We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been the best hostel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CX Hostel Ground Zero
Ranked #43 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Kuta
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I love the idea of the capsule beds. You get your own plug, a fresh towel and fresh bed linen everyday, 2 lockers and free wifi, which was the fastest we'd had in Indonesia and the beds are very comfortable. The first time we were there, we met some great people and there was a fantastic atmosphere, but the second time we were there, the power went out quite a lot for a couple of minutes at a time, and the wifi didn't work for 2 days. The breakfast also isn't great, you just get some toast. But apart from that, it's great. The location especially is fantastic, right in the centre of Kuta, next to all the big bars and clubs. That's also a slight downside; if you don't go out then the you get quite a bit of background noise and you'll also get people coming in at all times. But hey, it's a hostel so get used to it. If you're drunk most nights, which is what I recommend in Kuta, then you'll be fine. The bed is also a very reasonable 125,000 a night.

Room Tip: Get capsule beds - more people but more social and better beds.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for CX Hostel Ground Zero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hostel had everything you would neet. A/C, lockable rooms, lockers, free towels, a free-to-use computer, free Wi-Fi everywhere, breakfast (which doesn't include eggs), even free soap and shampoo in the showers. It looks very modern. My matrace was comfortable and seemed almost new.
However there are no windows so you'll have to cope with artificial light.

The common are is rather small. Anyway it's good to meet people because there are many. The staff was helpful, they had all information about transport that I needed.

It's right in the center of Kuta, next to an Indomaret supermarket and two minutes to the Sky Garden party complex where you can get really tasty all you can eat BBQ every evening for an incredibly cheap price (Rp 50 000 in 2014).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joooeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great hostel for a good price was there for a week my own capsule was good for privacy, really easy to make friends. Why does a review need to be 200 letters long I said everything I need to say, um laundry was a bit over prices and there is an anz ATM in the entrance.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

the hostel itself is good, the capsule bed is great for some extra privacy in a dorm form hostel. the mixed bathrooms are a little to small for the number of beds in the dorm room and because of so many users you will sometimes find a not so clean bathroom. other then that the location really good for nightlife and beach but no so good for travelling around the island of bali because the Legian street is a constant traffic jam and because of that taxis and other means of transport become time and money expensive.
overall it was a pleasant stay, just be aware of every little travel agent in town because if you are a tourist they will most likely try to make you pay more than you should.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean. You get you're own bed capsule, one on top of each other with its own light and electrical socket. Fresh towels are provided everyday. The bathrooms are cleaned everyday and soap/shampoo is provided. The staff are very friendly and go above and beyond to help you out. By far the best hostel I've stayed at.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Hostelstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Previously stayed at the CX hostel further up Legion but much preferred this one as it was much more social. There is no 'common area' as such but staying in the larger dorm meant it was very easy to meet people but still have the space you need in your little pod beds. Obviously if you don't like noise and need to sleep at night then this might not be for you as it is in the perfect location for the bars and clubs but I would 100% recommend this if you want a good time! The staff are all lovely too

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Petal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hostel was nice and clean. We stayed in a two-person room, which was the smallest room I've ever seen, but that was no problem for one night. Wifi was good and the simple breakfast was just as described.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ayla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Legian Garden Cottage
#81 of 87 in Legian
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Niche Bali
The Niche Bali
#100 of 254 in Kuta
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 87 in Legian
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CX Hostel Legian
CX Hostel Legian
#15 of 208 in Kuta
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taman Ayu Legian
Taman Ayu Legian
#139 of 283 in Kuta
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gemini Star
Gemini Star
#95 of 283 in Kuta
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CX Hostel Ground Zero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CX Hostel Ground Zero

Address: Jl. Raya Legian, Legian Kelod, Kuta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Kuta
Hotel Class:2 star — CX Hostel Ground Zero 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is strategically located in the heart of Kuta-Legian street right in the central of Kuta, steps away from the historic Ground Zero and Popies Lane 2. Famous clubs such as Sky Garden,ViAiPi, Engine Room, Bounty Club's, Paddy's and much more are awaiting for you, literally only steps away from your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
CX Hostel Ground Zero Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing