We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Bali's beaches are okay, some are very poor but the beach at Nusa Dua is a beautiful and clean white sandy beach. This is the highlight of this hotel.

The grounds are beautiful with many pools, a waterfall and lovely gazebos which are great to lounge in during the day or evenings; but before you even reach them you are greeted by a beautiful reception area and incredibly efficient staff. The rooms however are very dated and do show signs of wear and tear, I was genuinely disappointed upon arrival at our room.

Food selection is limited to the in-house restaurants as the hotel is within a gated area and there is nothing else nearby. None of the restaurants serve any halal food which is surprising, I appreciate Bali is very different but Indonesia is a Muslim country and for a hotel of that 'standard' I do find this unacceptable.

The restaurants were okay until my husband got severe food poisoning... The hotel did have an in-house doctor to see to my husband who arrived straight away and confirmed acute food poisoning through consumption of a parasite most likely from the seafood we ate however the cost of the doctor and medication was added to our bill. We had eaten only at the hotel for the previous 2 days however the restaurant did not accept responsibility; out of 'goodwill' they allowed us a late check out and the cost of the meal removed from our bill...

Hotel staff in general were very helpful and efficient and were very quick to respond when we did have issues.

The spa is lovely although expensive, I had a few treatments there. The one treatment to avoid is the one where they pour oil on the head - I was not warned in advance that the oil will take 10+ washes to wash out fully - I spent a good few days with greasy looking hair that I just couldn't wash out!

Despite the beautiful setting I would personally prefer to stay elsewhere and stay healthy for the duration of my holiday ( i appreciate it could have been a one off - but why take the risk?) - there are many nicer and newer resorts in the area with access to the same beautiful beach, why compromise on the room and your health?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer_bil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Summer_bil,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your taking your precious time to write a review on TripAdvisor and we sincerely regret that your husband fell ill while holidaying with us.

We have addressed your food poisoning allegation while you were staying with us and have done the full investigation according to our company guidelines. Starwood Hotels & Resorts are following very strict international food safety (HACCP) policies and procedures and part of these policies include regularly audits, both by external and internal food safety auditors. These food safety standards, policies and procedures include but are not limited to supplier records and visits, receiving policies, food storage and temperature controls, food handling, preparation and cooking, display temperature checks, staff training, food disposal, etc.

In regards with your spa treatment, we have crosschecked with our spa team and found that your treatment has been done according to the correct procedure and we apologize if it did not meet your satisfaction. Further, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding our beach, pools, and the service of our staff.

We do hope that your husband has fully recovered and you are most welcomed to contact us directly to discuss your feedback further and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Bali.

Exceptionally yours,

Sven Fitjer


SVEN
FITJER
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,232)
There are newer reviews for The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 3,232 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

This resort is gorgeous!! The grounds are simply amazing. We stayed for 5 days with 2 children, ages 5 and 6 and had a wonderful time. There are many pools that cater to small kids and the beach is simply beautiful. The rooms are nice, not new but perfectly fine. The beds are not very big so if you are sharing with kids, I would recommend getting a roll away. The staff was AMAZING, so nice and helpful. The onsite restaurant is one of the best in Bali. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with Lagoon Access have little stairs straight from your balcony into the lagoon (pool).You ca...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC44th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear DC44th,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sharing your kind review regarding your recent stay with us and we are happy to learn that you and your family had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. Thank you for recommending our Resort to other reviewers and we do hope your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

one of the best hotels in bali to enjoy the back water swimming at the private beach area of the property and relax and have a drink. the seven swimming pools of the property are mind blowing and gives a great viewing pleasure from the hotel suite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milindpalany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear mpalany,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our service and facilities and we really appreciate your highlight regarding our beach and lagoon pools. Further, It is pleasing to learn that your stay with us was a relaxing and memorable one.

Thank you for residing with us and we do hope your nice experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was the first time I stayed here and it was lovely.

Check in
We were greeted by a lovely balinese smile reception and she was very welcome to us. We were asked to have a sit while the reception is preparing the documents. Check in process was flawless and met our expectation. Welcome drinks and cold towels were very good at that time since the weather was quite hot.
After registration, we were allocated on the ground floor which was very nice and close to the pool. The bellboy was very helpful on giving hotel informations during on our way to the room.

Room
We know that the hotel's building is more than 20 years, but they manage it well, The bed and pillows were very comfortable. One thing should be concerned, the rain shower and bathtub should be in different area, since it's slippery.

Foods
There are not many options in Room Service menu, better to go to the restaurants directly.The buffet dinner was really good. There are many options from Asian, Western, etc.

Overall, the stay was very lovely and we enjoyed our time during Silence Day. All staffs were very helpful, always smile and very polite. We will return for the next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balianz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear balianz88,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding all aspects of our resort and we are glad to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has met your requirement. Your feedback regarding our bathroom has been very well noted for our review and improvement.

We do hope your nice experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We've just come from a 4 night stay at this property.
It is very beautiful but definitely showing is age and raises questions if it's really worth the money you pay to stay here.
One of the swimming pools was empty and being relined during our stay. Although I'm sure it's necessary it was also disappointing. The workman were often working up until midnight every night while we were there (our room overlooked this pool), but noise was kept to a minimum after 10pm.
We had to move rooms at 1am on the second night due to a loud banging noise in the ceiling which was apparently due to an aircon problem.
This was done quickly and although the duty manager was very nice etc it was still a nuisance especially at that time of the night.
Breakfast was very good with a good selection.
Location is excellent and the beach lovely.
Really enjoyed the squirrels that entertained us each day.
I must also mention that the staff here are delightful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pooldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear pooldiver,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for staying with us and we apologize if some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation.

In regards with our lagoon pools, an emergency action to repair the leakage on some part of our pools needs to be done as part of our safety and security program and we apologize for the inconvenience it has caused. Somehow, we are glad to learn that other aspects of your stay has lived up to your expectation.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My teen boys and sister and I stayed here to relax after 8 days in Kuta... What can I say " Loved this place:",,, Paradise... Clean spacious rooms.. great view of pool, coffee's delivered to your room... The swimming pools were having some work done at the time we were there, which didn't matter as there are so many pools to choice from... 100% I will be coming back to this resort.. the breakfast has so many choices, it was just yummy...Thank you so much for making my sister a birthday cake..at such short notice...

Room Tip: we had a lagoon view..
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Sparkie K,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad to read your favorable review following your recent stay with us and it is pleasing to hear that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that our efforts to make your stay a memorable are well recognized.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay in this paradise.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our family stayed here for four nights. We booked one villa (510) and 3 Lagoon rooms and 1 park view room. First of all the staff are simply the best. I have stayed in almost all hotels in the area, and it is must be said that staff from Laguna exceded all of them. The breakfast also amazing. They kept changing the menu on daily basis, unlike other properties in the area. Guests staying more than 2-3 days will not be bored with the same food over and over. The value also excellent. For the price that we paid against the goods and services that we received, we can say that this is a "good deal" We got free latte and bottled water 24 hours/day.
The only problem that we have, there are some wood planks near the pool that are not nailed properly. Several member of our groups (including me) tripped over them planks. If not taken care of, there will be risk of serious ankle injury for guests.
Overall, we are extremely pleased with what this property is all about. Excellent services with reasonable pricing. We will certainly come back.

Room Tip: All pool lagoon rooms are excellent/
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suami_intan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Suami_intan,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you and your friends had experienced due to the wood plank near our pool. Please rest assured that our Engineering team has visited the site for immediate refurbishment and the wood deck has been completely replaced since. Further, we thank you for your favorable review regarding our Resort, cuisine, and the team and we are glad to learn that your concern did not make your stay with us less than perfect.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback since it allows us to improve our Resort and service and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sven Fitjer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,708 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,018 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: £119 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing