We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, older hotel, good location, poor breakfast”
Review of Melia Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Bali
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value, older hotel, good location, poor breakfast”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nusa Dua is an excellent, safe location. Melia is one of several hotels on this strip. Its a large, resort style, with many activities - basketball courts, tennis courts, gym, spa, huge pool area, and beach access. It is right next door to Bali Collections (some restaurants and shops). So good if you have kids - there is plenty to do. Location-wise, it is very good.

Checkin was a little slow, but they were busy and the room I had booked was not available so they upgraded us to a junior suite. This is a split-level duplex style. Bedroom & bathroom is on the upper level.

Suite itself was spacious and well appointed. My issue was the bathroom, which was small, and standing in the bathtub to use the shower, my head was almost on the roof (and I am just 6' tall). The bathroom is overall rather 'cheap-ish' and a bit of a let down.

Breakfast was not that good at all - particularly for a higher end hotel chain. Food looked average in quality and variety was low. Certainly something the hotel really needs to lift its game on. It was included though in my room deal.

On the plus side, I did get a good deal on the rate at the time, so all in perspective. The poolside is great - it is a very big pool, so plenty of room to not be tripping over other guests. Food at the beachside restaurant was very good. The grounds are very large, so you can wander about - and there is a nice waiting lounge if you check out and are waiting for your ride to the airport. you can even take a shower in the gym to freshen up.

Overall, there are probably better, newer, hotels along this strip, but at the price point, the Melia was still a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27mangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Warmest greetings from Melia Bali.

Dear 27mangoes,


Thank you very much for coming back again to our resort also the feedback on your recent holiday experience. We truly value the information you have provided. Your responses are vital in helping Melia Bali to provide a memorable holiday experience that meets the highest standards of excellence. In regards to the problem on the bathroom ceiling height, we do have one room category that could be the solutions, our villa has a private Balinese traditional style outdoor shower where the open blue sky will be the ceiling :-)

Thanks for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,865
    1,590
    553
    194
    124
See reviews for
1,671
2,455
121
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My family and I stayed 8 nights at the Melia. Throughout this time we came across many, many staff (there must be 100s employed there) and I could not fault one of them in any way. They were all gracious, charming, smiling and helpful.
Resorts are not for everyone and this is a big one but if you want a resort, I could not recommend this one more highly. The food was lovely and varied (and kids meals from the kids menu free if the adult also ordered a meal), the position was good (right on the beach, easy walk to the shopping complex of Bali Collection and also the more low market shops at the entry to Nusa Dua), transport easy, rooms and grounds clean and, as I said, staff great. Anything you wanted was possible. One morning, there were no doughnuts at breakfast and Mr 3 wanted one so the chefs rushed off and organised some for him. Another day, I forgot the number to the safe, within minutes a man was there fixing it for me. Nothing was a problem.
We used the kids club twice. There were not many using it (just not that many families staying at the resort) so we had 3 adults (lovely, lovely women) looking after our 2 kids.
The management of Melia must be doing something right to have so many staff, working so well. Congratulations.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a lagoon room. They're on the ground floor for a start and it's so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Rebecca E,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you and family had a wonderful stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I personally don't like to stay in resorts. They are too big in this part of the world but somehow I landed here for a night, between flights. I was even upgraded to a "duplex" room wi an upstairs bedroom. I realized again that such rooms are overrated. It is inconvenient to carry one's suitcase upstairs and one ends up sleeping upstairs but making constant teips downstairs. Just to make it more complicated, the wardrobes are only upstairs but the electrical outlet to recharge phone/iPad/laptop is only downstairs, and only one at that. The bathroom fittings are a bit dated and the shower is definitely stingy with both water quantity it delivers and the force with which it does so. The room service is very efficient but I was a bit annoyed to discover no Indian food on the menu. Today in five star places, especially in India one always finds something Indian, which is great if one is in a vegetarian mood. The premises are huge, well cared for and artistically pleasing. The gym is well equipped. The breakfast spread is great and the Omlette was made just perfectly to suit my liking. All the same it would have been great if flies were not hovering over the big food spread. That was not nice.

Room Tip: The resort is on seaside but the foliage around is so thick that there are no seaview rooms. Still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Warmest greetings from Melia Bali.

Dear hrishikul298,

Thank you for taking time out to write your review of your recent stay with us on tripadvisor. We truly value the information you have provided. Your responses are vital in helping Melia Bali to provide a memorable holiday experience that meets the highest standards of excellence.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find any Indian food in our room service menu. We do provide some Indian food in other restaurants, also sometimes in our buffet breakfast depending on the guest in-house nationalities we have. However, our chef would be happy to deliver a special request to the guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your comments as we are constantly looking to improve in all areas of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!


Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

just returned from melia bali this was the 4 time at the hotel the staff there where nice and friendly as always and made you feel very welcome. the hotel has had some upgrades since our last visit which have helped. the bedrooms have got everything you need in them and were always cleaned daily the hotel is in nusa dua which is very clean and tidy and a good place to explore bali from I would highly recommend staying at melia bali if planning a trip to bali

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Kevin S,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a great stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesi, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I've been there sometime ago and I really enjoyed it. Very nice and spacious suite with princess bed. The only unconfortable thing was the umidity in the room, despite the noisy dehumidifier. Overall I can suggest to anybody looking for a romantic holiday.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Cristiano M M,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a great stay at our resort with the service and facilities provided. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Melia recently because I was attending a conference there. Frankly, I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay in the Nusa Dua area unless, like me, you are attending an event there and don't really have a choice. Nusa Dua is the least Balinese of all Bali's beaches. It's a large gated complex containing several large upmarket hotels and the main convention centre (where the 2013 APEC Summit was held). There are much better beaches to be found on the island. The stretch in front of Melia is particularly uninviting at low tide. What a contrast to Seminyak, a wide shimmering expanse. And unlike Seminyak, Jimbaran and other areas, Nusa Dua lacks independent seafood restaurants on the beach.

If work does confine you to Nusa Dua, though, the Melia is a good choice, probably cheaper than some of the other more luxurious options, but perfectly fine. The decor shows its age (it was built in the 1980s) but everything is well maintained. The wifi was superb – it worked everywhere, even at the beachside bistro. Service is excellent and the food is good. The Bali Connection mall is next door, a 10 minute walk. This has several modern Indonesian and Western restaurants, and the competition keeps prices low.

Room Tip: The hotel is sprawling, and Building IV is pretty long walk from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AirconditionedNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Warmest greetings from Melia Bali,

Dear AirconditionedNation,

We are so glad to hear you were quite happy with our hotel, facilities and services. However we are sorry to hear that you do not really like the hotel location. Nusa Dua area is a great area to get away from the masses area like Kuta, Seminyak and Jimbaran; while still being able to enjoy great dining and sightseeing. As the new toll bridge had recently opened, distance does not matter anymore to go anywhere.

Do get in contact with any of us for any specific requests or information on your return visit.


Best regards,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at the Melia Bali for our honeymoon. We had a great time! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the service was great. The room we stayed in was a bit dark but always very clean. In the bathroom you could see that the hotel is getting older and would need some renovation. The breakfast was absolutely great. There was plenty of everything you could dream of and there was a very nice eating area in the patio. The hotel site was extremely beautiful and you could tell that it was well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumbacherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made N, Manager at Melia Bali, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear bumbacherm,

Warmest Greetings from Meliá Bali!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending your time at the Meliá Bali on your holiday and taking the time to write your review of our property in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful honeymoon at our resort with the service and facilities provided. We wish you a wonderful marriage journey ever after and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bali

Property: Melia Bali
Address: Kawasan Wisata BTDC Lot N1 | PO Box 88, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious hotel is located in a tropical garden, right on Nusa Dua beach. Close to a magnificent golf course and the Nusa Dua shopping & leisure district. Nearby point of interest are the capital, Denpasar, 35 km distance from the hotel, and Kuta, just 10 km away. The International Airport is 20 min. away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bali Indonesia Hotel Nusa Dua
Melia Nusa Dua
Melia Bali Hotel
Melia Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing