We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali
Ranked #155 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
“Centrally located budget hotel”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The Flora Kuta Bali is a budget hotel slightly south of the beach and Jl. Legian in Kuta. It's about a five to ten minute walk to either. The hotel address is a little deceptive. There is a hotel sign on Jl. Bakungsari but this simply draws your attention to a narrow lane heading south; the hotel is on this lane. I'll attach a map. (I was told that the jalan's name has been changed; if so, no one has gotten around to changing the street signs, which still say Bakungsari.). The art market is one block away, at the western terminus of Balungsari.

The hotel has pluses and minuses; my overall rating of very good means very good for a small budget hotel. There's a Grand Hyatt and a Club Med down the road in Dusa Nua. No one would mistake the humble Flora for that calibre of luxury resort.

The pluses: great management and staff; they really go out of their way to take care of the guests. The staff arranged a car and driver for me for two days upcountry, and had me driven to the airport for 50,000 rupiah (the honest taxi fare there is 65,000, and some shady cabbies will charge tourists as much as 200,000.

Pleasant pool in a Balinese-theme garden. Very pleasant open air lobby. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. All upstairs rooms have balconies, either solely for that room or shared with an adjacent room. Lower story room have small sitting areas around the pool and garden. I would recommend the lower floor rooms.

Modern plumbing and large walk-in showers; most rooms get hot water; oddly enough, 209's water never got past lukewarm. Bottled water is supplied daily gratis.

Location is OK. It's an easy walk to either the beach or the disco area of Jl. Legian, without the continual traffic noise of the beachfront or skull-rattling rock music of Legian. The nearest Nura Nura bus stop is less than five minutes away.

Restaurant is on the second floor and is open air. Breakfast is relatively modest, but you can order an omelet, get fresh fruit and strong coffee. There's a small bar at street level, and two others just across the lane.

The minuses: no room safes. So passports et cetera can only be secured at the lobby in a common drawer. Not even separate lock boxes there.

No mini fridges, so no way to keep anything cold.

The bars on the lane all close about midnight, so do all businesses on Bakungsari except a few mini marts. I wouldn't recommend walking back to the Flora in the wee hours, particularly for single women. I was attacked by a thief on a dark stretch of Poppies II, (no harm done; the thief turned tail and scooted off as soon as I showed fight, but it did demonstrate that a few locals do prey on visitors at night.)

All in all the Flora is good value for money, and a good hotel for singles, couples, and families with children.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    95
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
45
60
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Was central to everything. Friendly staff. Room air con not great. The pool is very nice. Across the road is a laundry. Which is very handy and the lady there is very friendly. But overall was ok. We only stayed there for 2 nights. We were going to Sanur to stay at a Villa. So we stayed there to get supplies and familiarise ourselves with the area. Around the corner is a great place to eat. Nikmat. Doesn't look good but the food is fantastic.

Room Tip: Good for the budget traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albyshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We had 5 nights in this hotel. Room is quite good. Large enough but a bit dark. They only have yellow light and was very tinny. Staff is very friendly, mr Sumardana was very helpful with useful information.
Beautiful swimming pool is an advantage for this hotel, blue and clean water for swim everyday. Breakfast is so so. They have same and quite boring food everyday with buffet
But the location is good. Just 5-10 min to the Legian street, same to the beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The place is quite affordable, the staff is friendly and the location is in Kuta, which is bustling however this hotel is located a little on the inner street which insulates it from all the crowd and traffic yet not too far from the main roads.
I like the location and the staff and the price for which i got the room was good too..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptap90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Perfect for my needs, nice quiet friendly hotel.
Walking distance to all the major shopping and beach areas.
Opposite my favourite massage salon.
Plenty of good restaurants including the hotel.
Either direction will be your hardest decision, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Downstairs by the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a great stay here . The staff are very friendly and are ever ready to accommodate you at any time .The receptionists ,Kadek Santini and Floral are very friendly .We feel like talking to our sisters .The room is clean . We are quite surprise the hotel has a nice swimming pool and really enjoyed our time swimming at our own privacy since there were not many guests at that time . The cafe also operates 24 hours . The only little upset was the quality of breakfast needs to be taken seriously since the bread was expired by looking the condition but it was only a small matter . Overall , it is really good value for money with extremely friendly staff .. Will come back again .

Room Tip: Choose the room on the ground floor if u like the swimming pool but it was a bit dark or else choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Overall a great stay!! The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and attentive. The pool is very clean and good for a nice swim. The hotel is just 10 minutes away from Kuta beach and many souvenir shops and restaurants. The hotel can arrange tours for you with their driver and they also have an airport pick up service which is a little overprices but can be convenient if you're not familiar with the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reeree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Jesen's Inn II
Jesen's Inn II
#165 of 340 in Kuta
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ozz Hotel Kuta
Ozz Hotel Kuta
#152 of 340 in Kuta
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Singosari Kuta
Royal Singosari Kuta
#132 of 340 in Kuta
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis Kuta
The Oasis Kuta
#267 of 340 in Kuta
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta
Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta
#116 of 340 in Kuta
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali

Property: Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali
Address: Jln Bakungsari 13 A, Kuta 80114, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#101 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Flora Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing