We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Would never recommend this place”
Review of Hotel Karthi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Karthi
Ranked #162 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Broken toilet in dirty bathroom greeted us. We asked that it be repaired. It wasn't. People in pool at 6am! Right in front of room. Very noisy. Horrible breakfast - didn't bother. Good location BUT we moved after 1 night to kuta station hotel across the road. Same price and very clean. Hotel Karthi is a disgrace. Oh and during our whole stay, complaining about bathroom, noise, food etc not one manager appeared. Also pool is NOT clean and concrete is chipping away all around it. Cigarette butts are all arond whole place. There are many more much nicer places to stay for the same price in Kuta.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great little place... It has and still is under going renovations. We stayed in the new rooms and they were great. We had the front room and it was a bit noisy if you had the door open, but people watching was quite amusing from the balcony. The food is excellent for both Indo and Western meals... We stayed for 5 nights and ate there most nights as it was excellent value for money and the staff were wonderful. Breakfast is also great.. No complaints here... For a cheap hotel it is excellent... Great location if you are shopping in Kuta Square or Discovery Mall. It is located half way between both. We swam quite a bit and the pool was in good condition.. My only complaint is there is not a lot of room around the pool for tables and chairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Eaten at this hotel 3 times and every time the bill comes out we are blown away. It is so cheap no tax or service and the food is great with large servings. Highly recommend for all Aussies.
The hotel has just undergone refurbishments so it would be a great place to stay as it is on a great location, may be a little noisy thou as it is on Main Street.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bclark0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed there for nine nights and place was very nice. Maybe a bit noisy, but location is perfect, staff is friendly and helpful and attentive. Breakfast area very nice too. Everything is so close from that hotel - supermarket and sea, although they do not have the direct exit to the beach.

Room Tip: choose a deluxe room in the upper floors and further from the street cause it is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fuguse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I have been staying at Hotel Karthi for the last three years, two to three times a year. I have seen some negative comments that really do not tell the true story.
The hotel has just gone through a major renovation and the improvements are very noticeable. The pool is excellent and very well maintained, I swim three times a day and the pool does get a lot of use during the school holiday times.
The older part of the hotel is just fine, the rooms are clean and comfortable, adequate TV channels, and amenities plus free WiFi which works well unlike other hotels. The air conditioning works well. Indeed from time to time there have been a couple of maintenance issues, this can happen anywhere, but at Karthi they fix things very rapidly. They are upgrading the older part of the hotel so probably in a short time the entire hotel will be modernized.
The Managers Hendry and Evelin and all the staff go out of there way to make sure your stay is a great experience. This last time I was there I broke my glasses and the engineer fixed them for me.
The restaurant food is very good, breakfast, lunch and dinner. I normally have an American breakfast. Food and Beverage prices are reasonable and the service is also very good and friendly. If you want a special wine they will get it for you but bear in mind it can tke several days.
I have used the tour service, price is reasonable and the drivers are very good and safe. If you stay for several days they will pick you up and drop you off at the airport which is a bonus. All in all you get good value at Karthi for what you pay.
The location is excellent, many local restaurants, shopping, Kuta beach, very central.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and I would suggest the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BruceWyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Having stayed here two years ago, and unable to visit last year through improvements we lunched at the newly renovated dining area. This was spacious, clean and remodeled.New tiles on the walls, revamped dining hall and still the same menu. The Mie Goring was huge. The standard of cooking was still the same (GOOD) Beer was still some of the cheapest in town. We enjoyed a good meal overlooking the busy street people watching. We spoke to some guests who stated the rooms had also been upgraded and a lift had been installed. All this bodes well for the future. A good budget style hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

standart hotel, standart facilities, no interest for stay in this hotel....i hope this hotel can a renovation building....kuta bali is a favorite pleasure tourism place...so hotel which a kuta place have to get a best service....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar
2  Thank nanangwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#100 of 250 in Kuta
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flamboyan
Hotel Flamboyan
#169 of 250 in Kuta
31 reviews
0 mi away
Kuta Station Hotel
Kuta Station Hotel
#104 of 250 in Kuta
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
POP! Hotel Legian Dewi Sri Bali
1.3 mi away
Jocs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Hotel Sorga Cottages
#116 of 250 in Kuta
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karthi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karthi

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza | Kuta Beach, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: £12 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karthi 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Karthi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karthi Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing