just drive around, find a place that is busy and go right in.
The indo Chicken Satay is a great dish.

As a side note - only drink bottled water (Agua is the most trusted company out there - blue bottle) and don't take ICE in anything (unless the ice is cubed and has holes in it).


PURCHASING:
If you are ever going to buy anything, you should be ready to barter. Things are cheap here, but if you're not prepared to barter you'll get ripped off.
Also, people will haggle you to go into their stores. It can get a little annoying, but a simple 'no thanks' with a smile and just moving right along will do the trick.

If you ever do want anything, as a rule of thumb, you can probably end up paying a price that is about 1/3 the price they first offer you.
You'll walk into a store, there will not be prices on anything, you'll show interest and ask 'how much?'. That's when the game begins... the store owner will get out his calculator and type out a price. (Remember it's about 10,000 indo rupiah to every US dollar). You gotta act totally surprised (throw in a little drama - remember it's a game so treat it that way) and counter offer MUCH MUCH lower (about 1/3rd) - remember stay friendly, smile and keep it a game. (Don't take this too seriously and just walk out frustrated... this is just how things work here). You'll go back and forth a few times and you'll either get it or not and a price you're willing to pay. Be prepared to walk away at least once as this will help bring down the price for you.
And remember - negotiate EVERYTHING - you'll be surprised at what you can barter for including food, excursions, surf lessons in Kuta etc.

EXTRA:
Massages are really cheap here (especially compared to at home - Canada = $80 per hour for a decent massage). You can expect to pay about $9 for a massage is it's great so splurge a little while you're here and get as many as you can afford.

Go to Ku De Ta for sunset, Sarong for dinner and La Luciola for breakfast...hu'u bar for drinks.
Climb gunung batur or if ur up to it gunung agung.
Learn to surf on kuta beach...visit either dreamland or padang padang or karma beach

Don't hesitate to contact me if you need anything or have any questions.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

If you looking for hotel just for a place where you can sleep at night, then this could be one of your choices. This hotel has a really strategic location. it just within walking distance to shopping mall, restaurant, center of kuta, beach. the room looked tired and need renovation. but the room still pretty clean. my complain is they did not provide us with blanket. i must ask the house keeping to give us blanket. also they dont provide bathroom mat. so once again i ask them to give us one. To my surprise, the room look better than the photos in the website. The breakfast very ordinary. Cheap room but i think i will find a better hotel at the same price. But still this hotel is really great value for money

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#109 of 338 in Kuta
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flamboyan
Hotel Flamboyan
#269 of 338 in Kuta
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#133 of 338 in Kuta
504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samudra Homestay
Samudra Homestay
#267 of 338 in Kuta
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#59 of 338 in Kuta
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karthi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karthi

Property: Hotel Karthi
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza | Kuta Beach, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karthi 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Karthi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karthi Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing