We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Sweet And Romantic place to stay”
Review of Mulia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mulia Resort
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury, Sweet And Romantic place to stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There's nothing more to expect from a Luxury Hotel such as Mulia Resort. We stay at Mulia, as a honeymoon couple, they greet us perfectly. They also give us free Champagne as a compliment for honeymooners. The room is quite spacious, the bathroom is great, not to surprising since this is a 5 star hotel. They have a huge pool, great ambience, lot's of unique structure. The location is in the middle of nowhere, in nusadua complex. For some people maybe it's a cons, but for us it's the best location to spend our night. It's a great time to spend with Mulia Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prima Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuliaResort, Manager at Mulia Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Prima Y,

Thank you for choosing Mulia Resort - Nusa Dua, Bali for your special honeymoon occasion, as well as taking time for your thoughtful review.

It is our goal to provide exceptional services to our guests, therefore your recognition of our service standard serves as a great encouragement to all of us. We do hope that your great vacation will lead you back to us in the near future where once again you will enjoy our warm hospitality.

With best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    314
    149
    53
    61
See reviews for
592
607
34
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I found that the new Mulia Resort was fantastic with only a few minor issues that did not impact on our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Daily breakfast, not a wide variety of food on offer compared to the Sheraton or the Intercontinental. The bacon is too crispy and not a large variety of breads or food for westerners. If your on a budget and dined all day at the hotel, between their charges and taxes you need at least AUD $150.00 and this is only for a couple, no kids and does not include breakfast. If you like shopping and want to go into Kuta, taxis will cost you around IDR150,000 each trip plus the toll IDR10,000. Never got to have our welcome drink as you have to get it at the nightclub, so were very thirsty by the time we got to our room. It was an experience but we are not likely to go back there.

Room Tip: The rooms are bigger than most other hotels and all would be great, just have to decide what view yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We are regulars at all your restaurants. We love the cafe, edogin and now table 8 (both in Jakarta and Bali). Most of the FB staff and management know us by name. We come at least twice a month for brunch or Sunday dinners. Tonight was a very strange arrival for us. The valet was not friendly despite it being quiet. As soon as my wife got down from the car, she was informed that valet parking had a 50 k charge. We valet park our car all the time and we always pay and are aware of that which is clearly printed on the valet card. Most times we don't have change and are happy to give 100k. To make things worst,when we came to collect the car, they asked for payment before giving us the car. And it took longer than usual. After asking 3 times we were informed by the head porter that there was a queue at the car park or something like that.

Not good and not expecting anything. Please review your policy. Money is not the issue. The way it is solicited is wrong and not becoming of a 6 star establishment as yours. Service has always been top on your list in the past.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dnalor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked an ocean pool room for a long weekend which was very nice but there were some problems and I wouldn't recommend this hotel over the others in Nusa Dua.



For a conference or work event it would be a definite no no .. because of the Internet issues

Pros

1. Food is great.. All the same restaurants as in the Mulia Senan in Jakarta.

2. Staff are very welcoming.

3. Grounds and pools are beautiful.

Cons

1. For a room rate of over 400$ per night I would expect free internet.

2. I paid 20$ per day for internet. What I did not expect was for it not to work in the grounds, by the pool and be limited to 2 devices. There is supposed to be free internet by the pool / in the restaurants but during 3 days of lying around the pool I could locate the pool network for about 10 minutes in total and it was super slow. (I was waiting for confirmation of flights and it was so frustrating not to be able to check by the pool, but having to walk 10 minutes back to the room).

3. Atmosphere in the restaurants. Though nicely decorated the restaurants are so bright at night. More like a meeting room .. Turn down the lights and add some lamps please.

4. Information in the rooms. There is a distinct lack of .. Just a very minimal pack.. How about a newsletter or an information pack about things to do, the different food options (including prices for buffets), transport, spa menu etc.

5. Placement of towels in the room. They are at the opposite side to the shower and bath so unless you remember to put the towels just outside the shower door then it's a treacherous walk across a marble floor to collect your towel.

6. The 3 days we stayed there was excavators working on the beach. It was really quite noisy on the Sunday

7. It would be nice if there was a library where you could borrow books.

8. Beware of the sliding doors to the bathroom. They are fast .. I trapped my finger, it was very painful and very badly bruised.

9. They sell sharksfin in the restaurant... shame on them.

I would recommend staying in Seminyak or Legian instead .. Still upmarket but more to do. If you want to stay in Nusa Dua the Hyatt is very nice, as are many of the other hotels. The Mulia needs someone with attention to detail to look at all the issues, and solve them to make it a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scubabunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

With this spectacular view of the sea and the beautiful bay, Mulia has the best location. Very friendly staff. I'd like to send my best regards to Rai at Mulia Kidz, who helped my daughter with several braids, which really made a perfect ending for our stay in Bali. And also the room cleansing staff, who were just diligent and did a perfect job. It took sometime for checking-in, though I'll appreciate if the front desk staff could inform us about Mulia Kidz in the first time so we(especially the kid) won't have been bored for nothing to do. We stayed for two nights in the Mulia Resort in two connected rooms. We liked the facilities. Oh btw there's this very nice restaurant just near the resort, nusa dua beach grill, with many choices of drinks, could be an option from the fancy restaurants in the hotel. All those together, are the reasons me and my family go back to Mulia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L j Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The resort is beautiful (but huge), has lovely staff and all the facilities you could wish for but it lacks in a few important places.

We stayed here as our friends were getting married near the hotel and most of the guests were staying here. Check in seemed to take a long time (10.20pm) and half way through check in we were told that they had "run out" of king sized beds but they had given us a Hollywood Twin instead. No idea what this was. He also mentioned the special rate they had given us and when I checked what this rate was, it was over USD$150 per night more than I had booked it at. After telling them no this was incorrect and him not being able to find the rate that I had booked it at, I was asked to show proof. I said I had to do that the next morning when my office re-opened and I could get someone to access my work email.

Got to the room at 11pm to find two single beds. Called down and saidnot acceptable and they needed to sort that out by the next day. (out of 8 couple who stayed here - no one got a king sized bed)

Got a message in the morning to say that we could move room at 3pm. Still had to go through the hassle of "proving" the initial rate but finally got it sorted after nearly an hour at reception.

Also the wedding couple had left a welcome pack at the reception for the wedding guests. We had to ask four times to get the welcome pack and each time they denied having anything. Finally the grooms mother came with us and they finally handed it over. It was quite a large bag containing gifts for the guests and we got the impression that the staff did not want to hand them over for some reason.

These three issues left a slightly sour note which is why I only gave 3 stars.

The positives are that the room was large and very well appointed, with a lovely bathroom (but seriously what is it with hotels and full plate windows into the bathroom????). Plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from and helpful and friendly staff. The pool and beach area was also nicely looked after and very inviting - although it is quite windy in this area and when the wind is up, they will not allow the umbrellas to be put up - so no shade whatsoever except at the bar.

Room Tip: Stay away from any of the rooms near the lifts - it can get pretty loud at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Front desk at checkin is slow, tedious, and gave us a room in the dark dungeon at first. They did move us to 2 Queen size beds (instead of a King) in a bright room. The staff in the entire hotel was excellent. Kudos to Mr. I. Eko in the breakfast room who was very attentive, made dinner reservations for us, greated us every morning by name; he looked at all the tables to be sure everyone was being attended to by other staff or else he took care of their problems--truly an exceptional employee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Willard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,687 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulia Resort

Property: Mulia Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan | Kawasan Sawangan, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#14 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mulia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the majestic coastline of Nusa Dua, The Mulia, Mulia Resort & Villas evoke a relaxed yet polished sensibility. Cutting edge design throughout, the resort comprises three signature experiences; The Mulia is a boutique all-suite resort with 111 suites. Mulia Resort has 526 accommodations including lagoon pool rooms and suites and Mulia Villas is nestled on the hills of Nusa Dua with private pools and tropical gardens enjoying views of the Indian Ocean, offering total privacy and relaxation. Mulia Resort – Nusa Dua, Bali is sprawled along Nusa Dua’s most stunning coastline. Inside, creative use of crystal, beautiful blue Azul Bahia and furnishings are stunning and compliment the tranquil ponds and pools outside that weave effortlessly around the gardens. A favourite for couples, families or small groups, the resort offers unrivalled facilities and there is a selection of dining venues to choose including Table8, Edogin, Soleil, The Cafe, Mulia Deli, The Bar and ZJ’s Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mulia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulia Resort Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing