We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids had great fun!”
Review of Grand Hyatt Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Bali
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kids had great fun!”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed with 2 young kids. Was pretty happy with the size of the hotel room, including the bathroom. King-size bed and day bed in Grand King were sufficiently big and comfortable for a family of 4. Kids had fun with the breakfast spread, the expansive ponds to feed the fishes, the swimming pools, the private beach, the garden environment with birds around. Hotel is also a stone-throw away to the Bali Collection. So for family with young kids, there is no need to worry about having to travel far for decent-priced lunch and dinner. Service was fast, and staff were friendly and gave travel advice and directions readily. As a matter of fact, they provided room service (room make-up, free water bottle top-up, a good night card with fresh flower greeting, etc.) more than once a day.

We checked in late in the evening. Perhaps the check-in could be less 'mechanical', and to inject a friendlier atmosphere and a warmer welcome. Otherwise, everything is great.

We would be happy to stay at Grand Hyatt Bali again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warlus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    1,041
    390
    154
    90
See reviews for
1,331
1,189
100
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed at The Grand Hyatt for 3 Nights and got a pick-up arranged from the Hotel. It costs USD 17 but it's really worth it as you meet the Hotel staff right outside the main exit gate else you need to walk a few mins, negotiate rates with the driver and then be on your route to Hyatt.

The view from the Lobby is outstanding. Well manicured gardens, clean pristine Indian ocean, nice shopping arcade, lively bar, etc etc.

I opted for an Ocean View room and it was a great choice.

The location of the Hotel is superb, 1 min from Bali collection, 5 mins walk from a local market with lot of restaurants, less than 10 mins drive from Tanjung Benao (water sports hub), 5 mins drive from the award winning Bumbu Bali restaurant.

I see some friends have complained about the service but we were totally impressed by the service - whether it was Front office, room service, at the pool or any restaurant.

The staff is always smiling, courteous, and happy to help.

Breakfast is very elaborate and their Italian restaurant serves great food with fresh ingredients.

One of the unique features is the Balinese touch that this Hotel has as compared to some of the modern contemporary hotels/ resorts in Nusa Dua. End of the day it’s an individual preference but we wanted something local and Balinese in nature.

Overall, a great experience and if we come back, we will surely stay at The Grand Hyatt Bali

Room Tip: An Ocean view/ club room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhitraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We were really looking forward to this leg of our Asia tour of Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia. We picked the Hyatt as I had read the reviews and heard great things from friends. I am writing this on my 1st night after the most incompetent customer service.

I booked a Club King and asked for Crib and High-Chair for the little 2yr old. I detailed this in my reservation and then also called the hotel the day of arrival. Once arrived...all was fine.
However when I got to the room... No Crib, No High Chair and 2 twins pushed together.

So I expect a simple fix right...crib arrives in less than 15mins...with high chair as does the twin bed fix... err....no. I called and asked for the items...after 15mins...nothing. Called again...another 10mins...nothing. Then again and again. After numerous calls and change of room....we finally got our crib for our super tired son at 10.54pm... 1hr 54mins after check-in!!

The babysitter was made to wait for 54mins too...and she was hotel staff!

I felt that the staff we not considerate at all to a family which was really disappointing. The Manager on Duty was there to do the bare minimum for us.

So overall - be careful when you book and there is no guarantee you will get the items you need for your baby.

Room Tip: stay ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenzos2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We had done an extensive research to finalise from the various options available in Bali. And I must say that the choice that we made was upto our expectations.

First thing that strikes you about this property is the size..it is HUGE., There are 750 rooms in the hotel. The checkin was smooth and efficient. Though we had to walk a fair bit to reach our room from the reception area. The entire property is beautifully landscaped with numerous fish filled ponds and green areas.
Room: The room was on the top floor(3rd) and was very good. We had the Grand(Standard) room and all rooms come with a sitout balcony. It overlooks a water body and you can also see the beach up ahead. Though they have sea facing rooms also, but it is not really worth it. The amenities are good and the bathroom is also decent. The one sore point was that they are still have the old CRT style TV in the room. Other problem was the soundproofing - we could not sleep well one night as there was a continuous noise from the corridor outside.

Food: There are 3 restaurants where they serve breakfast and we preferred the Watercourt as it is was quiet and very convenient for us. The breakfast buffet spread is very good and you have a lot of choices. The staff is very attentive and extremely courteous. We ordered dinner in the room and it was very good..though a bit expensive. Tip: There is a good plaza located very close (within 5 mins walking distance) to the hotel - Bali Collection. They have numerous choices of eating options for Balinese, Indonesian, Italian food. The prices are reasonable and they have live bands playing every night.

Beach/Pool: The beach is big with lots of trees. The water is not very clean and there is lot of sea weed floating around. The pool area is very good and they have kept all age groups in mind with miniature rides for kids. If you are going with kids, I would strongly recommend this place as there are lot of activities for the kids here.

Location/Nearby Attractions: The hotel is ideally located with all the major attractions close by. Jimbaran (Good for fresh sea food and lovely sunset view) is 20 mins away, Kuta(Party place with lots of cafes, clubs, shopping) is 30-40 mins. Ubud (Arts, Crafts and local culture hub) 90 mins away. The security in the Nusa dua area is tight and one feels safe.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this property for its beauty, location, service and activities. it was our first time in Bali and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The property is old (20 yrs) but the hotel does not feel old.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

For those who check out my other reviews, you'll know that I take the good and the bad but rarely miss the details. Was here on business in the middle of November for almost two weeks so I had the chance to see the place from many angles over many days.

First thing I'll say is that the property is consistent - as frequent travelers know, inconsistencies in service, policy or cleanliness are bothersome. That didn't take place here.

ROOM
I had an average room and it was wonderful - great view, great amenities, always clean and with a fresh bowl of fruit every day. Only complaint here would be that the 3 sliding doors always seemed in the way - bad design. The bedding was comfortable, the AC worked and while other colleaugues noted bugs in their rooms, I never saw so much as an ant.

FOOD
Included breakfast buffet was delicious and hearty and varied. Ate almost every dinner there - usually via room service but all was very good and safe (I ate salads every day with no adverse effects). Can't say I tried the only Japanese place but others said it was "OK". Ate poolside often and was always prompt and tasty

PROPERTY OVERALL
Gorgeous. Well maintained, great gym, awesome landscaping. The pools are a touch warm (likely because the island is HOT this time of year) - maybe could cool those off. The lobby area and associated bar areas were equally pretty.

I, fortunately, didn't have to pay so can't speak much to the value. Also, barely ventured outside the property so can't speak to the location or day-trip excursion services of the concierge. Also, never really saw the beach but, from high-above in the lobby, it looked great.

OVERALL - if you're going on a trip this far on the globe and want a safe, gorgeous hotel, I don't think you can go wrong here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room (extra $?) in the "Grand Club" area. Extra perks like cocktail hour are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagodude07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed at grand hyatt nusa dua bali on 5-7th december 2011.
There's nothing special ,only larger area and it can become minus point if you have to walk in rush to the lobby.
The hotel looks aged but well maintained. I think we can find another hotel with almost the same facilities around nusa dua with lower rates.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

From the very moment that you enter Nusa Dua you feel very good and the feeling becomes amazing when you step into the Grand Hyatt. The entire property is huge and is very well maintained. The resort has a unique concept of having ponds with beautiful fishes all around the property. The property is lush green and very clean. The lobby area is very spacious and offers a partial view of the sea. Our room was about 5 minutes walk from the lobby (there is no shuttle service to and from lobby unlike some of the other resorts of the similar size, so you have to walk). The room was very big with very comfy beds, good air conditioning, a decent size washroom and a balcony which offers splendid view of the huge pond and fishes. The only downside was the interior of the room which I thought could have been better especially the color on the walls. Even the chairs in the balcony could have been more comfortable. Notwithstanding the same, it is a top notch property. The resort has separate dining areas, in fact the breakfast was offered at 3 different restaurants (however, only 1 had air conditioning). Salsa Verde – the Italian - was our favorite as it is perfectly located alongside the swimming pool and the cool breeze from the ocean made the dining experience even better. The resort has a terrace bar as well. The swimming pools are other major attractions of the resort and have very unique shape and design. The pool bar offers 50% discount (which they call crush time) on its cocktail selection during the afternoons. Grand Hyatt has a huge private beach as well and you can spend hours lazing around there sunbathing, looking at the ocean or taking a dip in the sea. The weather surprisingly was very hot (in 30s with humidity as high as 80%) for late November and early December, but even then we loved every minute of the 7 days that we stayed in Grand Hyatt, Nusa Dua.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is closer to the lobby as there is no shuttle service to and from the rooms. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwasthiAtul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,506 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Bali

Property: Grand Hyatt Bali
Address: Kawasan Wisata, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 636
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the lush tropical gardens of the 41-acre beachfront property, the Kriya Spa will, in essence, be a wellness sanctuary, offering the discerning traveler an authentic Balinese healing experience with 24 luxurious spa villas for treatments and for full day spa programs. Reflecting its name Kriya – meaning ‘ritual’ in Sanskrit – this unique Spa will celebrate authentic Balinese healing forms with treatments based on ‘wellness rituals’ to promote positive health and anti-aging through the use of natural herbs, roots and essences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua
Hyatt Nusa Dua
Bali Grand Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Hotel Bali
Nusa Dua Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing