We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has exceeded all our expectations... Incredible Aman...”
Review of Amanusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanusa
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
198 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“has exceeded all our expectations... Incredible Aman...”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

As usual in all the Amanresorts, there is something very special and great at Amanusa… Something simply irresistible which is « charm ».
First of all, we have to point on the amazing facility Amanresorts offers to all the guets arriving at Bali International Airport: the assistance of an agent who takes in charge all the immigration procédures and in Bali, with all these tourists, it’s a plus and you’ll save 1hr on your precious Holidays as well as a lot of stress due to the queue. Then, after the bagagge claim, a wonderful Aman agent with the legendary smile of this unique hotel group will escort you to the car and your dream will keep going during the whole short 25 minutes journey. The driver will offer you a refreshing Bintang or a soft drink which is a nice way to say « welcome to Bali »…
Right away the car will stop in front of the lobby where at least 4 persons full of kindness, smiles and professionnalism, your dream will really turn to be true. Aman is magic and only one of the hôtels of this prestigious group has the secret to know how to make the guest falling in love after the first second of the stay.
We were greeted at Amanusa by a family, by people who love their jobs and have for only objective the entire satisfaction of each guest. We have been escorted to our suite, a villa with an absolute exquisite decoration and a private pool overlooking Nusa Dua and the ocean. I really can’t imagine Amanusa is already an old resort cause the design and the comfort of the suite are excellent, unparalleled and so actual maybe because Aman choosed rightly a timeless design, just something elegant, refined and extremly gorgeous. After staying in the three Amans in Bali, i could say that Amanusa has the best suites, large and so intimate with a little patio full of flowers before to get into the room in itself. We have especially appreciated the sofa nestled in a bow window from where the view on the garden is just wonderful. Same excellence in the bathroom with a bathtub in a bow window as well which was ready for our arrival with smooth warm water and plenty of flowers on the top, an other Aman blessing. But if you prefer an energizing shower, you’ll have two options at Amanusa: Inside and outside. Amanusa is really synonymous of luxury life…
The very adorable lady who was showing us the suite opened the window on a large terrace with a bale and a few steps going to the pool where candles brighted around (we arrived late at night…), so charming.
During the time we were impressed by the beauty of this peaceful place, she took all the informations she needed and with a great discretion and a lot of courtesy, she wished us a marvellous evening. An other girl knocked at the door right after to offer a delicious drink full of Bali flaveurs and without to see an body, our lugagges were already delivered. We can’t expect a better check in…
About the food, you’ll have the choice between an Italian restaurant in front of the main pool or the Asian restaurant overlooking the ocean. We choosed this one for one of the finest and most delicious Thai dinner we had in our life. Everything was really yummy and no need to comment the service: Perfect.
You understand that Amanusa is truly the right place to realize a dream, the right place for touching the paradise from so close… Not to be missed…

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
90
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

You have it all in the title right there. My spouse and I just returned from a 10 night /11 day-stay at Amanusa and boy what an experience! First, let me preface by saying that we're used to five star palaces in exotic places (Mauritius, Seychelle Islands, etc.) but our experience at Amanusa topped it all. This is now our new benchmark for all future quality trips. From out first foot out of the plane (where someone was waiting for us to help us with the local customs formalities -- well, he actually went through the entire thing for us) until our flight back, the whole experience was flawless. Impeccable service, first-class and incredibly charming room, top-notch overall premises offering coziness and peace, for golf lovers (like my spouse and I) a ridiculously short access to the runner-up of the voted top 3 most beautiful golf courses in Asia, access to the hotel private portion of the beach, I could go on and on and on.

What more can I say? We had the time of a lifetime at Amanusa and I would recommend this hotel in my sleep to anyone looking for an exceptional stay in Bali.

P.S.-- I must add that although we were dazzled by the incredible overall performance of Amanusa, we were not so impressed by its sister Amandari located near the town of Ubud -- although in interest of fairness we just stayed there for an afternoon of cocktails at the bar. From what we briefly saw, the hotel looked "older" and lacked the charm of Amanusa. Therefore I'll let you refer to the comments posted from those who actually stayed in this hotel for more than an afternoon (but I felt I needed to put it out there).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel is one of my favourites ever, and I am writing this Tripadvisor report although my stay at the Amanusa dates several years back. We did the Aman Experience at all three Aman Hotels in Bali and this is the reason why we - as well as many others - have become Aman Junkies. Atmosphere, Authenticity, Architecture and Amenities were at the highest level. Service second to none. A must do for any hotel "collector". However: with places like Aman Delhi, Amanjena or the Amans in Sri Lanka, maybe this hotel group is overstretching its proposition and has lost the plot.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Wow. We loved it and this was our honeymoon which involved our 18 month old daughter so expectations were high and there were lots of boxes to tick. As a couple we were looking for somewhere luxurious and romantic but in order to be relaxing our daughter's needs had to be catered for. I was quite prepared, based on my experience at other luxury hotels, to receive a sympathetic look when I requested a highchair and children's menu. Not so with the staff at Amanusa who even provided a basket of toys for our baby to play with at the beach.

We stayed 9 nights in one of the fabulous garden villas with a view of the ocean. The villas are beautifully furnished and well equipped. We ate many times in the Terrace restaurant (Indonesian & Thai) and the Italian restaurant. We were so taken by the food in both that we booked a cookery lesson with the chef. I doubt we will ever be able to replicate the taste but the lesson was great fun and we came away with knowing how to prepare several Indonesian dishes.

Aman resorts have a reputation for service but everyone from the pool staff, waiters, housekeeping, babysitters, attendants at the beach-club and drivers to the management - in particular Tessa Gorman (who was on loan from Amanpuri) - were simply superb.

All in all a truly memorable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickaelalfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Why go to Amanusa?
- You like to play golf, as there's a golf course
- You don't have too many days in Bali so you don't want to burn the time to head over to magical Ubud (which can be 2+ hours if there is traffic; and it's a 'jungle play', not a 'beach play') or beautiful Amankila is also too far away (still a 1.45 hour car ride, even with its new roads, I hear) or that you don't have a big enough group to share a amazing (and relatively cheap) villa in Seminyak as ultimately, the Oberoi and Legian are a bit old
- You are a fan of the Aman experience

That's why we decided to go to Amanusa again, despite Amankila being a much nicer property. Bvlgari is still a bit farther out (hence, even a bigger hassle to get to Ku De Ta in Seminyak, where we always go when we are in Bali) and even worse value for money (those villas are just too cramped).

However, you get the feeling that the Aman owners are just not investing in their properties – not in the physical assets, not in training their people. I wonder whether it's too hard to make money and reinvest on such a low density, 'quiet' approach … and in such a wonderful island that gets hampered with bombs scares every several years. I hate to fault the immediate management as the avuncular GM is the nicest guy, he really is ... but perhaps he can run a tighter ship.

What's wrong? The Aman approach is all about personalized service, subtly knowing what guests are doing at all times … but they just can’t truly execute on this. Every day, something goes wrong. We must have had around 6 meals at the hotel ... they got our orders wrong for 5 out of these 6 meals. Meal service was incredibly slow. Errors with spa bookings and travel plans were a nuisance. Their villas are just getting a bit old and you can see that they are unwilling to put money in the property (e.g. their 'gym' -- and they didn't have a gym several years back so this is already an improvement -- is just an empty villa with some treadmills/dumbbells thrown in … one of my visits, it was a mess, with towels all over the place (I actually helped clean the place up) ... not very impressive.) And their infamous frog problems ... and many people know about this ... the lower villas have loud frog noises at night, just in case you are a light sleeper.

We do love the serenity (with its relatively few villas), the floral breeze (nice setting, higher on a hill) of Aman. For instance, we went nearby to tour the new St Regis ... their lagoon suites are much more expensive than Amanusa's villas, equipped with plasma's and other great amenities. But it's just a different experience ... very 'commercial' ... more 'bustling' as they have many more guests in lower-priced hotel-like rooms ... and with very ‘themey,’ with a Disneyland-like look & feel. Some people would definitely prefer St Regis … it’s all about personal taste. For us, we just hope that Aman is able to 'keep up' their approach but with the variable service quality that we find, you just can't be running back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We spent the last leg of our Bali honeymoon at Amanusa. Coming from the sightseeing and culture of Amandari in Ubud, we were ready to relax by the ocean. Amanusa did just the trick. The hotel is breathtaking, especially the pool which is as big as it is beautiful. The villas and facilities are immaculate and luxuriously modern and tasteful. The staff is warm and welcoming - you're treated like family. We too did Chef Lindsay's romantic BBQ on the beach one night and it was quite the memorable experience. As other reviewers have mentioned, Amanusa is not directly on the beach but any time you wish, the drivers are ready to take you in style to the beach in a vintage jeep (seriously, if you have to wait more than a minute for the car to pull around, the staff apologizes profusely). This hotel is more Westernized and traditional than Amandari and therefore it was a bit more familiar to us but also probably less special ultimately. Together the two Amans made for a perfect honeymoon.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank missleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

This resort is the most elegant and polished among the 3 aman resorts in Bali. The pool villa suite is beautiful and looks new and contemporary. The resort resembles a chinese fortress and has uncanny similarity to Datai resort in Langkawi.

The whole resort feels elegant and exclusive and service is excellent all round. The beach is 5 mins away on the golf cart. It is absoultely stunning especially when the sky is blue. Its wide and quiet beach almost looks "Maldives". Special mention must be made to the resort's attendent who treats us like royalties giving us towels and ice water when he saw us approaching the resort's resting pavillion.

Having visited the new St Regis next door, I would still think Amanusa is a better resort for relaxation and privacy even though St Regis' pool suite is splendid.

I enjoyed using the resort's free bike to cycle around the Nusa Dua resort complex.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nusa Dua
0.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Amarterra Villas Bali Nusa Dua - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Shanti Residence
The Shanti Residence
#41 of 54 in Nusa Dua
15 reviews
22.5 mi away
Amandari
Amandari
#4 of 5 in Kedewatan
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanusa

Property: Amanusa
Address: Jl. Raya, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#18 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanusa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bali's southern peninsula, on a hillside overlooking the Indian Ocean and Nusa Dua, Amanusa (peaceful isle) is just 20 minutes from Denpasar Airport. A serene retreat offering privacy and escape, Amanusa is also close to Bali's shopping and nightlife areas of Kuta, Sanur, Legian and Seminyak. Guests can spend the day at the Amanusa Beach Club where nine private bales rest on the white sand beach, or play golf on one of Indonesia's finest courses nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amanusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanusa Nusa Dua
Amanusa Hotel Nusa Dua
Amanusa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing