We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Kumala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kumala Hotel
Ranked #160 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed at the hotel kumala in may13 , the room was fantastic, clean and the bathroom was big with the largest shower I've ever seen.
Breakfast was basic but sufficient , gardens lovely, and all the Staff were fantastic.
It is set right amongst great restaurants, spas and shopping and only a five minute walk down to the beach.
I would on my next is it stay at this hotel, and you know what it is the best thing about it is the price.
Great value, great location.

Room Tip: Book new rooms at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    76
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
54
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

After 4 weeks in other parts of Asia we arrived to stay with friends here. The hotel is well located, within easy walking distance to the beach and many restaurants and shops. The hotel is well laid out with plenty of garden areas to keep it peaceful. The pool we used (1 of 2 pools) was lovely and our room, although a bit old and tired was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel represents good value for money.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jillreading08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was the first stop of a three-week trip around Bali and it couldn't have been any better. Great room, good restaurant, friendly staff and wonderful setting. Not on the beach, but this was not a bother since I knew I would be staying many places later on in the trip where I would be at the beach. All in all a great first exposure to Bali.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinigloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Being lucky enough to have spent 2 months in Bali this time we did a fair bit of research into our accommodation & reckon this is the best value for money we've found. We usually stay at the larger Kumala Pantai just around the corner but this time we needed to find a more budget-conscious alternative.
The Kumala Hotel (previously Grand Kumala) rooms are spacious with full, marble bathrooms, air conditioning, digital safe, TV & good sized fridge. The gardens & 2 pools are all well-kept with a team of diligent, friendly staff constantly sweeping, pruning & watering. The rooms are also subject to a continuous maintenance program with painting & renovations frequently in evidence.
The front desk team are equally friendly & helpful, offering a complimentary safety deposit box facility in addition to the usual services.
The only slight drawback for us was the restaurant staff who we encountered every morning at breakfast. In a place where friendly, smiling, jolly people are the norm, we found the restaurant ladies a bit on the serious side. Curiously, the men were always quick with the smiling greetings though. The breakfast itself is a basic continental offering with a couple of Indonesian dishes, which is perfectly adequate but which we augmented with our own muesli, yoghurt & fruit.
All in all, it's not hard to see why the place is often nearly full with long-stay Europeans escaping the winter blues.

Room Tip: The newer, more modern rooms are at the rear of the property and are larger and quieter than those a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LePhews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I’ve stayed here a number of times and have been happy. My most recent stay was in May 2013.
Generally, nothing much has changed in the hotel except that the front exterior of the reception area has been renovated.
The hotel has two rectangular pools and a few deck chairs around them. The gardens are well maintained and pretty. There is a restaurant at the rear of the hotel. Next to the reception is a bar and large ornate lounge area with TV. Drinks are reasonably priced.
The staff at this hotel, are very friendly and helpful. The security is good.
The rooms vary in quality, size and price.
Breakfast which is included in the room price is good with a small choice of Indonesian and Western food.
The hotel is close to beach being about 5 to 10 minutes walk along Jalan Double Six.
Walking either way from the entrance of the hotel are a variety of shops, restaurants and massage spas.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockterrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a day after we had to vacate the rented villa we were staying in next door. As our flight was middnight 10 hours of just hanging around the streets was something we did not want to do so we decided to give the Kumala hotel a try as a place to park our bags and have a lie down and relax before our flights. At only $35AUD for a standard room this hotel was great value for money. Although the rooms are pretty old and smelt a bit midewy they were clean and the aircon was fabulous. The hotel staff are very friendy.
Didnt get to see their other styles of rooms but all seemed to be very reasonably priced and the location is excellent, a short walk from the beach and double six road. I would recommend the standard room for those budget travellers who are looking for a no fuss cheap room to enjoy their stay in bali and who wouldnt be fussed by dated decor or old fashioned bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaShir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We've now stayed here three times. Its a simple little hotel. Nice small gardens. The rooms are OK, just getting a bit tired. The staff are good. The breakfast is simple but OK. They have nasi goreng and mie goreng most morning sand if not they have Soto Ayam with white rice. There's also eggs and toast and fruit. There are two small pools and a bar area off reception. Didn't eat at the cafe except for breakfast. Biggest complaint is the hardness of the beds, only just OK. Our room had a 3/4 fridge which was a bonus. They have a variety of rooms including two bedroom suites and a three bedroom presidential suite. Prices are good and very from just over $30.00 (no TV and no fridge with roof fan) to $100.00 a night for the presidential Suite. Very good value. We choose to stay here as its half the price of the Kumala Pantai, so over 10 nights we save 400.00 - 500.00.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the right room if you want aircon, tv and fridge. They are easily identified on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#30 of 252 in Kuta
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sari Bunga Hotel
Sari Bunga Hotel
#67 of 87 in Legian
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ananta Legian Hotel
Ananta Legian Hotel
#37 of 87 in Legian
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kusnadi Hotel
Kusnadi Hotel
#45 of 87 in Legian
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Su's Beach Cottages 1
Su's Beach Cottages 1
#22 of 85 in Legian
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumala Hotel

Property: Kumala Hotel
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kumala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Hotel Kuta
Kumala Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing