We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, staff awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, staff awesome”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Our first stay in Bali, Flight Centre package recommended the Grand Bali for late afternoon checkout. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite off the pool and it was just amazing. Found the staff to be very friendly, the bar manager was especially a crackup!!!!!! This is a great place to stay if you want somewhere to chill and relax.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nmihi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    124
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
86
146
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Very relaxing & staff were very friendly & tried to be very helpful.
Room was large & clean, TV reception very poor, no hairdryers in bathroom
Pool was lovely, although only open from 8am - 8pm each day
We enjoyed the meals we ate in the restaurant, service was great
Room service meal trays were often left outside rooms in the corridor for days.
Too far from the beach & the 'Beach Club' is also disappointing
Too far from most restaurants & shopping in Nusa & too far in the heat to walk, although taxis are soooo cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ness2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Grand Bali (no longer called Swiss Grand ), which was a timeshare exchange through RCI. As I usually stay at Legian or Seminyak, I was a bit worried about being so far out, but we ended up loving it!
We had a deluxe suite on the top floor at the end of the building, overlooking the pool and golf course. It was the biggest hotel room I have ever seen, beautifully furnished with a four poster canopied bed, timber desk, lounge, TV, DVD player and mini-bar. The marble bathroom was about 3 or 4 metres, with separate bath, shower and toilet. (Why were there no hooks or towel rails in such a huge room?). Outside we had a large terrace, with views on 3 sides with a full lounge suite. (It felt a bit like being in Ubud, so relaxing). The air-con was not very cold, so if we came in from the heat, we would have to sit on the lounge in front of the vent to cool down, but it was fine at night.
Breakfast was not included, so it cost us about $AUD10 for buffet breakfast, which had a reasonable selection, but not as good as other hotels I have stayed at . We had to serve our own coffee, even though there were always staff members standing around. Nobody walked around with the coffee pot.

It was very quiet, with not many of the 60 or so rooms occupied. I did not see an Aussie for 2 days as most of the guests were Russians. At least there was plenty of room at the 2 pools, which are separated down the centre by sun lounges, shaded by frangipani trees as the sun moves around.

There is a very nice spa by the pool, although we only went in for our free 15 minute massage.

The bar off the lobby has a pool table and seating overlooking the entrance to the hotel.

As the hotel is not on the beach, they have a free shuttle every 2 hours to their Nusa Dua Beach Club. There are plenty of sunlounges, umbrella, chairs and tables, as well as a beach bar to provide food and drinks. It was very nice, although in the morning the tide is way out.

On the way back from the Beach Club we were dropped off at the Bali Collection, which has lots and lots of shops, including a Sogo department store, and restaurants. We had a delicious light lunch at Aromas, and were then given free transport back to the hotel.

The hotel has a once a day shuttle to Kuta and you have to find your own way back. We found a taxi cost 80,000 to 100,000 and took about 40 minutes. We went in twice, bought a coffee at Gloria Jeans to use the internet in airconditioned comfort, went to Discovery, Matahari to stock up on snacks, fruit etc. the tailor for some clothes, and found we could not wait to get out of all that traffic back to our peaceful life at the Grand Bali

It is a 5 minute walk down the road to the corner to a street of shops and restaurants (Bualu village), where I had very inexpensive massages - one was 100, 000 and one was 70,000 rupiah for an hour ($8.50 to $12). The shopping was not bad and I did not have to bargain as hard as in Legian. We found some great little restaurants, and they all drive you home - Mai Mai has barbecued seafood sold by weight and then grilled, as well as a variety of other dishes. We ate there twice and the food was delicious. Laguna was another great little restaurant offering free welcome drinks, garlic bread and salad bar. They also had live entertainment several nights a week.

We also did the Safari Under the Stars tour at the Elephant Safari Park and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aus2Argie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the rooms. They are spacious, big kingsize beds, very big marble bathrooms, etc. They are not quite 5 star standard but are better than the other hotels which market themselves as 4 star. The pool was not so big but it was fine for us as there was rarely other people using it anyway.

Breakfast was just average, I liked the freshly made omelets and the danishes though.

The location is both good and bad. Bad that you are not right at the beach or surrounded by restaurants and shops. Good that it is a quiet place to get some sleep and not be harassed by hawkers and taxi drivers. It is only 5 minutes walk to some shops (Ralph Lauren, Tommy Hilfiger, + boutiques, etc.) and restaurants, about 20 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donga100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I've been to Bali 8 times and am going again in November, Feb 2010 and June 2010 for my wedding. Every time we go we stay at two places (more fun that way). This is a very average hotel.

First, the website makes it look like the hotel is right on Nusa Dua clifftops - it's not, it's a good 10 minute drive to Nusa Dua Beach.

Breakfast - VERY average for Nusa Dua hotels. And constantly running out of food - you had to wait for everything to be replaced at any time of the morning.

Most of the staff were very nice, as Balinese people have to be the sweetest people in the world. They were about the only good thing about this hotel.

HOWEVER, our package was supposed to get 4 bottles of water for free every day. My dad bribed the water boys on our first day there to give us a couple of extra bottles (as the free ones were TINY and there was no other source of good quality water unless you paid very high prices for it). So, from that day on the water boys wouldn't put our free water in our rooms unless we bribed them!! Not good.

We had the best suite you could get in the main hotel area (the next thing up is a villa - they looked lovely) which was nice, however the toilet in one bathroom stank, the showers leaked all over the floor around a toilet (which doesn't make one feel confident in where that water came from!). The bath leaked and we had to call a plumber to fix it. The door to the verandah was very hard to open.

The rude Japanese guests (speak to any Balinese person and see how they feel about the way many (most?) Japanese guests treat the Balinese and you'll see I'm not kidding) are not the fault of the hotel, however they just added to our unhappiness there. I saw one overweight child blow his nose in the pool, whilst his mother watched on smiling!!! Disgusting!!! I didn't go back in that pool, needless to say.

Small business centre with one computer which you generally had to queue for.

Overall, I would not go back here. I feel sorry for the staff to say this, but I don't think other people should get caught out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Our stay was just wonderful and fantastic value for money. We had visited bali several times before and like to stay somewhere differenet each time. We were travelling with another couple and found this hotel really quaint and surprisingly catered for our every need. The rooms were overly spacious with bamboo flooring and a wonderful big marble bathroom with seperate toilet and shower. Every room overlooked the pool. Our husbands enjoyed the open air bar with pool table to relax with a few bintangs, my girlfriend and i preferred to make the most of the in house spa which was both boutique and enduring and very reasonably priced. Although the hotel is in Nusa Dua, its certainly not the big flash hotels you would normally expect of Nusa and is well away from all the big 5 Star on the beach type of resorts, but that didnt bother us as the hotel was quaint and cozy, it also has a free shuttle down to 'their' own beach club decked out with bar which you can order food from and sun lounges positioned under thatched huts for shaded relaxation on the beach. Shops werent directly out the front door from the resort but a 500m walk down the road takes you to some wonderful restaurants and shops to buy all your bargains. Although not central to shops, restaurants and the hype bali provides, we found this hotel a nice quiet place to return after busy shopping in kuta. The staff were more than helpful and friendly, the food was wonderful (no bali belly) which was a nice relief. If you want to tour the island the staff are more than willing to set you up with a driver (a family friend in most cases). Over a few bintangs in the open air sports bar one of the staff offered for one of his brothers to take our husbands to a surfing beach up on the coast and even arranged boards for them, which they enjoyed. I highly recommend this hotel if you dont mind being a bit out of the way from all the hype that bali offers, and just want to chill out by the pool or over a beverage in the bar area. A Golf Course is within walking distance, No pool bar in the complex but the staff are happy to serve you drinks and snacks poolside. Clean and well worth the price they are offering to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ah2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

I stayed at the Swiss Grand Bali (now called the Grand Bali) for 10 nights in April 2008.

This is a delightful hotel offering fantastic value for money.

I have been to Bali 8 times and usually stay at a different hotel each time. This is certainly one of the nicest and best value hotels I have had the pleasure of visiting.

I highly recommend this hotel for single travellers and couples without children. If you are a family, this hotel is probably not suitable as there are not many facilities for young children.

I had a pool view room which was enormous and beautifully furnished. The room comes with a king size bed, wardrobe, writing desk and large TV entertainment area with 68cm TV. All fittings and fixtures were 5 star. The bathroom is all marble and has a huge shower and a separate bath. The bathroom was cleaned twice daily and additional fresh towels provided each night if required.

The hotel also has 1 and 2 br villas available with private pools and courtyards.

There are 2 medium sized pools in the centre of the hotel with most rooms surrounding them. The pools are very well shaded which can be a problem if you are a sunlover.

Breakfast is provided in the restaurant overlooking the pool and was of average standard. The service was always good.

The hotel is located in Nusa Dua Selatan (South) which is just outside the main Nusa Dua compond but within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The resort is not located on the beach but has a beach club which is accessed via a free shuttle every 2 hours from 8am to 4pm. The beach club was disappointing and the beach is not as nice as others in the Nusa Dua area.

The hotel has a free hotel shuttle to Tuban (South Kuta) leaving at 10am each day. You need to make your own way back to the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel for people looking for a modern, smaller and relaxing hotel in Nusa Dua. I previously stayed at the Bali Nikko in Nusa Dua which was a much bigger resort and with direct beach access. I found the rooms at the Grand Bali to be bigger, nicer and cleaner than the Bali Nikko. Also the Grand Bali was less isolated than the Bali Nikko. I also inspected the standard rooms at the Nusa Dua Beach hotel and Melia resort and the Grand Bali has nicer rooms than these properties.

I would happily return to this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Huge modern rooms with quality furnishings.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Suntanner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bali Nusa Dua
Mercure Bali Nusa Dua
#28 of 54 in Nusa Dua
722 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Segara Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
1.2 mi away
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
#29 of 54 in Nusa Dua
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bali Nusa Dua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bali Nusa Dua

Property: The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
Address: Jl. Nusa Dua Selatan no. 8 | ITDC Complex Nusa Dua Lot RA 6, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Swiss-Belhotel Bali Aga)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#16 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Bali Nusa Dua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua offers a truly Balinese experience of serenity and personal hospitality. With 63 suites and pool villas, 5 star facilities, spa and authentic dining experience, The Grand Bali Nusa Dua is an ideal haven to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. Traditional Balinese warmth combined with attentive service makes it an ideal choice for a serene getaway. Set in the exclusive enclave of Nusa Dua, the resort's spacious and luxurious suites and pool villas are decorated in contemporary Balinese style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. For an indulgent and leisurely vacation, plunge into our twin pools, enjoy a treatment and massage in The Spa and dine in our versatile restaurant serving Indonesian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Grand Bali Nusa Dua is a magical place where time stands still and memories last long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Bali Nusa Dua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Grand Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Holiday Inn Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing