We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the world”
Review of Amanusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanusa
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't call this a hotel . It's an experience . The defining quality of a 5 star property is the service. All the service here is second to none. You shouldn't be reading this review, just stay here if you are in Bali . I know there are other Amans but this one has accessibility to your private beach.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Jinnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Amanusa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our second Aman resort in less than 12 months and not disappointed! The thing that sets Aman resorts apart from the rest is stunning locations,fantastic accommodation and facilities and just amazing faultless service!
We stayed at Amanusa for one week to basically chill out and recharge the batteries, it was everything we had hoped for. The hotel was very quiet, we had the pool (enormous & well maintained) basically to ourselves for mots of our stay. The staff just cannot do enough for you, be it the pool attendant, bar tender or restaurant staff - not forgetting the housekeeping team! The food was delicious, 2 restaurants offering Italian & Indonesian / Thai.
Try the Tom Yaam cocktail, I became rather addicted !
The bedrooms are spacious, very well maintained and elegant including both indoor & outdoor showers although we never used the indoor one, seemed a shame too! The day bed on the terrace of the bedroom is a great place to relax at the end of the day before dinner.
Worth mentioning, the hotel has lots of steps so not suitable for disabled / wheelchair users not that this was an issue for us.
If you are looking for quality service, surroundings, accommodation with excellent food & drink you need not look any further - perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you feel the need to visit Bali but want to keep your distance from the swarms of visiting inebriates, racketing traffic and foul pollution, then this is the place for you.

What to say when you are awaiting your luggage at the airport arrival and a smiling figure appears from nowhere and suddenly, with a wave of a wand and blink of an eye, has picked upyour bags, wafted you through passport control, customs and into an air conditioned car?

That is the kind of service the Amanusa Resort provides effortlessly and endlessly.

The Resort is on a hillside overlooking the Indian Ocean. There is no real need to describe the buildings, the pool, the villas and suites. They are all viewable on the site and are exactly as shown – no detectable photoshop artistry has been used. All the locations are comfortable and beautifully decorated . The pool is magnificent. Just right for those who like a long length for their daily exercise.

The villa we stayed in (number 10) was exceptionally comfortable. Apart from the large room itself there was an outside day bed overlooking the golf course and, in addition to the indoor tub and shower, an outside shower. The unrelenting heat of Bali provoked us into constantly using this charming amenity. The bed was large and fully protected from any stray mosquitoes and the air conditioning worked with efficient silence.

It seemed that whenever we left the room an invisible hand would tidy it up, replace towels, re-make the bed. There was none of your once or twice daily service visits here. It was as though the room was on a constant watch - maybe it was.

There is a private beach with bar plus restaurant facility just a ten minute drive from the hotel. Free transport is provided on demand. The beach is clean and beautiful and, when we were there, practically deserted. A pleasant lunch and drinks were taken in the shade of the coconut matting “umbrellas”.

Breakfast is served in a delightful open dining area and, in typical Amanusa fashion, the question ”when is breakfast served?” receives the answer “whenever you want”. This not only applied to breakfast but pretty well anything else. My wife wanted to see the sunrise down at the beach so at about 05:00 we were cheerfully driven there. We watched the brilliant sunrise, had an early morning swim and came back to our villa duly invigorated.

And the staff? They are gracious, smiling and always anxious to help in any way they can; you will never see a grumpy face at the Amanusa. I cannot praise the staff highly enough and must congratulate them and their management on achieving such a height of discreet, attentive and charming service.

But, there is often a downside to all good things. Regrettably I have to say the Italian dinner we had on arrival, in an empty restaurant, left much to be desired both in terms of quality and time to be served. We dined out for the rest of our stay.

If it wasn’t so far away from where I write I would be in the Amanusa pool every weekend. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ifp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chanced upon Amanusa while researching for Bali wedding venues and it struck us as different from the usual Bali beach weddings. Our recce trip down to the actual site really sealed the deal for us. The place was grand looking with a stone wall that extends high up, perched on a hill top overlooking the golf course. The orange bougainvillas juxtaposed against the blueness of the swimming pool created a picturesque scene. This place is very exclusive, and you'll feel like you're in paradise away from everything.

Nisa and Pak was most helpful throughout our wedding preparation, arranging for food tasting, ensuring our guests were transported to the wedding area. Everything was professionally done, greatly reducing our stress of and overseas wedding. The level of service was excellent! We were amazed to find our villa's private pool filled with red rose petals the morning after the wedding. Everything was done to perfection. It's a place we definitely want to come back to.

Thank you Nisa and Pak for your warmth and kindness, and for the amazing memories you created on our wedding day!

Room Tip: Worth getting a Villa with a private pool
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I recently attended the Moss Wood Wine dinner which was a special event put on by the Amanusa at their Italian Restaurant. The wines were amazing and it was brilliant to be able to speak to the owners of the winery themselves Clare and Keith Mugford. The food pairing was excellent with the slow braised duck mushroom ragu being one of my favorites along with the Chocolate nemesis cake for desert. My congratulations to the Executive Chef Glen Bowman who delivered a brilliant meal both in terms of presentation and taste. The Amanusa is a beautiful hotel and it was an absolute delight to sit on the terrace and enjoy a few drinks before the dinner overlooking Nusa Dua with an amazing view and a full moon. It was also a pleasure to chat to Sean the General Manager who personally welcomed all the guests, made everyone feel at home and ensured we all had a fabulous night. Thank you Amanusa for a fantastic evening of ambience, food and drink delivered to perfection. We will be back! - Rhonda and Nyoman

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSMBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My first visit to Bali was definitely one of my favourite destinations whilst travelling around Indonesia. Amanusa was our first resort in Bali and we stayed for two nights before moving North.
We were quite tired when we arrived but soon perked up when we were shown to our suite - this time we'd been upgraded to a private pool suite. It was just what we needed to get some quality relaxation and sunbathing time in! We were very lucky to have the unique experience of visiting during Nyepi, so we had a whole day of relaxation inside the hotel resort. The food and drink was top notch and the hotel had put on some complimentary activities, including sunset cocktails on the terrace. As there was no traffic noises or lights as it began to get dark you could see every star in the sky - it was magical!

and

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeyb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The view from Amanusa is spectacular. it perches on top on the hill overlooking the ocean afar, surrounds itself by a golf course on it's premise. the pool is absolutely astounding.
The room is very well designed, everything is just perfect.
Of course, the well trained staff is what Aman is so amazing.
We had the amanusa massage, and it was great, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nusa Dua
0.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#6 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Shanti Residence
The Shanti Residence
#41 of 54 in Nusa Dua
17 reviews
6.0 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanusa

Address: Jl. Raya, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: £422 - £802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanusa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bali's southern peninsula, on a hillside overlooking the Indian Ocean and Nusa Dua, Amanusa (peaceful isle) is just 20 minutes from Denpasar Airport. A serene retreat offering privacy and escape, Amanusa is also close to Bali's shopping and nightlife areas of Kuta, Sanur, Legian and Seminyak. Guests can spend the day at the Amanusa Beach Club where nine private bales rest on the white sand beach, or play golf on one of Indonesia's finest courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amanusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanusa Nusa Dua
Amanusa Hotel Nusa Dua
Amanusa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing