We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service, and great hotel”
Review of Grand Hyatt Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Bali
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great customer service, and great hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here around June 2011, the weather was awesome and perfect, not too hot, and nice breeze. On top of that, we were greeted with such a nice and warm customer service, we fell in love with the hotel right away. We booked 3 rooms, 6 adults and 1 child. One of the rooms front door was not closing well, and they had someone fixed it right away, sent us a nice fruit basket due to the wait. But we just enjoyed the beach right away, no fuss in waiting for the door to get fixed because we were enjoying our time checking out the hotel. It was the best choice we ever made. We stayed in Conrad Bali the year before, and they got the worst customer service, they made mistakes after mistakes. But Grand Hyatt Bali is the opposite. I really feel the true 5 star quality in this hotel besides their facilities, great beach, etc. We'd definitely come back here again next year. All the staff in this hotel is very professional and welcoming.

Room Tip: Definitely go with the ocean view room, worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiaMommy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,809
    1,024
    383
    153
    86
See reviews for
1,309
1,164
97
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
welwyn garden city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

After much research we decided to book our honeymoon to Bali and stay in The Grand Hyatt Hotel.
We arrived to spend a long time stood at reception while we booked it- whcih after a 24 hour journey was not a great start.
We then got taken to our room (about a 10 minute walk) to find the bell boy had the wrong key. So we were left for a further 20 minutes outside our room while the correct key was got.
Then inside the room there was no 'special' honeymoon treatment at all which was so disappointing.
As we arrived too late for dinner there was no explanation as to what we should do. So my husband rang room service to see if we could have a meal using our half board tickets (which we didn't actually have as apparently there were none left). After 20 minutes of explanations on our side we eventually got some food. After eating we were then told there would be a charge for the food, despite being told there wouldn't be.
Day 2 my husband became very ill and on day 3 had to see a doctor on site who told him he believed he had ecoli.
I then became very ill abd actually saw the dotor twice and received 4 types of medicine. I was so ill we decided to come home 6 days early from our 12 night honeymoon. Staff were very unhelpful with providing help to get us home early. It was the transfer staff, Hotel Beds that helped us and sorted out transfering the flights. On getting home I went to UK A&E as I was so ill and hadn't eaten for 5 days and from samples that were taken I had Salonella.
We did not eat anywhere but the hotel and were very careful with what we ate and drank- even going to the extreme of brushing our teeth in mineral water.
On top of the illness we found the hotel more like 3 star- the ceiling outside out hotel fell down and it was us that highlighted it to staff. There were beer cans on the stairwell- one was at the top of our stairwell for 4 days. All in all I was very disappointed with this hotel and more importantly ruined our honeymoon.
I would not recommend this hotel at all. Be very careful when booking it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

At first sight Grand Hyatt Bali looks great, nice rooms, great beach, a lot of facilities. But the difference with other five star hotels is in many details. No special welcome drink at check-in, just a formal procedure, no warm welcome. We got towel cards, for which we could get each one towel at the beach. Is Grand Hyatt afraid that we steal their towels? And directly a warning on the booklet around your key card: if you want copies of the sales slips of your purchases in the hotel, this might take several hours. Is their bookkeeping process so complicated?

In the hotel room no branded amenities as in other five star hotels, just 'shampoo', 'shower gel' and 'conditioner' as in a two- or three star accommodation. No mouth wash or bath salt. The staff was unable to provide a firm pillow that evening, for which no excuses. Also we found a lot of dust in the room. The next morning I was waked at 8.30 by somebody mowing the lawn near our room.

The same on the beach: you can collect your towels yourself and also arrange your beach beds yourself. No help from the staff, which on one occasion preferred to play chess with their upper body undressed. Also no water and hardly any drink service.

Due to our booking we would receive money back from the hotel at checkout. We decided to arrange that the evening before we left, but the front office staff, including the duty manager told us that that was impossible as the accounting department had already closed (???). Only after involving the F&B manager and one hour later this was arranged. We have never heard anything from the hotel anymore about this, no apologies, no evaluation.

At the same price level there are better hotels in this region.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent 9 nights at the Grand Hyatt Bali with our 14-month old baby and it was the best choice we could have made. From the airport pick-up all the way to the end our stay was perfect. The location of the hotel is great and although we were aware it was fully booked, the amazing size of the property with its multiple outlets and pools did not reveal that. You can go anywhere at anytime and there is always friendly staff welcoming you providing you with great service.
After a long trip from Europe we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and the check in was so efficient that we were able to reach our room quickly. The rooms are beautiful with all the amenities you need and the hotel provides you with everything needed when traveling with a baby including bad bassinet and a stroller.
We enjoyed very much the breakfast at the Garden Café although there are other superb options including a restaurant by the pool & beach.
Rooms and housekeeping service could have not been better, never had to request for anything as towels and amenities were always fully restocked.
The beach was one of our favorite spots, the scenery and cleanliness was just amazing.
We certainly recommend this hotel and plan to go back soon!

Room Tip: Recommend the Grand Club option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GHTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed at Grand Hyatt Bali for 3 nites. The lobby was the first came into my impression, a great ocean view through a very nice cut garden from the lobby. My room was in the north village and only 1 step away from the pool of the village. The grand pool called Lagoon was huge, even a water slide there. Pool was fantastic in this hotel but beach was a little bit disapointed. You better go to the beach in the morning time, not many people there, it was smelly and not very nice. The hotel is huge. I even got lost finding how to reach the beach.
My room has good facilities, spacious bathroom... except the aircon, it did not work well, perhaps water leaking from the aircon.
Service will not get my satisfaction. We asked for a wake-up call at 8.00. The operator called and said: "Morning, this is your wake-up call." That's it! And they repeated 2 more times! awful...
The best point here is location, right a the center and Bali Collection is located in the front gate of Hyatt.

Room Tip: request for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khung Long B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colac victoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We usually stay at the Laguna resort and spa when in Nusa Dua but decided to try a different hotel this holiday and as soon as I arrived I regretted it.It is not a 5 star resort .The rooms are very tired looking no flat screen television or dvd player.Not that you are in the room much but I would have thought this would be standard in a 5 star resort.The beach is very clean and the gardens are beautiful loved all the ponds and having the ducks and birds outside our room every day.The hotel is huge around 700 rooms which makes it very inpersonable and the staff are usually to busy to have much of a conversation with you which is sad.I won"t be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcyColacVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Thank you to all the staff at the Grand Hyatt who helped make our holiday absolutely wonderful. The resort was perfectly suitable for travelling with two young children (3 & 5), My husband and I to enjoy some much needed relaxation as well as enjoy the delights of endless hours of fun spent sliding down the waterslides and simming through the resorts numerous pools, after enjoying an amazing array of produce at breakfast each day.

On the downside, but not really a negative we travelled outside school holidays and there were not a lot of other children staying. The resort was generally fairly busy with conferences, however this did not impact on our enjoyment other then a small wait at breakfast venues.

The rooms were well maintained and large. We booked adjoining rooms, however in hindsight given the age of our children we could have stayed in one room and the children sleep together in the oversized day bed (double size). I would suggest if you are travelling with children that you request a room close to the reception and not on the ground floor. This resort is afterall a "water palace" and there is water features everywhere. The rooms on the ground floor do not offer much protection from inquisitive little people to step over the balcony and into a pond. Also, as the resort is huge, you can be a long way from amenities in some of the accommodation wings. We had rooms 3356 & 3357 perfect location.

My other suggestion is invest in a cheap dvd player for your stay. Whilst the hotel provides these on request it is at a cost of US$14 per day, you can buy one for not much more and save yourself a small fortune at the end of your stay. Also, the TV we had in our room had dreadful sound quality and wasn't really worth the extra investment of the DVD player when trying to listen with such poor quality. For a 5 star resort this was probably one of the only items which really failed to impress. I think for this standard of resort it maybe time to invest in some new technology.


We also ventured outside the resort when dining with the children to the local village area (substantially cheaper) and also accross the road to Bali Connection where there is a huge array of dining choices and shopping. Both options are within easy walk fromt the resort. When not taking the children, we utlised the babysitting services. The babysitters were extremely capable and attentitive. Our children were more then happy to stay in and order room service.

We would also suggest if venturing outside the resort for a period of time, spend the extra money and hire one of the private vehicles the resort can organise rather then a taxi. For a small fee they are happy to wait while for you and absolute godsend when touring with young tired children. Nothing better then stepping into a beautifully maintained and aircondiitioned vehicle.

Thank you again to the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception on NOT ground floor are great option when travelling with kids. Closer to amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissykat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#6 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Bali

Property: Grand Hyatt Bali
Address: Kawasan Wisata, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 636
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the lush tropical gardens of the 41-acre beachfront property, the Kriya Spa will, in essence, be a wellness sanctuary, offering the discerning traveler an authentic Balinese healing experience with 24 luxurious spa villas for treatments and for full day spa programs. Reflecting its name Kriya – meaning ‘ritual’ in Sanskrit – this unique Spa will celebrate authentic Balinese healing forms with treatments based on ‘wellness rituals’ to promote positive health and anti-aging through the use of natural herbs, roots and essences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua
Hyatt Nusa Dua
Bali Grand Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Hotel Bali
Nusa Dua Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing