We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been here already 3 times and look forward to stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Bali Indonesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Bali Indonesia
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Been here already 3 times and look forward to stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I have stayed in Melia Bali 3 times and always loved it. Very nice rooms, with all modern commodities, terrace with view on the garden where you can see small squirrels and beautiful birds (I once saw one with dark blue colors), The swimming pool is very spacious, lots of lounge chairs, with staff to order drinks or food or even the spa therapists coming to book a spa treatments if needed. The spa is lovely, I have been there twice with 2 different therapists and really liked it and I know what I am talking about as I have done hundreds of them in the Maldives, Thailand, Sechelles, Europe.
It is not situated in the typical Bali but if you spend a few hours out, you will be happy to come back to a quiet place like this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rai-Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,528
    1,474
    500
    188
    112
See reviews for
1,470
2,233
107
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed there on April 8-10. When we checked in, seems there’s a problem but they managed to find a room for us. We stayed in building 4, 4th floor. This’s a 2 level room, the room was spacious, but dark, everything is old, dull and the chair was rotten. The AC control was not working well; the hangers fall down and hit my nails. Something that we don’t expect in the 4 or 5-star hotel, even in our house!

The AC in the breakfast area is hot, the food was standard. The elevator was small & old, we found it wet and dirty many times.

The beach is quite nice, but the public swimming pool is small and standard. There’s a laguna surrounding our building area, but they didn’t give us an access (we asked several staffs, and they said this’s only for guest on 1st floor, one of them said there’s an access but didn’t give us clearer information).

This building need totally refurbishment, otherwise, the cost is too high. We paid about IDR 1.2mio/night and I believe this’s too expensive for this old hotel, the worst hotel we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: avoid building 4....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windayun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliabali, Manager at Melia Bali Indonesia, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Ms. windayun,

Thank you for choosing Melia Bali for your holiday and taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apology for the incident happened.

We have many different room categories (from a superior to villa) to cater all different needs and occasions for all of our guests. Knowing that you really keen on swimming, we would suggest you to reserve our new Lagoon Access Suites for your next visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by e-mail executive.office@meliabali.com.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Melia Bali is almost like a paradise. It is located in beautiful and amazing big garden. We had a delux double garden room in block 4 which was located close to the beach and pool. Our room was very nice, big enough, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on. We were a little bit afraid of smell and dump in the room but it wasn't so bad and the room was being refreshed from time to time.
The beach was wonderful. So was the pool in which we could swim and play a ball even at night.
The staff was amazing, so friendly and helpful and always smiling. It's also beacuse of them you feel like in incredible paradise.
The buffet breakfast was very good, wide range of food : continental, asian etc.

At the beach there are a lot of very nice and friendly local people selling goods, very cheap ( beautiful sarongs!) but you have to bargain of course.

Food an drinks at the hotel are quite expensive and the nearest Bali Collection has no spirit of Bali. But if you take a taxi (very cheap, we recomend metered Blue Bird taxi - you can ask for at the entrance of the hotel) there are a lot of very good restaurants within 10-20 min. drive. We recomend Tao Bali - Tanjung Benoa, http://www.taobali.com/; Bumbu Bali - Tanjung Benoa http://www.balifoods.com/ and absulutely worth visiting at Jimbaran Beach Ramyana Warung - very cheap and delicious sea food and amazing sunset.

Our stay at Melia was magic. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monox75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We travel to Bali every year and stay at numerous hotels every trip.
Melia Bali is so beautiful, the entrance is lovely and the service was professional, although the staff weren't ever overly friendly, but I think it's because the majority of people that stay here aren't after that (although I love when they're happy and nice, but I guess they're not trained like that at Melia)
Upon arrival, at midnight, we were immediately upgraded to a loft room. It was so spacious and we were simply amazed!
The breakfasts were by far the best I've had in Bali! They were so delicious, with a great amount of variety, to suit everyone, as many nationalities stay here, in particular Europeans.
The pool area is really nice and the hotel is on the beach, they also provide activities for every age group, which allow you to mix with different people. We played the pool volleyball, which was really fun.
If staying here, you must walk from the back of the hotel, to the right along the beach, to the sacred area, there's a temple and signs point to like a blowhole in the rocks. It was really great to watch the massive waves come up so high when the tide was in.
You should also walk to the Bali collection from the front of the hotel, it's to the left. It's a really pretty outdoor shopping mall. There's Starbucks and other nice restaurants to try!
There's very affordable massages and spa's around the area, I think the hotel was very expensive for this. And you should travel 5 min to Tanjung Benoa also for some cheaper eateries, massages and the water sports on the beach!
I loved Melia and will definitely stay here in the future!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel itself is spacious and friendly.
Hotel was very busy and I was allegedly up graded, but upon reflection am not so sure. I had booked a delux double garden room (single occupancy) and was given another room able to sleep 4 x people, but this was on a split level in "block 4" - I slept on the lower level in one of two large single beds rather than the "prime" level - totally impractical as far as luggage was concerned - bathroom was adjacent to the upper level. This was my only general downside.
People and service very good.
Bar area was comfortable.
Breakfast in "El Patio" was busy "american buffet style", good selection, fresh and plentyful.
We ate one evening in the attached Chinese restaurant - very disappointing and tasteless, but was not charged for the main course - they maitre di agreed with me.
Pool area and access to beach etc was good.
Outside "buffet style beach restaurant" pretty good selection - traditional live music and dancing entertainment.
Overall this hotel was good value, not quite as stylish as the Westin 200m away - but 50% the cost - I would consider it for a holiday

Room Tip: Beware of the upgrade - check it out first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pick_E_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We moved from our regular room into a villa and it really was a good move. Of course villas do not fit for a budget trip but once in a life time its something worth to try (and so we did). Anyway the best thing of our stay at the Melia Bali was the added value of the so called LEVEL service, which is included when you book a villa but can be added to any other room (at least thats what we understood when we changed rooms). The LEVEL service included the use of a private swimming pool (quiet and never crowded) that we really enjoyed, the access to a private nice area at the beach and free drinks and tapas every afternoon at the LEVEL lounge (this lounge is always available, including the use of the business center, but drinks are only free during the afternoon). Hotel staff is incredible friendly and always willing to help, includind the medical staff at the hotel first aid center which we sadly needed to use eventually. The only regret of our trip was the late afternoon noise coming from a nearby road which at some point became annoying. We complaint about that and the management promise us to solve that particular.

Room Tip: Best rooms: villas and lagoon rooms. Ask for LEVEL
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinastuff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Our first choice was changed due to renovations and we are so glad it was. The Melia Bali was absolutely fantastic. We had such a relaxing, peaceful holiday. The hotel was calm and the service was unreal. We are seasoned travellers but have never been to Bali before. The rooms were excellent and we slept on the most comfortable beds ever. . The buffet breakfast was awesome and the staff were so happy and pleasant.......nothing was too much trouble! We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: All rooms looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenandIan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.2 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Bali Nusa Dua Resort
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali Indonesia

Property: Melia Bali Indonesia
Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali Indonesia 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Melia, Agoda and Holiday Gems so you can book your Melia Bali Indonesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Indonesia Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing