We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, poor service and flea infestation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Singaraja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overpriced, poor service and flea infestation”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 4 days in august. At first glance the hotel seems nice with clean rooms, semi outdoor shower and beach front pool area.
However the owner is very rude and it seems trying to save money at every turn.
The twin basins in the bathroom were stained and in dire need of a bleach, the same goes for the toilet. The shower had no water pressure and the water it self smelt bore (offensive), so you never felt you got clean. It was also full of mosquitoes. Ammenities provided were lack luster, when paying over $100 a night I expect at least individual shower gel and shampoo.

Only a single sheet was provided on the bed and given that the ac only seemed to pump out freezing cold air we asked if we could have a blanket. The owner overheard and very rudely told us that if we put the ac on 30 degrees we won't need a blanket. We have travelled to a lot of hotels and guesthouses in se Asia from $10 a night to luxury and not once has there not been a blanket provided.

We also decided to have dinner at the hotel one night, sitting on the wicker chairs provided. We returned to our room that night both covered in what we assume were flea bites presumably from the 2 cats and 1 dog that are left to roam around, sitting on tables and chairs (all very thin and in bad condition). We had only been bitten on the skin that was touching the chairs I.e the underside of our arms. I had been bitten at least 50 times.

I would highly recommend staying else where.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shaca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    38
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
97
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 2 nights there, intimate feeling, like being home! Out of the craziness of Lovina during August, right at the beach front.
VIP villas are very big and spacious. We got the one in front of the pool.
We relaxed like anywhere else, good food cocked for us from the staff!
We met Brigitte, the owner, the 2nd day and spent a lovely time with her having an aperitivo and then dinner together. Lovely and very interesting person who built up such beautiful place.
I will always carry the positive feelings and energy felt there!
Definitely worth a stay there! I will recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickolas979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We originally a single night at Frangipani but loved it so much we cancelled our pre-booked accomodation elsewhere to spend an extra couple of days at this beautiful boutique resort. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very tastefully furnished and offered us everything we could possibly want. Being a tiny hotel it is very peaceful. Breakfast was great and the staff incredibly friendly. The restaurant food was delicious on every occasion and very reasonably priced. From here we could wander a little way along the beach to have a Bintang at sunset at a local Warung. The locals around here are so incredibly friendly and are very happy to sit and chat - something which my husband and I always enjoy. During our five week stay in Bali this is, so far, without a doubt our favorite hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RhondaandDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabire, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We paid for a three night stay at Frangipangi Beach Hotel via the internet but when we got there the room we had paid for was a very small room in the back of the hotel. The pool was small, the beach front was very small; the breakfast was very small. We asked to be upgraded to the VIP room because that's what we were expecting for the price we paid. The VIP rooms were booked, so we just left, taking a loss for one nights stay. We found the rest of Lovina Beach area unappealing. The beaches were dirty and small. We went back to Kuta, where the beaches are beautiful and you get much more for your dollar at the hotels we have found here!

Room Tip: The VIP rooms looked much nicer and were closer to their small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balibrige, Owner at Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Guests, Thanks for your comment and your very short visit ,
Your comment will help some travelers to book in the right way in order to be satisfied when they arrive, the room will then match their expectations.
My recommendation would be : check room description also in the website of the hotel before booking via an internet e booking system and fill in the right quantity of persons who are suppose to stay in the room.
You booked on your own via an internet website booking a Deluxe room for 2 persons, specified exclusively for 2, no extra bed possible, situated in the tropical garden.
There is also another kind of room : The VIP, explained as larger room on the front beach and swimming pool side, all equipped with double and 1 single bed, these informations are on both e booking and hotel website.
If you had specified that you were a family of 4 people, instead of 2 pers, as you did in our reservation, you would not have been able to book the Deluxe room through the automatic system, and then not be disapointed.
When you arrived at the hotel one day before checking, We have offer you to move to one of our VIP rooms with 2 single beds, with extra cost, as the room itself is more expansive and you were 2 more people. you rejected this offer. you did not accept to pay more that the price of the Deluxe room.

I m so sorry for all this misunderstanding, internet booking has some rules to be followed, and we can not interfere into this system.
1- I explain all this when i reply to direct booking via e mail.
2- We can adapt when guests are coming, if we both do one step. the price for 4 can not be the same as for 2, in a different and bigger room.

I m really happy hat you found in Kuta what you were looking for , for your holidays with children.
Kind regards
The owner of Frangipani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina, USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay so much that we only left the grounds twice: once to walk on the beach in the early evening while exploring how to get onto the main road of town without trekking the street that leads to the resort from the main road (between 1-2 km) and the second time to take a trip to the Singaraja market. We aborted our beach walk due to the unpleasantness of some plastic trash at the water's edge and the number of small boats tied to shore. We assumed walking back in the dark, even with a flashlight, might be challenging. The Singaraja market was interesting and worth the cost of the driver if you are looking for something to do for a couple of hours and would like to see a truly local market. The staff were friendly and attentive, and all were very good cooks. We never felt a need to find a restaurant in Lovina, which would have been a job to find one that had a good rating by reviewers on websites. The grounds, small but cozy and attractive, were pleasingly landscaped and the pool was clean and refreshing. The ocean is easily visible with the beach right there beyond the short beachside gate on the property. Beautiful sunsets were easy to view right from the grounds. There were plenty of lounge chairs and a nice big outdoor lounge bed. Our room, the VIP Seaview was very big and pleasant. We saw, through the windows, the other VIP rooms as they were not occupied. All were as nice or better than the Seaview. We would not hesitate to recommend Frangipani to anyone spending time in Lovina.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank skarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Still at frangipani and have booked an extra night, we got a great deal for this through booking.com
On arriving staff could not be more helpful, we are driving ourselves around bali so needed parking and wifi and this hotel offers both. Rooms lovely especially outside shower,rooms cleaned daily,beds comfortable (good pillows) pool lovely And good breakfast. Had small accident and staff could have not been more helpfull in taking us to hospital and making sure I was taken care off,I know have broken foot hence extra day. Small walk to Main Street or walk along beach front to main lovina area nightlife,restaurant,shopping snorkelling ,easy to get lift on bike if needed or taxi
So very relaxing here in the off season.

Room Tip: All good rooms we had deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie592281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights. We both work in an international aid and have stayed and lived in some pretty rough places around the world so are by no means too fussy and pretty easy to please!

Place was decent enough, but service was atrocious. At the rate of $100 per night we shouldn't have to be concerned about getting ripped off, but felt they were always trying to milk more money out of us.

They would bang on our door to sort out money stuff (hello, we are a paying couple - leave us some privacy!) They also stuffed up our bill (which they demanded payment for on arrival - and couldn't even use the credit card machine properly!) and then cheekily asked us to pay more as we were literally getting in the taxi to leave. I paid the money for the sake of not having to deal with the confrontation, but gave them a bit of a dressing down about their attitude and general service (other examples exist but I won't go into). I said we had read some of the reviews on tripadvisor, but had given them the benefit of the doubt that those complaining guests had broken the rules by bringing in their own alcohol. We followed the rules however, and expected in return we would not have any issues. I also pledged that I would not write a bad review on the internet or anything, but they should take on board what I said.

They did not. Subsequently it turns out they charged us twice on our card. The booking agent refunded the money, so we're not out of pocket. However the hotel denies the double charge was ever made! Clearly they did not take onboard the personal feedback so here is the review for other travelers to consider

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goldenshades2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singaraja
0.3 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Adirama Beach Hotel
Adirama Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Singaraja
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel

Property: Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika no. 99, Singaraja 81116, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Singaraja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Singaraja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frangipani Hotel has is own direct access on the beach from the garden. it has 4 Deluxe rooms with private terrace around tropical garden with fountain on the back resort, AC, king sized bed, open-bathroom with hot water.2 VIP room with Bali sea or Rice field view for 2 or 3 pers., 1 VIP room with Rice field view for 2 to 4 pers. and 1 Vip suite for 2 to 5 pers (5 if kids) . They are on the beach side, on the main garden, near the swimming pool. You can have a private breakfast, lunch or dinner on the terrace in front of the main restaurant, also on the garden area. Satellite TV and Wifi Internet connection are also available. We offer REAL balinese experiences : diner in balinese way : sit on floor, eat with your right hand, balinese food and balinese acoustic music band. Tours in places which are not in touristic books and made by mixte team foreigner and balinese : Trekking different, new opened waterfalls, Healing place, Local market, experiment the Hindu pray, family temple and meditation courses... We are in favor of protecting the nature, so we act for dolphins and guests from negative behaviors, we have settle up different kind of tour taking care of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Zenrooms, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Beach Boutique Hotel Bali, Indonesia - Singaraja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing