We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Ellie's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellie's
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

After deciding to spend our honeymoon in Bali, we went about researching possible hotels that would help us celebrate such a special occasion. Upon discovering this little boutique hotel and reading all the posted reviews, it sounded too good to be true - central location, quiet, intimate, inexpensive, great rooms, fantastic breakfasts, and a wonderful staff. Ah yes, the staff, where every review we read sang the praises of David, Caroline, Made and the rest of those working at Ellie's. And yet despite sounding too good to be true, it surpassed all of our expectations.
From the moment we arrived at Ellie's, it was like being welcomed home and treated as part of their family. Amazing hospitality, with no request, big or small, being too much to ask. From tour and shopping advice, to arranging drivers for day trips, personally delivering take-out orders to our room, sending out laundry, having DVDs available for that quiet night in, recommending the best (and cheapest!) massages, or just passing time chatting away at the front desk.
It really was a perfect honeymoon, and a big part of it was due to the personalized experience created by David, Caroline, Made, Koman, and of course the ladies who made us those fabulous breakfasts every morning. A big thank you to all of them for making our honeymoon so memorable. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    92
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
190
42
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed at Ellie's for 3 nights after spending a week in Tuban with our 2 young children (18 months and 3) We just loved it - picked up from our hotel and greeted by David and Caroline and instantly felt at home. They really look after you and it was a lovely place to just hang out and swim.

The rooms are great - very clean and modern, and the pool area is just big enough to enjoy. The best part of the hotel for us was the fact that you could order in dinner/lunch from a range of surrounding restaurants and the staff would plate it up and serve it to you! Great if you have kids and are staying in the lower poolside rooms - no babysitters required and we could pretend we were out for dinner!

Breakfast was spectacular - the pancakes were spot on. But really the thing that makes Ellie's is the staff. On our last day we asked David if he knew anywhere we could get some medication for the dreaded 'bali belly' we had just aquired and within 5 minutes he had nipped out to the local clinic and grabbed us just what we needed. Not many hotels I know of where you get that kind of service these days!!

So all in all - definitely worth a visit to Ellie's - if only to listen to Caroline's gorgeous Scottish accent!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaccadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

What can I say, myself and partner stayed at Ellies during Late August for 2 weeks from the UK. Having stayed at big chain resorts and only package holidays this was a different holiday for us as we were going it alone this time without tour reps etc.... and what a difference it made. On arrival we were picked up by One of ellies taxi drivers, given cold drinks which was a nice touch. We were at the hotel within 15 mins, greeted by David and in our rooms. The rooms were great, very very clean, nice little mini bar with beer and soft drinks, TV/DVD player, everything you want at amazing rates!
In all honesty the breakfast and rooms, both sensational were nothing in comparison to how amazing the staff were and in particular David. His knowledge of Bali and helping you enjoy your holiday doing things you want to do were invaluable. We had a truly amazing time, and wouldnt stay anywhere else in Bali. If I was to write everything that was done by David and the guys at the hotel I'd be here all night typing, nothing was too much trouble for them. It is only a shame we couldnt for more stuff in to do!

In a Nutshell, you really must stay here when you go to Bali

David and all the guys at Ellies thank you so much for such a great holiday you really made it for us. kevin & Kim

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krp2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Ellie's was the first of 2 hotels we stayed at for our week-long Bali holiday. We arrived around 8pm and had requested for someone to pick us up at the airport. Gus was there to meet us and the best thing was he gave us bottles of ice cold water...really nice touch.

When we got to Ellie's, Komang checked us in and brought us to our room. The room was lovely...with a view of the sea, nice balcony and so quiet. We couldn't resist just chilling there and having a Bintang from the fridge.

Ellie's restaurant only provides breakfast. However, dinner can easily be ordered in from a few of their recommended restaurants. We tried Pepenero's the first night and then an Indonesian place the next...food was good and reasonably priced.

The breakfast at Ellie's was a real treat. You simply must have the pancakes...they are to die for! My boyfriend had them every morning of the 4 days that we were there. It's really that good. The ladies at the kitchen were lovely...always smiling, so polite and warm.

We met David the next morning and he, along with Made, were a great help in guiding us to the best beaches (Geger Beach was fabulous) and also some of the local tourist spots (Uluwatu, Mt. Batur). One of the best tips David gave us was to have some cocktails at the Bvlgari Resort, which is about 30 mins drive from the hotel, followed by a dinner at Pepenero's. It was perfection....I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to add a touch of luxury to their Balinese experience.

Overall, the experience at Ellie's was incredible. From cozy, clean rooms to attentive service and a really friendly feel, Ellie's has it all. When you're there, you get the feeling that it's not a hotel you're at but like you're staying with close friends. You have your privacy but at the same time a lovely conversation is always on hand.

We loved Ellie's so much that we were already missing it on the way to our 2nd hotel in Legian area. We will definitely return and stay longer if we can.

Thanks to David, Made, Komang and the lovely ladies of Ellie's who made our stay an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akinotaiyo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2009

An oasis amid the hustle and bustle of Nusa Dua. The staff are brilliant and very helpful with their recommendations. Nothing is too much trouble, Wonderful fresh and healthy breakfast. My son who was due to be picked up at 7am for his diving trip had his breakfast at 6.30am-a member of staff came in especially early to do it.The drivers the hotel uses go that extra mile and their local knowledge to make your excursions memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoSoNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

If you're looking for somewhere to recharge after a long flight or weeks of travelling then Ellie's is the place for you. The chiiled out atmosphere, lovely pool, clean rooms with AC and fridge, fantastic inclusive breakfast, informative guide to what to do in Bali and insider knowledge from David and Caroline make this a true gem. You're made to feel so welcome and airport transfers, taxis and restaurant recommendations are seamlessly organised. Meals can even be ordered from local takeaways and are plated up for you whilst you sup on a cool beer in the pool. We also found that every other guest staying at the hotel was great company. Perhaps we were lucky but maybe this is the kind of clientele that Ellie's attracts. Thanks Dave, you made our stay in Bali great. Gary and Laura.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurrGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Ellies Place is a little off the beaten track, you will not stumble accross it by accident on your travels!!!! As can be seen from the previous reviews, it is a little oasis! The photos show it better than I can describe, it is really nice! There are comfy, quiet seating areas all over, a nice pool, great breakfast in the lovely dining area (only serves breakfast). The rooms are very nice, but do get a frontal view room as the rear view is best left alone! This is not the hotels fault though!!! If you go for the top floor, then you have a great view over the bay. The rates are very good, approx $50 US a night for the ocean view room, including breakfast.
David is the English manager, he cannot do enough to help! He even rivals the Balinese as he is so friendly!!! He has great advice on where to eat, which beaches to go to and where else to visit in Bali. This advice is also shown in each room in the information pack, do try the Italian 'Peri Ninos' (or something sounding similar! Really great food). There are even menus for restaurants that do free deliveries and you are welcome to eat in the dining area or your room and David will provide the plates and cutlery etc.
There is also a DVD player in each room and the hotel has a massive collection of DVD's that you are welcome to borrow.
The hotel is a little out of the way and you will probably need to get a taxi most places, the beach is only £2 away though!! There are plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance if you are happy to brave the Balinese crazy pavement! I would recommend this hotel for a quiet relaxing time, especially great for the first few days to get over any long travelling, there are only a small number of rooms, less than 10 I think, so you will not have to put up with 100's of other people. Have a look at the photos of the top floor with a great view, great breeze and comfy rattan furniture for reading. Thanks again David.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMH2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Hotel
Mahogany Hotel
#13 of 54 in Nusa Dua
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
Ion Bali Benoa Hotel
#34 of 54 in Nusa Dua
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
POP! Hotel Nusa Dua
#36 of 54 in Nusa Dua
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lerina Hotel Nusa Dua Bali
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Siligita Nusa Dua
2.3 mi away
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
#24 of 54 in Nusa Dua
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellie's

Property: Ellie's
Address: Jl.Taman Lawangan | Banjar Mumbul, Ngurah Rai Bypass, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nusa Dua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellie's 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellie`s Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellies Nusa Dua
Ellies Hotel Nusa Dua
Ellie's Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing