We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable holiday!”
Review of Melia Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Bali
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

One of the most beautiful and luxurious hotels. Lovely food, great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. We even extended our staying. I would definetely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salvador74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Salvador74,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had enjoyed your holiday as an unforgettable holiday. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,775 - 2,781 of 5,543 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

My Hubby and I loved this place from the moment we walked in - Old school bali resort accomodation with plenty to keep you entertained. I would be careful next time with my room as we had a room which did have some maintenance issues but other family members rooms who stayed with also had no problems in other rooms. THis place is nicely priced so if you do want to stay close in the evenings you can - happy hour and plenty of cuisine to select from... Right next door to Bali Collection you have the shops and bars right next door and if you want to go for a drive to Benoa for some fun water sporting - not far away at all. Will definately return

Room Tip: Check for dampness and your wet area conditions - our room was very musty and damp which created a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Warmest greetings from the Island of gods!

Dear mackdunn,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliá Bali to accommodate your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had enjoyed your holiday as an unforgettable holiday. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. As for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us at executive.office@meliabali.com

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here after trying Ayodya the year before because of the good location close to Bali Central. The Pool area was nice and close to the beach and beach bar was nice. However even though it was well located - a 5 min walk from BC. The beach was rather average and seemed overcrowded always. The food was ok and well overpriced. They really slug you on the tax as well, so you think you are getting a bargain then at the end of the trip paying the bill everything is ++21%. At least Ayodya prices was inclusive of tax and better priced for value compared to Melia. All in all you wont be that dissapointed, but there are better options indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ng18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear ng18,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you are not satisfied staying with us on your holiday. In regards to food prices also the tax and service charge, most hotels in Bali are implementing the same government policy. Upon check in, we distributed a short brief information about the hotel, as well as some tips on managing our guests' food and beverage expenses during their stay with us. However we have noted all the points you mentioned on your review for our feedback and improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My partner and I stayed here in Feb 2012 and Mar 2012 and were never disappointed. The beautiful Melia Bali is one of the first resorts in Nusa Dua and looks like she has withstood the test of time and keeps improving. The large grounds of beautiful greenery with the walkways that criss cross the resort give a feeling of great expanse and luxury. There is time to enjoy the gardens as you walk from one part of the resort to the other. Both stays we took a Level Lagoon Access Suite and the second time we had two. Check in was at the Level Lounge with the beautiful and more than accommodating, Sunarini, and her lovely staff, managed by the ever efficient Carmen. The Level Lounge is located at the entrance and is easily accessed. From the time you enter you are looked after. Check in was lovely with the free drinks and cool towels. We were explained the Level Lounge benefits that come with the room including: Free mini-bar upon arrivel, 2 pcs of laundry per day, breakfast in the Sorrento restaurant, private pool for Level Lounge members, afternoon tea by the pool, 3 hrs of evening cocktails and canapes, fresh fruit and snacks and free non-alcoholic beverages throughout the day. Fresh fruit delivered to the room daily with your choice of newspaper and a one hour free massage. Discount for restaurants and eateries at the resort and discount on spa. The lagoon access suite was large and accommodating. The big bathroom is well supplied with amenities and re-stocked often. The toilet is in the same room and would prefer to have a separate toilet room, especially for a lagoon access suite. Would also like double sinks. The shower is very large, enough for two or more. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. Plenty of closet and cupboard space for clothes. Bedroom is king size with flat screen and mini bar with dvd player and drawers. As you walk through the bedroom you go into a space with a desk and bench and sofa, which makes into a bed. A lounging/work area. At the end of this area are glass doors which open onto a deck which steps into the narrow lagoon snaking around the pool access suites. The deck has two very comfortable lounges and a large umbrella with clothes airer.

The service at this resort was top-notch. Every request was taken care of from special meals to unique cocktail requests. Our trip in March was for my partner's mother's birthday and she had never been to Bali. She was turning 73. The Melia Bali treated her like a queen with the magnificent assistance of Carmen Hernandez in the Level Lounge. The Melia helped make it a birthday that she will never forget. Both times we had dinner at the Sorrento and both times had beautiful meals with desserts and wine. They make a gorgeous birthday cake! We went to the beach buffet dinner one night and were not disappointed. The food was varied, fresh and delicious. I would suggest a light breakfast and no lunch as there are so many food choices. We had a buffet breakfast in the Sorrento restaurant which came with our Level Lounge benefits. It was eggs ordered off the menu with a large selection of buffet items including champagne cocktails. If it was not on the menu they attempted to get it for you. We were also entitled to the regular breakfast buffet which we tried and enjoyed with plenty of choices.

The beach area was beautiful and well-equipped. The pool water was warm for my taste but the lagoon water at the suite was more refreshing. The main pool is large and free form and used for water sports and exercise at times. Plenty of loungers but was not there during high season. The one hour massage was relaxing with a beautiful spa.

I would recommend to all my friends and would definitely stay there again and again.

Room Tip: lagoon access suites with level lounge benefits are great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bkcPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear bkcPerth,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support to Meliá Bali and taking the time to write your review.

We are happy to learn that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed your holiday especially our Brand New - Level Lagoon Access Suite.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali holiday trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We just got back from 4 memorable nights at Melia as a family (2 boys ages 7 and 10) while my wife was attending a conference at the Nusa Dua convention centre. We stayed in one of the two level family suites and it met our needs. Lots of room, good service, reasonably clean, but rather damp (similar to other postings).The grounds are beautiful, the staff are exceptional, and the pool is large, well designed and fun with young kids. The beach is below average but due to location and tides - not the fault of the resort. Breakfast provides LOTS of variety and is good value and we stayed healthy. On site restaurants have average food and are expensive compared to the rest of Bali. We're not resort vacationers so this was a stress free and easy (with kids) start to a Bali vacation, and good jumping off point to smaller, less expensive and much more traditonal places on the island.

Room Tip: Unless you are only looking for a resort vacation, move on from Nusa Dua after a couple of nights af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiglinesMtnGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear Chris U and family,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Glad to know that you were quite enjoying your resort holiday with us. To manage the family holiday expenses, our food and beverage team has created many "plans", from a special 3 courses set menu start at IDR 165k net, to family half board or full board packages. We have printed all these information that you have received upon check in, The Journal.

Should you require further detail information, please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.


Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is a huge hotel with about 500 rooms.Our room was clean and well designed.Beds are fabulous. Room service meals were delicious and the buffet breakfast outstanding.But at breakfast I felt like a chook, just another hungry chook amongst the huge nameless and faceless tourist flock.
The grounds are well maintained and the pools are very clean. The hotel is good value but I found it too large and souless - my fault, I chose the wrong type of hotel.
My only gripes - I listened in horror as a reservation clerk tried to emotionally blackmail a young Spanish honeymooner into upgrading to a lagoon room. The poor boy found it very hard to say he couldnt afford it.
Internet- you can buy very expensive vouchers, not "cost recovery"internet vouchers but very overpriced vouchers. Why cant this basic be free in all rooms???Why cant you buy vouchers over the phone like room service instead of having to buy them at the bar? On my last day I got a handout advertising cable internet in my room for a much cheaper rate....why wasnt I offered this earlier in the stay?
Yes this is a clean good value hotel but anonymous and charmless. Many will love it. It would be good for a conference with work colleagues and for families with kids who could go to the kids club. It would be nightmarish (but efficient) if you were on your own. If you are a honeymoon couple find something with more charm.

Room Tip: Dont be emotionally blackmailed into upgrading. Complain long and hard about the lack of free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tubbyconqueror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear tubbyconqueror,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

The hotel has 494 guestrooms, huge and large beautiful manicured garden. We have printed a brief information, The Journal, to give our new guests a quick general information about the hotel facilities and its services. The information includes about our breakfast peak time, internet rate, food and beverage dine around voucher, guest activities and many more.

With many different room categories we have, from a superior to villa, our hotel is ready to cater all different needs and purposes of our guests stay. It could be from individual traveler- family family holidays, business or leisure. The honeymooners will get a 99% privacy in their villa, the 1% less is the blue sky!

As for the internet rate, as of 1st of June, we have discounted the internet connection in the guestroom by 50%!

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.


Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights but I don´t think is a good 5 star hotel.
It was not expensive though.

Room Tip: Its far from Kuta Center and far from surfing spots. Good for a relaxed family vacation without lim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Warmest greetings from sunny Meliã Bali!

Dear GPeCurto,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Meliã Bali and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.

Regret to know that you are not really satisfied staying with us on your holiday. However since your review is too short, we could not take any details for our feedback and improvement. Nusa Dua resort area is designed for relaxing and pampering yourself. Kuta, Uluwatu, and Seminyak areas are more for shopping and surfing.

Please do not hesitate to contact us by sending us an e-mail to executive.office@meliabali.com to get more information about the hotel.


Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali

Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: £84 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing