We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VOUK Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Samabe Bali Suites & Villas(Nusa Dua)
US$506
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$382
US$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayodya Resort Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ulu Segara Luxury Suites & Villas(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
US$253
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mulia(Nusa Dua)
US$437
US$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
125
108
39
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
108
39
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrasa restaurantbali collectionchakra spafree shuttlevisited this hotelquiet locationfacing the seathe general managerswimming pool isdeluxe roombreakfast was includedaverage hotelbig roomstayed here for nightsrain showershuttle servicebeautiful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having visited Bali only once previously 15 years ago we wanted to escape the hussle bustle of Kuta but still be within range of a host of facilities, the hotels shuttle buses catered for those needs, we went in the rainy season so it came in handy to get shuttles to either Kuta or the bali Collection in Nusa Dua, they also provided transport outside of the normal schedules for trips to the local Nusa Grill which had excellent views and ambience as well as good prices and good food. The hotel had a shuttle to the local Geger beach which also had great amenities, the staff were exceedingly helpful and all went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible Gary the general manager was very intent on making all his guest feel welcome and encouraged interaction with the staff and all the facilities at our finger tips. thoroughly enjoyable and the food was amazing, the bar staff, Koma and Wayan were good company and great fun which made for some interesting evenings, all the staff were extremely helpful and a special mention to Deedee who made sure that if there was something not quite right it was quickly organised for us. THOROUGHLY recomended and hope to return sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: a room with a view over the ocean is a must !!! the rooms are all similar sizes but we stayed in a deluxe and it was amazing. the location is a not walking distance to the main town but there are shops up and down the hill, shuttles are the main way to get around.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirleyscov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

As first time travellers to Bali the Mantra was a great choice for a relaxing holiday. Unfortunately for my wife and I my mother slipped and fell at her hotel (Kuta) breaking her femur. So we had to travel into Kuta daily to visit her in hospital (Not what we had planned).

Upgraded on first night to room 301 - 2 balconies lots of space and a great view of the volcano and ocean. Definitely worth the money.

Very friendly staff made our stay enjoyable.

Special thanks to Wayan at the front bar who visited my mother in hospital (on his day off). Wayan was a delight our whole stay.

We miss you already Wayan - now have to make our own cocktails !!!!

See you all soon when we visit (without family) ha ha

General Manager is a top guy - keep up the good work Gary

Room Tip: Great views from room 301 - upgrade if you can
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraNusaDuaBali, General Manager at VOUK Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear David M,
We are so happy that your time with us here at the Mantra Nusa Dua was enjoyable and relaxing in spite of your mother’s unfortunate accident at her Kuta hotel.
All the team here wish you mother a speedy recovery and look forward to her staying with us on your next holiday in Bali.
Wayan our head barman is indeed a gem and a gentleman and is planning to start a cocktail making class for our guests so next time around he will let you into all of his cocktail recipe secrets.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Nusa Dua soon

Our best wishes
Gary Rosen General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed back in September - Tidy modern hotel , good pool area & good food . Depending what you are after the area is very quiet and secluded there is a free shuttle to the Bali Collection shopping and restaurants .My only pick would bet he complex looks years old not the few short months is been open . The standard of building finish is poor - don't know if this is just the Bali way

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOLL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraNusaDuaBali, General Manager at VOUK Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Loll73,

Thank you for your positive comments. We indeed pride ourselves on the design of the hotel concept and service ethic. We are quite secluded true but to compensate for this we have arranged extra complimentary shuttles to our two private beach areas as well as regular shuttles to the shopping areas of Kuta etc. Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Nusa Dua.

Regards
Gary Rosen General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Having been to Bali 12 times now we have never stayed at Nusa Dua before. We read lots of reviews on different hotels & chose "The Mantra". What an excellent choice ! The hotel is situated on top of a longish road ( opposite the Mulia- which is the largest Hotel in Bali & it's prices reflect that). However The Mantra to us was far superior with views to die for from our room.
We originally booked a superior room but decided to upgrade on arrival to a Panoramic room - talk about home from home - large,well appointed & beautifully comfortable. The hotel is within easy distance to anywhere by taxi which is inexpensive. In addition there are regular shuttle buses free of charge to the local shopping complex + hotel bus to the beach ( only 5 mins. away).
The Hotel staff were amazing - every person had a friendly smile & attitude - language was not a difficulty - the command of the English language with all was excellent & some spoke other languages as well such as Russian as they often have guests visiting from Russia. We also were taught some Balinese language from our now great friends there & would have a great laugh at breakfast practicing with them all.
We are very much looking forward to staying there again & a great big "Thank You" has to be sent to Gary (General Manager), Didik(Manager hotel relations), Leong& all restaurant staff,+ all other members of the team. Your commitment made our stay so special - we were sorry to leave but to quote Arnold Schwartzeneger "We'll be back"

Room Tip: If you want a great view - book a panoramic suite. All rooms are good though
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jagcat308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraNusaDuaBali, General Manager at VOUK Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear jagcat308,

Thank you and “Wow”! Our biggest assets here are indeed our wonderful team members and it is so pleasing to know that our guests feel the Balinese warmth and love that they genuinely give to our guests.
We endeavor to exceed all of our guests expectations and it is heartwarming to know that we have succeeded in this undertaking for you.
Really looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Nusa Dua in the near future.
Wishing you a very Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year

Regards
Gary Rosen General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Mantra, 9 months old , yet still very quiet and still looks new. Staff very friendly, BUT as the saying goes, " pay peanuts, you'll get monkeys", this place needs managing, whilst its nice to receive a welcome smile, etc, it wears a bit thin, when no-one understands English, meaning they cannot cope with a simple request. The " Concierge" for instance, a young girl, was on facebook, when I asked her for a restaurant recommendation, she didn't no of any, apart from the Mantra's, which was good, but an expensive and lonely place to dine in more than once.
Also the " Private Beach" is in fact open to all and The Mantra guests can only use 8 parasols and 16 sun loungers, whilst the non residents can set down anywhere, this becomes annoying when there are empty sun loungers facing the sea, but you have to sit 1 or 2 rows back from the sea all cramped in together, not condusive to a peaceful relaxtion, this needs to be rectified, as the beach is lovely, The Mulia and St Regis beachfronts are private and well maintained, but not where Mantra guests have to stay.
The rooms at The Mantra are not cleaned to a very good standard either, again I think this is down to the cleaning staff, who all seemed to be young males, probably not the best choice,
So overall, a very good hotel, poorly managed with nice friendly staff, ( who say YES to everything ).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraNusaDuaBali, General Manager at VOUK Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear CWA52,

Thank you for your comments, while positive in part we are indeed disappointed that we did not live up to all your expectations. In regard to your difficulty in communicating in English we are quite surprised as in general the level of spoken English in our hotel and in Bali in general is quite high and most of our staff are either University or Hotel school graduates. I am not sure which Concierge you are referring to as we do not have a dedicated concierge desk but it could have been one of our junior trainee staff. In any case we take this comment seriously and have now instigated a concise list of recommended restaurants both in the Nusa Dua area and further afield.
Our private beach is a dedicate area for Mantra guests within a public beach area. We do not have control over the beach front as all beach fronts in Bali are public spaces by law and do not belong to any single entity. We have also since added another private beach area in another location which is more secluded and up market.
Regarding the cleaning of the room. We view your comments seriously and have taken steps to ensure that all room cleaning is up to our exact standards.
In closing I would like to emphasize that in most guests eyes the greatest asset that we have here in Bali are the wonderful, friendly and ever helpful Balinese people and this transcends gender and social status. All team members receive very decent salaries as well as service charge which 100% for the staff.
I very much hope that we will be able to welcome you back one day to Mantra Nusa Dua and once again thank you for your comments

Regards
Gary Rosen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews