We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed; compared to 2011”
Review of Hotel Flamboyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Flamboyan
Ranked #187 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Qingdao
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“disappointed; compared to 2011”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Flamboyan Hotel is a budget unpretentious hotel. However, repeat business & good word of mouth is always related to cleanliness. either the room had not been in use for some time or they've cut corners with regards to house-keeping.

when I checked into the room end August 2012 with my wife & baby daughter, I had to request that housekeeping scrub the toilet bowl.

bathroom floor also needed a good scrub. it would also have been nice if I could smell the Dettol scent of disinfectant.

should have also requested that the pillow covers be replaced

It's the little touches that goes a long way.

The swimming pool is small & deep.

water quality is good.

parents must certainly supervise children 3-15 years old.

any baby younger than 3 shoudn't be in the pool at all.

I was attending annual exporters' association conference with meetings running from 9-5; couldn't justify spending US$300 per nite at the designated convention centre.

brought my wife & baby daughter..

would look to look for a more upmarket hotel at next year's association meeting in 2013; with at least CNBC & Bloomberg .. a bit disappointed with hotel room this year 2012.

comes with breakfast A = boiled eggs & toast

breakfast B = continental breakfast

breakfast C = Indonesian breakfast of fried rice with fried eggs. tell them not to add salt to the egg. strong brew of coffee with sweetened milk upon request,
most Balinese just add sugar to black coffee

staff are friendly & responsive to our every requests; but some of our requests should have come automatically & intrinsically from hotel staff

especially bathroom quality

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

On arrival the accommodation was clean and tidy. The rooms were very spacious and with very comfy beds. There was a lovely decking area outside the room with some nice chairs and a table. Bathroom was clean and a good size although shower temperature could be temperamental. A good pool to relax by although did not get that much sun. The staff were very friendly and served a good breakfast on our decking every morning, even if we just missed the time frame. In a good location just off the main strip and near the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Please don;t waste your money at this place. very small, too old and dirty .Air cond didn't function whole night. the room was assigned for us, but he didn't give key until 2am.
Hundreds of hotels at Kuta and main road.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neshnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed here for a few days on my own after my cousins wedding at New Year. Being January I thought it was really good value. There were a lot of mozzies but they have a motion activated bug spray above the door which was a great idea. You get breakfast brought to your room and eat it on your balcony. Its central and you can cut through the Discovery Mall to get to the beach. Even though its down a lane, I felt quite safe walking down there on my own. The staff at reception were helpful, making phone calls etc for me.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This hotel looks like a plantation style hotel and seemed charming however when we arrived the manager had no record of our reservation. Since we had been travelling for several weeks we had no access to a printer to provide a voucher but provided the booking number. The manager insisted we go to town to have a voucher printed as his computer was not working and he had no printer (?). They provided us with a room with two singe beds. When I went back to the front desk to ask where the third bed was that we paid for we had a mattress slapped on the floor with bedding piled on top. I complained that not only did the room smell of stale smoke, we had paid for a "bed" not a mattress on the dirty floor. I was then allowed to choose any of the many vacant rooms that had their doors wide open and full of insects. When I chose one on the second floor a third bed was put together and brought to the room and the bed was made up. There were several insects in the room and we were not able to close the bathroom window as it was rusted open. We had to leave early for an early flight and was assured by the manager the night security would call for a taxi for us. When we met with the security guard early in the morning he advised us that no taxis ran that late at night and that we would have no choice but to pay him 4 X the cost of a taxi to drive us the 5 min drive to the airport. We had little choice. He asked first if we had provided the manager with a voucher. I told him we had provided a booking number and then he drove us to the airport. (I later emailed the voucher to the hotel) This hotel is located down a dark lane about 3 blocks in from the Discovery Centre that is not lit up enough at night for women to walk safely. Kuta beach is extremely dirty now so I don't know why anyone would stay in this area other than to be close to the airport for an early flight as we did.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalka1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the flamboyan between 18-21st march 2011. A bit weary with all the bad reviews here, we were totally surprised by this good hotel. If you want a quiet place to hideout amidst the hustling and bustling activity of KUTA, this is the place to be. Just a mere 200m from the discover mall, the hotel is surrounded by other small hotels and local residence= a great way to mix with the local bali population.
The rooms are very standard/ nothing fancy, very quiet and calm enviroment. Nice garden with a great pool. The owners are friendly and approachable, and helpful in many ways.
Be aware though:
1. No restaurant ( breakfast is served to the room)
2. No fridge
3. Lots of ants and loads of fresh air.
Really good for a quiet / cheap retreat in the heart of Kuta.
p.s. it has free wifi= i thought that was great for a 2 star hotel, I didnt even get free wifi from ayana.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahia Blanca, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The room and bathroom were dirty, even the sheets.
Also we booked a room for 3 people with 3 beds and we found 3 beds and a mattress. After a long discussion, they promised a bed for the next day.
Swimming pool was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico-Roth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karthi
Hotel Karthi
#146 of 251 in Kuta
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#110 of 251 in Kuta
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Asoka City Home
Hotel Asoka City Home
#150 of 251 in Kuta
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taman Sari Cottage II
Taman Sari Cottage II
#12 of 20 in Tuban
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home@36
Home@36
#72 of 251 in Kuta
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Restu Bali Hotel
Restu Bali Hotel
#148 of 251 in Kuta
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamboyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamboyan

Property: Hotel Flamboyan
Address: Kartika Plaza Street | Gang Puspa Ayu no. 12, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flamboyan 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-minute walk from Waterbom Bali water park, this laid-back, family-run hotel with a Hindu-Buddhist gateway lies in Kuta's Central Business District, 11 minutes on foot from the nearest beach and 2.2 km from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The bright, simply furnished rooms offer free Wi-Fi, TVs, and balconies or terraces with garden views. Breakfast and parking are complimentary. A courtyard garden features an outdoor pool surrounded by tropical flora, fountains and stone-carved statues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Flamboyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Flamboyan Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing