We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a great Club Med for everyone”
Review of Club Med Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bali
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay there. It was our first Club Med experience, and we weren't disappointed.

The variety of food, service, and rooms were fantastic, and even without any activities to participate in, the stay would have been great.

We tried our hand at archery, windsurfing and snorkeling. There were a good number of other activities but we were especially enamoured by the windsurfing experience. Our instructor, Arsa, patiently taught us from scratch, and we were up and about on our windsurf boards in less than an hour! Of course, it helped that the conditions were perfect for beginners: consistent, gentle wind (pros would be dreadfully bored!) and a thigh-depth underwater plateau which made capsizing a non-issue, and the mandatory life jackets quite redundant. Each time we capsized, we found ourselves standing or sitting on a bed of sea grass, half our bodies above water, ready to get up and go again!

Snorkeling was fantastic. We were taken to a portion of reef about 1-1.5m deep and allowed to explore. The coral was beautiful and visibility about 20m. Good experience, considering we scuba dive. We even managed to spot a banded sea snake up close (very venomous but also very gentle creature)

The only shortfalls are: lack of options for scuba diving, the beach was surprisingly mediocre, and the resort sort of 'blended' with its neighbours along the same stretch of beach.

If you want an awesome beach to park yourself on, skip this place. Otherwise, there's little reason not to visit if a Club Med vacation is your kind of thing!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,642 - 1,648 of 4,133 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed for 5 nites with two kids under 5 and wife after a 4 night stay in cultural Ubud. This is recommended in that staying in the artificial resort complex of Nusa Dua you could be easily have missed the fact that you are in Bali - such is life in an all-inclusive resort a la "Couples Retreat".

Top ten Memorable points:

1.MEALS: You'll tire of the buffet 3x a day eventually so venture out to Jimbaran for dinner at least once but be prepared to smell like your food on return! One meal can feature 10 different dishes each with pumpkin then the same with pineapple the next - repetitive but cleverly done mostly and head chef to be congratulated, the French one who looks like Daddy Warbucks. Also, be sure to book a la carte restaurant EARLY as it isn't open every nite and is booked out within the first hour. Lastly staff should really make sure cheeses, smoothies and cold meats are properly refrigerated in both restaurants as we are sure we got Bali Belly / the runs from them!
2. ROOMS: Ants in our room - room service were prompt in sending down pest control but ants still there on departure
3. KIDS CLUBS: We think the GOs job is to get kids to like staying at kids club and they achieved mixed results such that we didn't get to maximise our time there hence make full use of our dollar spent on kids club. If our kid doesn't want kids club on day 2 we expect the staff to fix this otherwise we could have gone to a resort with no kids club. We feel that Ludy in Petit Club was attentive to our other child as was Yulia in Mini for our other. Allyn was an excellent supervisor for the kids club generally.
4. PROFESSIONALISM: Clearly Tripadvisor comments are critical to GO pay rises - on the last day we had numerous requests by kids club GOs to rate them as no less than excellent and ensure their names were mentioned! Also funny to see the GOs suddenly look busy and even more organised than they already were when the Chef de Village returned for a morning round with his deputy (the French speaking one who was tireless in compering shows every nite and is to be commended).
5.FRIENDLINESS: Irul at water sports was patient and friendly although the Korean body-building lifeguard GO on Monday 17th was grumpy and muttered loudly about telling us over and over again not to bring the windsurf boards too close to shore - despite never actually having met us before! If the goal is client happiness then that GO should be taught to pay more attention to his manners and less to his biceps. In contrast Melissa at archery was super friendly - maybe they need a chat!
6. KITCHEN GEs: Kitchen GEs deserve special mention for how efficiently they clear tables and plates - no one seems to single them out on this forum, sadly. GO Jean Luc from the bar was most instructive on spilling the beans on working conditions and life as a GO which we found fascinating. Lastly GO Terious made an effort every meal to say hello to us but never a spare seat unfortunately!
7. TOWELS: Towel -ticket reimbursement system at poolside should be scrapped; GE kept insisting we surrender our towel ticket for a towel but who is seriously going to remember to bring that from their room?
8. CHECKOUT: Ability to take showers after checkout while awaiting nighttime flights back home are an excellent feature and should be better advertised ... Saved us $80USD in late checkout fees for wanting a shower before flying out. Also great to grab meals after checkout as staff don't seem fussed.
9. TAXIS: Tip for taxis: go to security gate by the retracting bollards beyond the ClubMed counter to get cheaper taxis - the taxi driver we used told us Club Med takes 50% of the booking fee if you book at front desk.
10. BOOKINGS: Having to present in person for bookings an hour in advance probably works well for Club Med but is a hassle when you are in holidays and already having to transport kids to two Petit and Mini Clubs hundreds of metres away from one another by foot. Phone bookings would be infinitely more convenient as there is a lot of ground to cover by foot at this resort.

Overall the GOs seem endlessly talented but work hard with rehearsals for shows after midnight. We paid 50% off for our family through an Internet deal but would never wanted to come here at the full tariff. For that full price we'd expect business class flights and 5 Trident rooms. Faster WiFi would also have been better, too.
Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chilton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
club c, Manager at Club Med Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for putting your comments in writing. Indeed, Club Med uses your reviews to evaluate and improve our products constantly. We hope we will have opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you in one of our resorts in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The facilities at Club Med Nusa Dua are fantastic, the buffet food was excellent with loads of seafood, the rooms are a little disappointing and don’t really fit in with the rest of the quality of the resort. The beach in front of the hotel is quiet and good for any watersports . If you like a planned vacation with a structured “what to do everyday with the GOs” holiday or relaxing on a sun lounger sipping cocktails then Club Med is your answer. If you prefer to explore the sights and sounds of a country off the beaten track and away from the tourist hordes like I do then maybe this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: although the aircons work just fine try and get somebody to turn the temp down a little !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vumaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The food is tops, the G O's are fantastic, the activities are fun, drinks at the bar or at the quiet pool are relaxing. The bed is too hard so I lie on the quilt, the television is small and no interesting channels but I like the rooms. It is expensive but if you have children it is worth it as they have a great experience. It can be very busy for grandparents watching the kids doing trapeze, soccer, archery or table-tennis and taking part in the nightly concerts. It is good and we are sure to go again.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early don't go in the 1000 rooms, the band will keep you awake. If you play squ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Food and service as well as entertainment was par excellence.Only problem we experienced was an obnoxious,drunk Australian tourist who made the club experience unlpeasant,management could have reacted more decisive.All in all awonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janslourens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Fantastic resort and truly special place. The food and resort is splendid, but the entertainment and hosts are excellent. Special thanks to the members Gid from SA and Anita from Aus who were trully helpful and absolutely welcoming. Would definitely recommend club med bali

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieHipner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We are huge Club Med fans, simply because all the staff are so incredibly well trained and hand picked! We cannot fault any of it. Thanks so much to all the GO's and Chef de village
We also recommend Club Med Malaysia and Club Med Phuket. The GO's at the watersports are so awesome. They are attentive, helpful and ever so caring...The GO's at the bar are all awesome...The shows were tremendous, thanks Omar! You are so talented...The hard working staff in the kitchen and housekeeping also need a pat on the back. I suppose if I had to be critical it would be of the one and only bedside table at the double bed...maybe Club Med can add another table at the other side for my iphone? THANKS CLUB MED!

Room Tip: We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The interconnecting rooms work well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rouve123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,754 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bali

Address: Holiday Villages, Lot 6, Nusa Dua 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#12 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: £224 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At your feet lie clear waters and fine sand beaches. The Village of Bali is one of Club Med(R)'s most beautiful, an Indian Ocean pearl set in the Sunda archipelago. Beneath the coconut palms, by pools of lotus and water lilies, the bungalows with their sweeping roofs take their inspiration from Balinese architecture. A spirit of serenity wafts over Bali, and you can discover a way of celebrating life that is unique. Bali promises moments of grace for young and old, families and honeymooners too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Club Med and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Club Med Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Bali Hotel Nusa Dua
Bali Club Med
Club Med Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Club Med
Club Med Bali Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing