We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, not very inspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nirwana Seaside Cottages
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Good location right to the beach. Staff is only just okay, but friendly enough. We stayed at two deluxe rooms in the back of the enormous garden. Rooms are good, about 40euro per room which isn't cheap to indonesian standards. Great pool, the breakfast is poor, toast, egg and jam, that's it. Beach isn't very clean and Kalibukbuk on the whole not a very great place to stay. Vendors stalking you to buy their mostly horrible souvenirs and fruit. Some poor, overpiced restaurants in town. The dolphin spotting was VERY nice, snorkeling is poor around this area. The hotel could be a convenient basis for excursions, which are offered in abundance in this town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

Tired and run down in dire need of some TLC! We stayed one night here in Lovina and then quickly moved on.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed in the rooms all the way to the back. In the modern wing. They have AC, hot water, and a TV plus a tub in the bathroom (the first we've had in Indonesia) which was very exciting, plus soap and two towels each. Near luxury for us backpackers who have been trying to travel cheaply. Great location, steps from a dirty beach and right next to nice restaurants. They also had a nice infinity pool. The staff wasn't super friendly but they were nice enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Quite big rooms with no high stnadrad - esp. the bathrooms were quite weared down... but with air-con.

Breakfast was small - dry bread and some jar, coffee - thats it.

The pool was nice and clean, but the garden not really in good shape. The area is directl located at the beach front, so only a couuple of meters to the beach and also to the nichtlife it was only a 5 min walk.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ba-chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

I had huge expectations about Lovina and was looking forward to staying a few nights. Checked into the Nirwana Seaside which looked nice. We were a little upset that we had to pay for our two nights upfront but got over it. The room itself was good but basic: no phone, no locking door, grey (that used to be white) towels and no one to make the bed. That doesn't usually mater but for the price, I expected more. We had heard rumours that the staff steal off tourists and since our balcony door didn't lock, I slept with one eye open. Lovina itself is very sad. It looks down on its luck with many places going broke, locals not happy to see you, dilapidated buildings that were going to be resorts and one kid who threw a open & full bottle of water into the Perama Bus as a welcome gift narrowly missing my head. Suffice it to say, I was happy to return to Ubud

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SydneyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2005

Nirwana Seaside Cottages is on a huge property next to the beach and right next to the main square of town with the dolphin statue. Rooms have been renovated and it has lovely garden grounds with a terrific infinity pool. Rooms are about $15 a night (hot water is a bit scarce but rooms are clean and quiet). That said, Lovina is a sad, sorry place. Tourism is down so the vendors are desperate, practically chasing tourists down the street no matter what tactic of "no" you try. The big thing here is to swim with the dolphins, which are apparently quite used to people. You can also snorkle close by but need to take a fishing boat out to the site. The beach is dirty and we had no desire to go in the water, mostly because of the touts. It made the hotel pool all that more appreciated (and the pool really was fabulous). Things might be nicer farther away from the center of town.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CAamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
111
Reviewed 12 May 2005

The touts that lurk at the front gates of this Lovina property are little more than hustlers and drug dealers, peddling prostitutes and magic mushrooms to tourists. They are aggressive and vile.

The cleaning staff stole 500,000 rupiahs from my backpack ( roughly $50.00 ) and when confronted, the management claimed no responsibility at all.

Do yourself a favor: If you need to go to the beach in Bali, go to Sanur or Kuta. Lovina is an economically challenged city. There is not much going on except a dirt brown sand beach littered with trash and annoying herds of handicraft sarong peddlers

Never again....

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singaraja hotels
3.4 mi away
Adirama Beach Hotel
Adirama Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Singaraja
279 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nirwana Water Garden
Nirwana Water Garden
#25 of 44 in Singaraja
35 reviews
8.2 mi away
POP! Hotel Hardys Singaraja Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Angsoka
Hotel Angsoka
#7 of 10 in Singaraja
91 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bayu Mantra Bungalows
Bayu Mantra Bungalows
#11 of 35 in Singaraja
61 reviews
0 mi away
Ima guesthouse and Spa
Ima guesthouse and Spa
#8 of 44 in Singaraja
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Seaside Cottages

Address: Jl Bina Ria, Singaraja, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Singaraja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Singaraja
Price Range: £16 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nirwana Seaside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Seaside Cottages Hotel Kalibukbuk
Nirwana Seaside Cottages Bali, Indonesia - Singaraja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing