We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the lobby”
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
Ranked #115 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the lobby”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The lobby will make you think you are in a 5 star hotel but just take the elevator to the second floor. You'll feel like you are in some student dormitory. Very outdated with peeling paint and rusted shower doors. Smell of chlorine and little kids running all night long.

It is very close to the airport and walking distance to Kuta main street.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kilativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mr. Kilativ Stamford,

Thank you for your recent comment on our TripAdvisor page. We appreciate your feedback for improvement.

We will strive to make daily improvements on peeling paints as you specifically indicated. Humidity and weather play major parts on keeping us on timely managing the improvement. However this is already on our list of working progress. Sorry to hear that you may feel like staying in student dorm, this is simply of the design themed of the hotel, whereby the Black & White and grayish color is the main color choose by the owner of the hotel.

We hope that we can excel our improvement in time, so then you and our future guests may experience more positive review.

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    163
    108
    39
    14
See reviews for
71
159
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good location, and staff are nice and friendly, breakfast was also fine
room is clean but has some problem with the water heater, its still ok to me due to the hot weather

Could do some improvement to refurbish cos it looks a bit old and the stuffy smell in the room is overwhelming, and lighting too

Generally it was an ok stay for me

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mr. Dot O,

Thank you for your valuable feedback in our TripAdvisor page. We take note on your positive comments here and some points for improvement.

We have in progress setting 55% of our rooms inventory as non-smoking rooms while keeping the room with window open as smoking rooms. We also regularly check on the hot water quality daily which we hope to enable boosting the improvement of room quality as you mentioned here.

We certainly look forward to have you here again as our special guest and enjoy our improvement of quality.

Your sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I found this place very pleasant to stay. The rooms are quite small, but comfortable. They have used the available space as well as they can. You don't come to Bali to spend all day in your room. The roof top pool is excellent. Their are quite a few construction sites, just like any other major city. the breakfasts available are limited, but what they have, is done very well. I ordered food on the roof, along with Icy cold beers, and im glad I did, it was very nice. Some of the employees English can be slightly broken, they try and understand and speak English as much as they can, which I really appreciate,as I came to Bali speaking no indonisian.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay, and hopefully I do return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas-Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Lucas Custis,

We're extremely happy to learn that you have a very pleasant stay with us. On behalf of all our staffs and the management we appreciate your positive review on our TripAdvisor's feedback page. It is indeed brings great smiles to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is located in Kuta so in middle of all the action going around. The room was just ok. The breakfast was good. The staffs were nice and friendly. the bathrooms could be maintained better. the hotel has a beer garden and live music in the evening. Initially we weren't keen to join but was surprised that the music was good and we had a lovely time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Barsha P,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Appreciate to know that you have a pleasant stay with us. Indeed our location is strategically set in Kuta, which only 500 meters away to Segara Beach and conveniently further down to Kuta Beach. Many shoppings, eating and spa outlets surrounding the hotel.

We're glad to know that you enjoy our hospitality, and our friendliness. We really enjoy having you here with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to J Boutique Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was delighted with the arrangement they had for me after knowing it's my honeymoon. They upgraded and added extra roses and fruits in the room. Room was spacious and clean, aircon cold enough, bed and pillow were so soft and comfortable, feeling refresh every morning! People are friendly and helpful! They even help me get my overnight snacks I bought from outside stall heated up and sent it back to room! Wonderful service! This is my second trip to J boutique and I will sure be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Kelly G,

It's our pleasure to know that you had experienced nice surprise to our Honeymoon arrangement. You are our special guest indeed and it's our duty to ensure your honeymoon trip was a memorable one. We're extremely happy to know that our staff has done an extra ordinary service that exceed your expectations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullsbrook, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This property is small and cute when you first arrive. We had booked an Executive Room to find it was smaller than your average bedroom and I am not convinced I was given an Executive Room which needed painting. Bathroom very tired with cracked tiles, the air con was not cold, the water was always just luke warm, no hairdryer. There was no dvd player just a tv and I requested a dvd player, if I could hire one and was told 'no', just 'no' with no explanation. The pool area has no service and you can not request a drink so you couldn't spend more money with them even if you wanted, no shade so expect to get burnt and not alot of greenery to make this roof top area inviting. The music is on a loop so if you spend more than a few songs, then you find yourself listening to the same music. The fact that it is roof top, expect to look at the construction and other roof tops which are not appealing. It was a shame that I found myself wanting to go out from the hotel to relax as my room did not invite me to stay and I felt the urge to visit the pools of other hotels to relax. The breakfast buffet range is average but the food in the restaurant is really nice. The service and people were nice and accommodating. The spa and beauty salon inside the hotel is delightful with great service.

Room Tip: I would question the type of room as an Executive in Australia is not an Executive in Bali.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sandra F,

We have received details of your comments. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We have checked the room that you used to stay, and through this forum we are to confirm that we did not find any crack tiles in our bathroom. The Air Conditioner in your room was also work just fine, it indeed may take around 8-10 minutes to run fully as normal hotel's operations we're using key tag to power it on. We will definitely be thankful for your reminder, we will check again the quality of our hot water, as standard expected it should be 40C-45C hot water flows in your room.

We have noted on your special request of Hair Dryer as this item is on loan basis, we did not provide it in the room though. We can provide it if you request through our staff free of charge. In regards to the DVD player, it is basically pre-setup amenity for Deluxe Room and Suite. We do not provide DVD player for Superior and Executive Room. We're very sorry if our staff was not fully accommodating your request. We should be able to have this facility on rent basis indeed.

Our pool is an open roof concept, though we have some shades (although it is not a lot) as probably this did not meet of what you expected. However we take note on your comment for our next renovation improvement on our roof top area. We have put some greenery spots in the Roof Top area but due to land limit, we can not put plenty of greenery areas. We have taken some improvement on music selections and making sure the staff rotation is in place. We have service open from 11am to 7pm at SKYPool area if you come by at that time, there must be staff around to assist you with some food and drinks.

Once again many thanks for your comments and feedback, we learnt a lot from this review for our close monitor review in our operations for continuously improving to excel.

We are looking forward to have you hear with here with us again in the future and to have the opportunity of showing you our improved services.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lobby is deceiving, it looks imposing but that's where it ends. Room very out dated and in need of up dating. Furniture chipped and not comfortable. We were on 3rd floor but traffic and bar noise kept us awake. Were charged $80 AUD per night but you can get it for $40 to $45 if you book on line. Brochure quoted free airport transfers (it's just around the corner) but were told the brochure was out of date (it certainly was!!!) and asked for payment. Jacuzzi not functioning. Only redeeming feature was breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eko P, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Patrice H,

We are very sorry to learn that you had not had pleasant experience during your stay with us. Our room rates are fluctuating depending on seasons and promotions so it may vary from day to day. We learn that when you purchase the package for room was actually during the high season period, hence the rate was a bit on high side.

We offers free Airport transfer for any guests booking direct with us either via our online website or direct contact to our reservation. Yes, we quoted free of charge in our brochure as this service is free of charge if you book direct with us.

Unfortunately our Jacuzzi has leak issue and we're currently doing a preventive maintenance to this facility. We apologize for this inconveniences.

We understood that our hotel may not be perfect to every travelers staying with us, however we are doing our utmost to ensure we give our best quality of product and services to all our guests. Your feedback is very valuable to our improvement and we strive to continuously excel.

We hope someday we would be able to welcoming you back again with improved services and facilities.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Bedrock Hotel Bali
Bedrock Hotel Bali
#83 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solaris Hotel Kuta
Solaris Hotel Kuta
#68 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tusita Hotel
The Tusita Hotel
#144 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Berry Glee Hotel
Berry Glee Hotel
#10 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#69 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Radiant Hotel and Spa & Airy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Property: J Boutique Hotel
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#73 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing