We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired but still a great holiday”
Review of Grand Hyatt Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Bali
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I was last here in 2001. The hotel has dated but retains it charm. Great beach location and nice gardens. Good rooms, okay food although horribly overpriced. Short walk to Bali Collection which offers variety from hotel. Compare to the Mulia a short walk down the beach - an architectural blight on Nusa Dua.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank MyBloodRunsGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattBali, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear MyBloodRunsGreen,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hyatt Bali and for taking the time out to post your feedback. It is a pleasure knowing you had a great holiday.

Your constructive comment pertaining to various aspects of our operations is duly noted and I appreciate your suggestions for improvements. I hope you will visit us many times in the future and allow us to create more memories.

Warm regards,
Amrit Gurung


Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,035 of 3,945 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful place. Great open air concept lobby. Landscape is just amazing.

Rooms are huge and clean. Shows sign of ageing but have been maintained really well.

Food is good. Garden cafe serves good international and local food. Need to improve on satay though. Breakfast varieties are good. Enjoyed Ramayana show and the buffet dinner at Pasar Senggol.

Beautiful beach. Clean.

Kid's club was good but there were changes in the activities. The activities listed in their website was really good but when we came here some of the interesting activities were not available. .maybe due to low turn up. Slightly disappointed but the staffs are very friendly and my kids did want to return to the kids club throughout the stay. Should update your website accordingly.

Pool is awesome.The water slide is a plus for kids.

Will definitely return as this place is extremely beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niva_gerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattBali, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear niva_gerald,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. We are delighted that you were overall satisfied with customer service extended by our team while disappointed that we did not meet your expectation due to unavailability of activities in Camp Nusa – Kids' club. Please accept my apologies for this inadvertent error. We are committed to work through our guest feedback to ensure we remedy as many shortcomings as possible and hope we will have the opportunity of doing so when you visit us back.

I appreciate you highlighting our very friendly associates and extremely beautiful resort. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the tropical paradise again and hope we will have the opportunity of creating more memories.

Warm regards,
Amrit Gurung

Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We traveled to Bali on 30th of May. We had booked Grand Hyatt well in advance, around 2 months prior to our travel date. However when we reached hotel at about 12:30 PM, we were told your room is not ready and will take a while. Our check in time was 2:00 PM so we dint mind waiting for a while in the lobby. However even past 2:00 PM we were not allotted the rooms and were made to wait in the lobby. Even after several request to allot us the room, standard reply that 'the room is getting ready' was given to us. At the end room was given to us at around 4:00 PM, that too after lots of shouting at the reception and with the duty manager. One of their managers Mr.Sudiman intervened and with his help we were given the rooms. Also one of the rooms had insects in it, for which we given an excuse that this is due to tropical climate in the reigon and only thing that can be done is pest control. We had selected ocean View deluxe rooms but to my surprise there was only one room with the deluxe view, while the other two rooms were just ocean view according to Hyatts definition. Also we had a lots of problem with the veg food. Only one veg item was served in the breakfast. Even after repeated requests no arrangements were made for the vegetarian preparations. I really appreciate the kind efforts of Mr.Sudiman for making our stay comfortable and giving us the patient hearing as also compensating for the delay in allotting us the rooms by giving us good discount, without whom my reviews would have been terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandeepChoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattBali, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear MandeepChoksi,

At the outset, please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations . We pride ourselves in delighting our guests and making sure every detail of their stay is enjoyable. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in us with a return visit in not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Amrit Gurung

Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Our room was located in West Village which is a 8-10 minutes walk from the lobby!! No buggy for the long walk, very dark at night, no security staff to assist, and no house phone to be found anywhere.

The view was from room was wonderful, it opens up to a very lovely lily pond with beautiful fishes, and a beautifully landscaped garden. No complaint about the view. Our two young children were very happy to use the big day bed provided in the room.

We booked our first 2 nights stay with breakfast, and decided to opt out on subsequent night because the breakfast was nothing to shout about. And there were flies everywhere. Bali Collections nearby has better choice.

We were quite happy with our first 2 nights' stay so we decided to extend our stay. Then the nightmare started!! They didn't have other room facing the pool/beach/nearer to lobby, so we stayed on in the same room. When we came back after 11pm after a very long day, we were appalled to find both our key cards not working. The staff on duty had forgotten to reprogram them. There were no staff who could assist us nearby/no housephone to use to call the lobby staff. We had no choice but to lug all our shopping bags and had our children tag along while we walked back to the lobby to get help.

We complained to the manager on duty Mr Tommy. My husband requested that he walked with us back to the room so we could point out all the flaws and hazards that we have noticed along the way, including:
* lack of lightings,
* no security staff seen even though Tommy mentioned there should be some,
* there were some very dark areas without warning signs (e.g. access to pool pump room, children or the elderly could have fallen into them without anyone noticing),
* the beautiful ponds everywhere - drunk guests could have fallen into them (again, no personnel patrolling the 700-rooms resort nor housephone in case of emergency.

Upon reaching our room, we were very shocked to find our bathroom flooded (room 4104)!!! There was a small leak on the ceiling and wall. It was very late (midnight) and we just want to shower and get to bed. So we asked Tommy to just send someone with towels and that they can look at the leak the next day.

The next day, our wifi connection went off. We called the reception to inquire, the staff promised to call back but didn't. We called back again 30 minutes later, only to be passed around to an inexperienced personnel to try to troubleshoot. When we requested to speak to the manager on duty Lyda, we found out from her that the entire hotel wifi connection was having problem and they will try to reset it. After much delay, the connection finally came back. Further conversation with Lyda revealed that our room problem with leaking bathroom was never logged in by Tommy!!

We were utterly disappointed with their overall level of service. The hotel is very beautiful but unfortunately the level of service is totally unacceptable. We checked out the very same day!!

Will not be coming back unless drastic improvement is implemented.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebethgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattBali, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear ebethgoh,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. This certainly does not represent the high standards Grand Hyatt Bali is known for. We take immense pride in delighting our guests and ensuring every detail of their stay is enjoyable.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss with you further and would be grateful if you could contact us at bali.grand@hyatt.com . I do hope you will give us another chance to restore your faith in Grand Hyatt Bali and we will spare no effort in ensuring that your stay is memorable as you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,
Amrit Gurung

Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our kids loved the pools so much that we had to pry them away to go to the beach 100 feet away. The beds are beds are comfortable, several onsite restaurants and the Bali Collection shops are right across the street with many more, and less expensive food options. The beach is kept amazingly clean and the kids had a great time at low tide going our to the tide pools and looking at the octopus, lion fish, sea urchins and more.

Room Tip: The South and West side rooms are quieter but also a longer walk from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattBali, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Val G,

Greetings from the Island of Gods. It is a pleasure knowing you had a great time at our beautiful resort. I am especially delighted to read that your kids thoroughly enjoyed our amazingly clean beach and pools.

Thank you very much for your review and acknowledgement of your great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to this slice of paradise in the near future.


Sincerely,
Amrit Gurung

Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is big and located at a gud place but looks very dark and confusing at night while if ur room is on 4 th floor then ur further confused and the service was also poor . The gud part is beach nearby and its location but advise it only if ur a big group staying in near by rooms otherwise could be a big problem as its huge and walk from ur room to the restaurant etc can take a while .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaubhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattBali, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear vaubhav,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. This certainly does not represent the high standards Grand Hyatt Bali is known for. I would welcome an opportunity to discuss with you further and would be grateful if you could contact us at bali.grand@hyatt.com.

If we do have the opportunity, it would be a pleasure to personally welcome you back and we will spare no effort in ensuring that your stay is memorable as you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,
Amrit Gurung

Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Grand Hyatt Bali could be the ultimate relaxing retreat with just a few small changes.
Firstly the resort is stunning, the large lobby area & lobby bar looking down over the beautifully keptBalinese gardens & lazy pool with the sea on the horizon is a heavenly view. The staff are welcoming, friendly and eager to make your holiday here perfect. We always felt looked after. The east wing and pool were closed for refurb with no noise or disruption at all. A large lazy pool with water slides cleverly hidden in the gardens and rock meranda around the resort. Another two large pools in front of that one quite lively one very quiet. Although we stayed early June which is a very quiet out of season to go, so perfect if you want the pool and beach almost to yourself. The beach! It's huge, not only can you walk for miles but you can take up as much space as is humanly possible & still be nowhere near another person. Lots and lots of sun beds with comfy mattresses so seats are never lacking. Although the beach sunbeds & tables could do with being cleaned every now and then. Beautiful trees shade the edge of the beach, but of course trees lead to birds (very pretty birds!) that leave their mark! In fact what is lacking on the beach is staff. It would be absolutely perfect to have staff on the beach wiping the seats and pulling them out for you like they do in every resort in the Caribbean and Mauritius. The waiter service for drinks is also very limited with no waiter at all before 12. It is lazy to order dinks and food from your subbed but your on holiday and should be waited on! The nearest bar is the pool bar a 5mi ute walk from the beach. The drinks;beer and soft drinks are cheap, wine and cocktails not so much but seemed cheap to us after the prices we paid in Singapore!! You always expect to pay a premier in a hotel but not to be ripped off so at the grand Hyatt they are reasonably priced. The food; the restaurants are fantastic, the food is glorious every evening meal we had was a lovely dining experience. Down side; the breakfast buffets are not so good but to be fair they are catering for a multitude of nations. Japanese (their are a lot) Indians, Australians, Germans, Dutch,Russians, very few Brits. Snacks at lunch time served quickly and all that we had were lovely & just enough, not huge portions. The rooms; public corridors leading to rooms need to be cleaned more regularly, rooms are spotlessly clean. We had a grand room on the ground floor in the south wing facing the sea, the room was beautiful & big, veranda and view gorgeous. Down side; first 3days no one above us, and then the elephants moved in. Slamming doors, stomping around I complained to the reception staff and the noise above stopped. If you arrive and your put on the ground floor I suggest you ask to go higher if you can, we will next time.
Overall a fantastic destination and hotel for a truly relaxing break for couples (like us) or families, plenty for children to do and so spacious we hardly heard them. An adults only area would be a good idea in the height of season. If you want a resort with throbbing nightlife do not stay here the bars after 11pm are deserted but you can walk 10minutes into town. I would recommend this hotel and we'v already decided to come back to Bali, maybe not the same resort but that's only because we like to try new places, next time we'll stay at the four seasons. If they had a privilege club for returning guests then yes we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattBali, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Pippa00,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hyatt Bali as your resort destination on your recent visit to the island and for taking the time to share a detailed and endearing review. We endeavor to provide experiences that are truly superior, so to know you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at this “slice of heaven” brings joy to us. I am delighted that you always felt looked after by our welcoming and friendly associates.


I truly appreciate the candid feedback you have provided in a few areas that may have room for improvement. Your constructive comments regarding service staff on the beach, periodic cleaning of sunbeds & tables and frequency of beverage service before 12 noon are duly noted.

I look forward to your return visit and to sharing even more of the “authentic hospitality” at the Grand Hyatt Bali.


Sincerely,
Amrit Gurung

Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
0.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
4,297 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Bali

Address: Kawasan Wisata, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: £112 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 636
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a welcoming atmosphere where you can enjoy the island’s tropical splendor, Grand Hyatt Bali is a true reflection of a Balinese water palace, with 636 rooms featured in clusters of four villages, surrounded by waterfalls, landscaped gardens and lagoons set on 41-acre of lush tropical gardens. Naturally blessed with 650-metre stretch white sandy beach, the hotel has one of the most beautiful views of the Nusa Dua coastline. Enhance the holiday pleasure with our five swimming pools, as well as The Bay Club Fitness Centre and Kids Club. Moreover, Kriya Spa offers the discerning traveler an authentic Balinese healing experience with 24 luxurious spa villas for treatments and full day spa programs. Enjoy endless dining options with 5 restaurants and 3 bars, each offering a different experience and signature, spread across the hotel. Grand Hyatt Bali is within convenient distance from the airport, 12 km away or 15- minute drive by car; and 30 km away from the city centre of Denpasar or 30-minute drive by car. The hotel is strategically located close to Nusa Dua’s main destinations: BNDCC, a renowned convention centre is 5 minutes drive, Bali Collection shopping centre is just opposite our hotel, Bali National Golf is 5 minutes drive, and Waterblow is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua
Hyatt Nusa Dua
Bali Grand Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Hotel Bali
Nusa Dua Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing