We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa
Ranked #66 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location very central to lots of good shopping & eating places. We had a pool access room & it was just blissful, step off your patio straight into the cool water. I found the staff to be nice, very polite & helpful. Breakfast was good with quite a big selection of foods to choose from. The only down point was the wifi I was not able to get it in my room :( Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barblaraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I really liked this place. It had some great attributes, but a couple of irritating annoyances that need to be resolved if they're going to compete with the myriad of new hotels currently being built in Bali.

The good:

We had a poolside room. It doesn't get any better than this. The convenience of walking out of your room straight into the pool really is the hotel's best attribute. The pool is open from 7am to 10pm, and I couldn't count of the number of times that I went from room to pool, especially in the evening when you feel like a cool down swim.

Also good is the fact that the hotel doesn't mind you having a drink while in the pool. Staff were great (albeit with limited English), and the bar fridge was a reasonable size and, most importantly, kept my beer icy cold.

Talking of cold - the air conditioning is sensational. Freezing, with no rattles.

The areas for improvement:

Pool towels - made in the 1920s, they've had plenty of use. The few remaining threads that hold the towel together do nothing to absorb any water from your body. I think the towels had colour once, but I could be wrong....they are very faded. I'm not in any way precious, but I had reservations about rubbing them on my body. Bath towels are not much better - more like tea towels.

Wifi - Only available within a 10m radius of the restaurant. Very, very frustrating not having convenient access available. We were in room 102, and if you held your phone over the pool in the direction of the restaurant then you could pick up the weakest of signals. Rooms 103, 104, 105 and 106 are the only rooms were you've got any chance of getting a signal on your porch (zero chance inside room). Previous review suggest wifi would be available across the whole hotel around October 2013 - I'm thinking this may have been just be wishful thinking buy the management. Luckily, almost every restaurant in Bali has wifi access, so you can access it plenty, but the fact that you can't get it in your room is very annoying. It's reasonably quick when you do connect, but if 10 people are using it you notice a significant slowdown.

Gym - was closed for renovation. Looks like it had been closed for sometime too. Months (if not years) away from being finished. Ruined my plans to work off the Bintangs.....

Mozzies are bad, but only after sunset. The hotel is doing the best it can to keep them under control. All in all, they weren't a problem for us.

We had an interconnecting room (with unknown neighbours). Noise easily transfers through the (locked) wooden doors that separate the two rooms. We could hear the person next door snoring, but a few beers put me into a deep sleep where I could effectively ignore it.

TV - 17 Indonesian channels and the 'Australia' channel. No movies or foxtel/cable available.

Pool lounges - Not many around, but the hotel wasn't busy when we were there. In busy season I imagine it would be hard to get one. They have a good policy of removing your towel if your pool lounge/towel is left unattended for 30 mins. Eliminates the issues of people dropping their towels on lounges at 7am and not turning up for hours.

Summary:

It's getting a little run down and could do with a paint job, but this is Bali and it'd hard to keep buildings white and bright.

The 120m pool is the main attraction, and if you get the pool room it's great. For the money, it's pretty good value.

Location is ok - not spectacular and not bad. 50m from Melasti, and about 2km from Matahari. No noise issues.

Would I stay here again?..........Well, I've stayed at Hard Rock, Kamula Pantai, Bali Mandira and Villa Kamboja so can give a reasonable assessment. If I got the poolside room, yes. If not, then no. (I paid around AUD $65 a night for the room with no breakfast).

Happy to answer questions :-)

Room Tip: Pool room near restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ticket65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have just returned from the Kuta Lagoon Resort and found it to be quite an adventure.
We were escorted to our first room, only to find our long wait for rest and relaxation saw us looking not over a blue, glistening Lagoon, but over a car-park, garbage area, come maintenance site.This was the Deluxe room!
After asking for a transfer to another room, were were given another Deluxe room, this time with a canopy above the bed, accompanied by the sweet sounds of hammering and concrete drilling adjacent to the hotel. That would be okay if it was for a few minutes...this went on for hours, days.
There was also construction going on within the hotel due to renovations which made the noise levels unbearable.
It would be in the hotel's advantage to shut down the rooms directly affected by the construction noises to prevent guests like us commenting on this problem.
We were told no coffee and tea facilities were available to the deluxe rooms so we decided to buy a electric jug and a jar of Nescafe. (Buying an electric jug was another saga in itself)
We had not booked the daily breakfast into our package. Thank God we didn't.
We decided to try Breakfast one morning......just okay..nothing special.
After day six we asked yet again to be put in another room due to the noise. The manager was lovely and within 30 minutes we were moved to a quieter room with an excellent view.
The staff were lovely but in spite of that we would be very reluctant to stay there again considering there are so many places of choice to stay in Bali.

Room Tip: Make sure you book rooms staring from low 100's rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have only just come back from the lagoon (15-11-2013) while it's pretty to look at and the staff are very friendly, room service food was very poor ( the seafood flatter was so dry we had to throw it out) the breakfast buffet looked nice but the food was cold/luke warm not hot n very basic. We were constantly woken up in the early hours of the morning and night by either security calling the wrong room, or staff/ other visitors knocking on out door. They apologised n upgraded our room after a complaint yet we were again woken by bogus phone calls the next morning and the aircon broke down. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable, one squeaked every time my nephew moved, the pillows were also very bulky. As I said earlier the staff were great however I will not go back to this resort again. It was far from relaxing for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissymalooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We would highly recommend anyone to stay here as the service from all staff members was excellent . Nothing was to much trouble. The resort is well located in central Legian and we stayed in both the Swim-up room and private villa. Rooms are clean and although the pool is right at your doorstep we were not disturbed by other guests using the facility. Once again all staff from the pool boy to the massage girls to the cleaners always had a smile and kind greetings that made our stay memorable Thank you Gary and Shiona

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 26/10-09/11. 4 couples had booked for poolside rooms; upon arrival we were told that these rooms were not available - we were all very disappointed until we were told we had all been upgraded to 4 private villas for the length of our stay! What fantastic customer service. We had stayed here in 2008 and wanted to share with our first time Bali friends the fabulous relaxed atmosphere and the unbelievably friendly staff this resort offers. I enlisted the hotel staff to help decorate the room on the day of my wife's birthday and she came back to a room strewn with rose petals and a bed decorated with petals and a frangipani heart plus a bunch of roses, along with a personalized birthday card the staff ensured was ready for me. She was thrilled. If you want a place that offers vale for money, great, friendly service, away from the noise of Kuta this is the place to stay. I am sure we will be back for a third visit in the near future. Thank you to all the staff for making this a birthday Janelle will not forget.

Room Tip: We will now request a villa - just too good to go back to a hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsfittler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before and have recommended it to friends as well and they also loved it. For a 3 star hotel it is just great. The pool,the rooms and cleanliness are just terrific cant really fault this place great value for money. We had a pool access room and got upgraded to a private villa for 3 nights out of our week stay which was just amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Legian Paradiso Hotel
Legian Paradiso Hotel
#103 of 252 in Kuta
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#15 of 252 in Kuta
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Rose Kuta Resort, Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#22 of 252 in Kuta
748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa

Address: Jalan Raya Legian No. 363, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#27 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £20 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow us Kuta Lagoon Resort and Pool Villas to introduce true Balinese Hospitality by being your host and make your visit be a memory for life. The Journey starts at the mysterious narrow entrance that leads you further back, away from the roaming and bustling streets to a small 'Oasis of Tropical Tranquility and Romance' where you are welcomed to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Let God's chauffeurs and let us take care of your comfort. Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villas is the only one lovely lagoon boutique, which is located strategically in the heart of Legian Kuta. If you are looking for something different in the crowded of Legian Kuta with quality, charm and focus on traditional personalized service, Kuta Lagoon Resort and Pool Villas could be just the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa Hotel Kuta
Kuta Lagoon Resort And Pool Villa
Kuta Lagoon Hotel Pool
Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing