We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Ranked #9 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Visited for the fourth time but this time had our family, their partners and two grandchildren.(10 people)
Everyone thought it was great with wonderful and safe facilities for the little ones.
Great location, great staff, great facilities and still good breakfasts and cheap Bintangs.
Will be back

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Zoezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

I have been staying at this property for the last six years usually for a one month stay to a five week visit at during Feb and March. I have seen the progression of this hotel from being a very average hotel to becoming more accommodating and truly trying to upgrade the amenities but also have watched the prices increase but not the quality or amenities at the same pace as the rate increase. I have talked to management numerous times and left thinking they truly are listening but I see very little change. They could make some very good improvements which are considered just standard in other major hotels but it has not make a difference. The hotel is in an excellent location in the center of Kuta Beach nearby to the dirty Kuta Beach (good surfing though...) in the midst of a very lush garden area that is private and extremely quiet for the most part. The staff all around from Front Desk to bell hops to cleaners and gardener's and some of the restaurant staff is in the true Balinese friendly style. One of the main reasons I come back year after year to this hotel is because of the warm staff and as a single traveller but usually meet friends from Perth here...they could not be more gracious. The buffet breakfast has slowly improved over the years but needs a major overhaul. The lunch and dinner menu in the restaurant has not changed in years...The restaurant menu needs to be stripped and a new menu created. Light food by the pool menu is the same. Ok, but very limited year after year the same items...The hotel restaurant in the evening is quite relaxing but the food quality is just average compared to many other nearby restaurants that are available. I usually book the deluxe rooms and though they now have a flat screen tv and other amenities my room, 76 or 77 had a new non functioning dresser that had tiny little drawers where you could not put any folded clothes in the drawers per say. I showed this to the management and thanked them for the new furniture but the piece was useless and more like for an office equipment. The wardrobe to hang clothes always year after year has about five hangers if you are lucky and if you are a female and you want to hang a dress..forget it...The lighting in the room is terrible. Bathroom worst...I usually buy brighter bulbs but then you need sunglasses as the light cams don't hide all the shadows as you are constantly blinded in the room at certain locations. The light bulbs hang freely from the ceiling create a government office feeling. Bedding is comfortable and side lamps acceptable. The bathroom shower curtains are of poor quality and need updating as well as the lighting in the bathroom is poor. The doors in and out of the room have an ancient lock system and should be updated. AC worked perfectly fine. The pool area is comfortable where the pool bar usually has a lively or a drunken type atmosphere. I have met some wonderful people poolside over the years that I have developed lasting friendships with but the last two times I stayed at this hotel the pool bar is like an adult college drunken atmosphere. . Fortunately there are two pools and the older pool area tends to be more quiet. Some of the pool bar staff need to be trained in customer service but others are always willing to assist in a friendly manner. Front Desk reception area is average but front desk staff very professional and always willing to help. The entrance into the restaurant and front desk lobby are are made of marble steps is a complete nightmare after it rains as well as around the pool area is extremely slick and dangerous. Though the hotel finally put some dry mats on the steps to the restaurant has helped a railing is needed in the middle of the steps as i have seen numerous guest fall and cut themselves sliding on the wet surface but young and old. Management apologizes but they do nothing about it to assist their passengers. This year there were two rats I saw almost nightly that ran from the so called security booth over across to under the restaurant dinning area. No effort to try to trap them as I brought it to the hotel staff. If you go with the intention of not expecting good quality amenities but more interested in location, friendly staff, and just look the other way when it comes to poor room lighting, average food quality, average bathroom amenities, etc...and you are willing to pay more this type of service which is just standard in other hotels, you will enjoy it. I like the property but I don't mind paying more for the room rate but I want to see real improvements and consistent upgrades. As of March 2013 they have a very antiquated internet service. One has to go to the front desk once a day to receive the password and it's limited to a three hour time limit regardless if you sit down and use all three hours at once or later. This does not make sense as you can walk across the street and have a coffee at Black Canyon coffee house, check out the waves and get unlimited free internet...Last visit I was here my friends were staying at one of the bungalows and at 3am someone tried to break into their room. The locks are ancient and there really is no security at this hotel even though the booth is attended by one person around the clock...sometimes....It's not the worst hotel but don't expect much and you might enjoy this friendly and wonderfully positioned property. Though a surfer, this is not for the 10.00 a night surfers dream hotel. Though it does attract a good number of Japanese group surfing groups as well as many European and Australian tourists that are all very friendly. If you are traveling by yourself you will never feel alone at this property. The staff is truly accommodating working with the limited tools they are given by the hotel owner and management. The onsite spa really needs to upgrade their services and tear down the existing small building it is housed in and start over...Services are quite reasonable but it's not really a spa per say..They offer spa services in a tight and cramped room. One can hear voices and conversations while receiving a massage, scrub, etc...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks in June 2013 with a number of family members. Fantastic location so close to everything. Rooms are rather clean and the grounds are beautiful. 2 large pools and a large grass area that the kids could play on. Staff not as friendly as other places we have stayed but still did a great job running the place. Paid $105 US a night for a bungalow with extra bed and baby cot. The outside toilet could do with a revamp. Breakfast was typical bali style every morning and could not be faulted. Great place to stay with kids! A few nights it was a little loud from nearby pubs (music).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We selected to stay in the deluxe rooms 116-117 new rooms fantastic beautiful well worth the money, very clean, spacious and love the king size bed HEAVEN... My hubby had massages everywhere but the ones in the resort were fantastic for him..... Food AAA+ Transport by Made-day fantastic and Ketut the Cleaner and Gardener Fantastic thank you xx

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgemz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

staying in the individual bungalows was special, lovely spacious grounds and gardens with pools and restaurant, walk out the gate into Poppies Lane, closest to the beach 30 metres and up to TJ's mexican restaurant and maragitas, what more could you want

Room Tip: choose an individual bungalow, well priced and comfortable in the traditional style
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have stayed at the Kuta Puri twice now and decided to try a different hotel this year...big mistake. You can't beat the beautiful, peaceful calm setting or the wonderful staff at Kuta Puri. The rooms are immaculately clean as are both pools, but what stands out for us as a family is the amazing help that we received when my father-in-law took ill, from helping us with doctors and arranging rooms for us for an extra week when he was taken into hospital, even a visit to the hospital by the manager of the hotel to deliver a bouquet of flowers to my father-in-law and to offer any extra help that we may need. We will be back as we feel as though the Kuta Puri is now our home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I have been coming to bali and the kuta Puri bungalows hotel now for the past 4 years equaling 4 visits. Now for two people who always said they would never return to the same place or hotel twice speaks volumes for this place. The hotel gardens are paradise and the pool area is superb and so relaxing. Considering you are so close to pretty much everything ie markets, restaurants, lovely beach, and the hussle and bussle of Kuta itself. Once you step inside this place you would think you were a million miles away. The staff are excellent and always remember you. Most speak very good English and they are always interested in spending time chatting with you. Food is excellent and the service is great.The room staff and garden staff are always smiling and very polite. I honestly cannot think of anything bad to say about Kuta Puri and we will be returning again next year (2014). We are missing this year as we have always wanted to go to Vietnam and feel if we don't go now we will just keep on coming back to the KP. Udi at the pool bar is a real good lad as are all the staff. I also recommend that if you are looking to book any trips and are looking to use MBA ask for Maxi. This lad cannot do enough for you and goes beyond what I would call a fantastic level of service. Enjoy your stay and have a Bintang for us. Davy and Paula.

Room Tip: Having stayed in all of the rooms our favourite was the newer style deluxe rooms on the ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blakey_mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#37 of 251 in Kuta
2,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#21 of 251 in Kuta
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.3 mi away
Poppies Bali
Poppies Bali
#1 of 251 in Kuta
582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuta Puri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuta Puri Bungalows

Address: Poppies Lane 1, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#11 Family Hotel in Kuta
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kuta Puri Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Trip advisor team, We would like to change our main photo but we are not able to edit , kindly your assistance to upload 1 of our new photo with pool view become a main photo instead of recently photo. Thank you. Best regards Artha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kuta Puri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuta Puri Bungalows Hotel Kuta
Kuta Puri Hotel
Kuta Puri Bungalows Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing