We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, can be better :)”
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
Ranked #113 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed 3 October 2013

J Boutique is conveniently located near eateries within 5 minutes walking distance where local Indonesian dishes can be found. Located opposite, there is a K Circle mart with foreign exchange service available.

The roof top pool is very beautiful and rooms are spacious - beautiful sunset from the roof top pool. Furniture is a bit worn out and need to do up a bit of refurbishment. Bed is old and the bed seet and pillow cases have turned yellowish (not pure white). Aircon did not work very well.

Breakfast variety is limited but tasty. The staffs are very attentive and they are friendly people. They greet you whenever they pass by you.Taxi Service via hotel limo is chargeable at IDR50,000 where normal taxi cost IDR35,000 to the airport located just 7 minutes from J Boutique.

Overall, very nice and beautiful.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room near lift lobby because it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear JanetSingapore,

Thank you so much to have shared your genuine feedback about us on our TripAdvisor landing page. We have take note some important things for our follow up these include the AC in the room where you consider was not working quite properly and the furniture refurbishment, it is indeed on our daily progress in maintaining the FF&E in our all our guest rooms.

We are happy to also learn from you that you consider our staff friendly and attentive to serve you during your stay. We always focus on this area as one of our key performance that set us different from others.

We hope that we still have the opportunity to welcome you back again to staying with us. Let us know if there's anything we could do better.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Imagine this...u step out for a family holiday with a infant...u want a peaceful place ...airy bright breezy for your break...if you want this basic, avoid this place...
We went here last year, full of expectations from the photographs we saw on the website. On the outside it was neat, nice hotel. Small, yet modern. We got a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor,so far so good. It even had a huge window. Guess what, pull the curtains and it was a wall. A room, sans a window? Ive never stayed in those in my 12 years of travelling. Why the window curtain if there was no window. I tried reasoning with the front desk. They said all rooms full, though there were vacant rooms. Couple that with a corridor full of smokers and my kid without ventilation had a tough time. Luckily my wife had plans to roam around a lot, and when i say a lot, i mean A LOT, so we spent bare minimum time at hotel. Breakfast was ok ok. Not much choice if u don't like seafood.My advice, avoid it...feel bad saying it as the staffs nice

Room Tip: ask for a room that has a REAL WINDOW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siddharthsahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Siddharthsahi,

If we could name our respond on this forum, perhaps we will choose "SORRY, SORRY, SORRY"... We deeply sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience staying with us during your family holiday. We have to admit, that we did have some rooms facing to the wall side instead of city view.

Only when the rooms are available, we will always prioritize city view rooms to all our guests. Unfortunately during peak seasons (October - APEC 2013 Conference in Bali) it's very difficult for us to please each and every single guests in our hotel due to the limited numbers of city view rooms.

If only we have another opportunity to gain your confidence back, we would be more then happy to give you an upgrade to our best room to compensate your bad experience.

Once again, thank you for letting us know your feedback genuinely. We also take note from your small portion of satisfaction about our staff services. Indeed it still bring some smile on our face.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was in transit to Labuan Bajo in Bali and also stayed one night in transit from Labuan Bajo to Yogyakarta. The hotel is close to Denpasar airport (although it looks walkable on a map I am not sure it is practical to do) and hotel pick up is cheap and was on time whenever I used it - 2 pick ups and 2 drop offs.
Other than proximity to the airport the location is not great. It's around 10 minutes walk to the beach (and a scruffy part of the beach at that) and a 15/20 minute walk to the main part of Kuta although there are plenty of taxis around and all the ones I tried used their meters or quoted a sensible price.
There is a large airy lobby and the desk staff were usually pretty helpful and spoke good English. I had a room on the 2nd floor (1st floor in UK) and it was a decent size with a large bathroom with a good quality shower. I had a window which looked onto the front of the hotel but had no problems with noise and thick curtains kept out the light. Everything was pretty clean. I used both the rooftop bar and the attached bar/restaurant out front. The rooftop bar was pretty nice but hardly used from what I saw. Beer was expensive by local standards but I had a decent meal at the restaurant which seemed competitively priced.
Other pluses - a convenience store across the road (included an exchange kiosk which had among the best rates I saw - unbelievably a better rate than showing on XE - and yes I did count it and was not ripped off). There was also a small place selling sim cards across the road with a very helpful owner who set up my phone credit for me. There was also a laundry place nearby which did a load of washing for me for a very good price and ready in 4 hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Footix,

We have read your feedback on our tripadvisor landing page, we appreciate your willingness to have shared with us and others of your details experience while enjoying our services during your transit with us.

Indeed our location was very close to the airport only about 5 - 10 minutes driver max. Also it's walking distance to the Segara beach right behind our hotel. This beach also connected with a long walk path directly to the famous Kuta Beach. We're glad that you found our hotel a good location for a quick transit prior to your next destination.

It's always a pleasure to learn different perspective from each of our guests, of how they "value" our hotel facilities and services. We're truly not a five star property, but we are very keen to deliver the best that we could to satisfy our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Perfect hotel for transit travellers. We stayed 1 night before our flight to Australia. The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport. Our room was clean and we liked the rooftop bar where we had some food and drinks.

The place is simple, maybe a bit old but overall - at that price (around 25-30 Euro per night) - it's a perfect spot for transit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear LadyinRome,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as stopover hotel prior to your departure time. We are happy to learn that you have positive recommendation on our hotel facilities and services. We hope that you had a beautiful holiday in Bali in last August.

We always have principles that there's nothing more important then a genuine feedback so we can learn from guest like you, how we can strive for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a nice, snall and cozy hotel in Kute very close to the airport. Staff is great. A perfect place for solo travelers or middle age people that do not go to Bali for the spring brake or party mood as many Australians. You can walk to many resutaurantes and spas and there are many convencience stores in the neiborhood. They have a wien bar and a beer garden and you can arrange day trips to many of the island of Bali places of interest. It is clean and comfortable for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPedroSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Dr. Pedro Sanchez,

We have read your feedback on our tripadvisor landing page, we appreciate to have let us know your satisfaction in our services. We have shared your comments to all our operations staff.

We are very happy to learn that you give us such positive feedback on our facilities and services. There's nothing more important then a genuine feedback so we can learn from guest like you, how we can strive for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I needed somewhere to rest for 8 hours close to the airport so booked a room at this Hotel on Agoda for about $35 AUD. I didn't have high expectations. Upon arrival I was impressed with a speedy check in process by a friendly older gentleman who tolds me everything I needed to know for my short stay. I thought the lobby and wine bar area was quite stylish. My room was small and the window looked out into a central building cavity which offerred no natural light in the morning however the room was clean, the bed not uncomfortable and everything worked including the a/c, hot water and big flatscreenTV. Nothing to complain about. Breakfast is modest. I would not plan a family long term stay here but it is a top value stopover property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatronDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Matron Darwin,

We have your feedback via our tripadvisor landing page, we appreciate to have let us know your satisfaction in our services. We understood from few certain points that we may not be 100% perfect to accommodate each of our guests' preferences. We appreciate your recommendation for our hotel as a Top Value for stopover hotel in Kuta, Bali. We sincerely hope that we would continue to deliver an exceptional services to all our future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed for just one night to be close to the airport, however, I was very positively surprised by the hotel.Interior decoration is trendy, the room was clean and nothing to complain about. Great location, close to everything. Best of all, the staff was superfriendly and helpful. When I said I needed a taxi to the airport at 7 am they offered to have breakfast at 6.30 am and when I refused they said it was no trouble at all! Wow!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gabriela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Gabriele G,

It was such nice comment you have given to our hotel's facilities and services. We truly value your feedback and definitely share it our staff. They deserve to hear that you have pleasant stay with us.

The core of our product, is indeed our services! to learn that you appreciate of what we have done, is definitely a spirit pumping to all our staff. Once again thank you so much for your positive comment.

We are certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Bedrock Hotel Bali
Bedrock Hotel Bali
#76 of 253 in Kuta
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tusita Hotel
The Tusita Hotel
#136 of 253 in Kuta
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solaris Hotel Kuta
Solaris Hotel Kuta
#74 of 253 in Kuta
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Radiant Hotel and Spa & Airy
0.2 mi away
Bali Segara Hotel
Bali Segara Hotel
#118 of 253 in Kuta
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edelweiss Boutique Hotel Kuta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#73 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: £17 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing