We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden boutique hotel away from the typical 5Star beach resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden boutique hotel away from the typical 5Star beach resorts”
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Our stay was just wonderful and fantastic value for money. We had visited bali several times before and like to stay somewhere differenet each time. We were travelling with another couple and found this hotel really quaint and surprisingly catered for our every need. The rooms were overly spacious with bamboo flooring and a wonderful big marble bathroom with seperate toilet and shower. Every room overlooked the pool. Our husbands enjoyed the open air bar with pool table to relax with a few bintangs, my girlfriend and i preferred to make the most of the in house spa which was both boutique and enduring and very reasonably priced. Although the hotel is in Nusa Dua, its certainly not the big flash hotels you would normally expect of Nusa and is well away from all the big 5 Star on the beach type of resorts, but that didnt bother us as the hotel was quaint and cozy, it also has a free shuttle down to 'their' own beach club decked out with bar which you can order food from and sun lounges positioned under thatched huts for shaded relaxation on the beach. Shops werent directly out the front door from the resort but a 500m walk down the road takes you to some wonderful restaurants and shops to buy all your bargains. Although not central to shops, restaurants and the hype bali provides, we found this hotel a nice quiet place to return after busy shopping in kuta. The staff were more than helpful and friendly, the food was wonderful (no bali belly) which was a nice relief. If you want to tour the island the staff are more than willing to set you up with a driver (a family friend in most cases). Over a few bintangs in the open air sports bar one of the staff offered for one of his brothers to take our husbands to a surfing beach up on the coast and even arranged boards for them, which they enjoyed. I highly recommend this hotel if you dont mind being a bit out of the way from all the hype that bali offers, and just want to chill out by the pool or over a beverage in the bar area. A Golf Course is within walking distance, No pool bar in the complex but the staff are happy to serve you drinks and snacks poolside. Clean and well worth the price they are offering to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ah2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    120
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
84
140
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

I stayed at the Swiss Grand Bali (now called the Grand Bali) for 10 nights in April 2008.

This is a delightful hotel offering fantastic value for money.

I have been to Bali 8 times and usually stay at a different hotel each time. This is certainly one of the nicest and best value hotels I have had the pleasure of visiting.

I highly recommend this hotel for single travellers and couples without children. If you are a family, this hotel is probably not suitable as there are not many facilities for young children.

I had a pool view room which was enormous and beautifully furnished. The room comes with a king size bed, wardrobe, writing desk and large TV entertainment area with 68cm TV. All fittings and fixtures were 5 star. The bathroom is all marble and has a huge shower and a separate bath. The bathroom was cleaned twice daily and additional fresh towels provided each night if required.

The hotel also has 1 and 2 br villas available with private pools and courtyards.

There are 2 medium sized pools in the centre of the hotel with most rooms surrounding them. The pools are very well shaded which can be a problem if you are a sunlover.

Breakfast is provided in the restaurant overlooking the pool and was of average standard. The service was always good.

The hotel is located in Nusa Dua Selatan (South) which is just outside the main Nusa Dua compond but within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The resort is not located on the beach but has a beach club which is accessed via a free shuttle every 2 hours from 8am to 4pm. The beach club was disappointing and the beach is not as nice as others in the Nusa Dua area.

The hotel has a free hotel shuttle to Tuban (South Kuta) leaving at 10am each day. You need to make your own way back to the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel for people looking for a modern, smaller and relaxing hotel in Nusa Dua. I previously stayed at the Bali Nikko in Nusa Dua which was a much bigger resort and with direct beach access. I found the rooms at the Grand Bali to be bigger, nicer and cleaner than the Bali Nikko. Also the Grand Bali was less isolated than the Bali Nikko. I also inspected the standard rooms at the Nusa Dua Beach hotel and Melia resort and the Grand Bali has nicer rooms than these properties.

I would happily return to this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Huge modern rooms with quality furnishings.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Suntanner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2007

The hotel was absolutely breath taking! The room, pool, and other areas were just as amazing! The staff was great! My biggest disappointment was the condition of the beach. I did not mind taking the bus, but it was very dirty (Not so much as garbage but more along the lines of seaweed, twigs, branches, etc. ). Another disappointment, but not as much, was the food. Very limited choices. Also my wife got sick from eating a hamburger. However, there is a main road, at the corner, that has several restaurants, all of which will do anything (even offer you special deals, extras, like dessert!) to get you in. I can't speak for all of the restaurants, but the one we went to was AMAZING. Great quality and tasty! All in all, a great place!

  • Liked — Room, pool
  • Disliked — Food, condition of beach
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rexmaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Have stayed here several times, great small 4.5 star hotel outside the Nusa Dua compound. Highly recommended if you don't need to be on the beach.
Full review at http://www.littlewhiteswan.com/Accom/az09/0701.html

Helpful?
2 Thank Swanygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

Stayed there for 4 nights from 20th to 24th Oct. The service was good and attentive. Rooms were value for money considering the price I paid and also it has small shops nearby which makes it convenient. Service was prompt too. Disappointing in the sense that it is not really as good as it seems. The mall wasn't that near to the hotel. Don't be fooled. The beach area wasn't that fantastic as there is no facilities compared to Hyatt and the Adoya near by. The place seems run down, the walls have cracks, the room with webs at corners and ants were attracted by food in the room. The place need to be upgraded. The bath tub was really worn out and the shower and toilet area are really old. Need to refurbished as the room I stayed in seems tired. The toilet flush not functioning properly when I checked in and the flush always seems to be weak. Overall just a normal hotel. Also food in the hotel was just normal and breakfast just barely made it.

  • Liked — Big rooms and quiet location away from all things
  • Disliked — Too away at times and need upgrading
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights first before transferring to hotel nikko bali, its a nice decent hotel and the spa is great. Our room is on the ground floor so there's no view except for the pool. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was ok too. Location is ok but since we hire a tour guide, we rode mostly to the malls and shopping area. They offer free shuttle ride to their beach front which is about 5-10 minute ride.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2006

Both hubby and I went for our Valentine's runaway. We had a wonderful time. Our stay is worth every cent paid. As one of the viewers mentioned, they have big and beautiful bathroom with tub and shower.. and it's just simply amazing!

Breakfast was excellent too, and the staff are always ever-willing to help with your request and enquries in getting around.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bali Nusa Dua
Mercure Bali Nusa Dua
#27 of 53 in Nusa Dua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Segara Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
#29 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bali Nusa Dua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bali Nusa Dua

Property: The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
Address: Jl. Nusa Dua Selatan no. 8 | ITDC Complex Nusa Dua Lot RA 6, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Swiss-Belhotel Bali Aga)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#20 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Bali Nusa Dua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua offers a truly Balinese experience of serenity and personal hospitality. With 63 suites and pool villas, 5 star facilities, spa and authentic dining experience, The Grand Bali Nusa Dua is an ideal haven to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. Traditional Balinese warmth combined with attentive service makes it an ideal choice for a serene getaway. Set in the exclusive enclave of Nusa Dua, the resort's spacious and luxurious suites and pool villas are decorated in contemporary Balinese style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. For an indulgent and leisurely vacation, plunge into our twin pools, enjoy a treatment and massage in The Spa and dine in our versatile restaurant serving Indonesian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Grand Bali Nusa Dua is a magical place where time stands still and memories last long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Bali Nusa Dua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Grand Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Holiday Inn Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing