We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here 2 years ago when it was a great value $60/night hotel. Stayed again recently and the hotel is much the same, couldn't spot any improvements that we thought would justify a price hike to $175/night. Booked online for 3 nights but left after 1 night due to excessive construction noise coming from the renovations taking part in the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    77
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
33
65
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Right on the beach in Sanur, close to beachside restaurants .Lovely beach front restaurant and a sparking pool. It is a small hotel so it has a quiet relaxing atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. We had an upstairs renovated room with K/S bed and ample bathroom with shower (no Bath), good a/c and a balcony. There were tea and coffee making facilities, bar fridge and 2 bottles of water added each day (complimentary)Toiletries consisted of soap and shower cap. The buffet breakfast menu changes slightly every day and there was always plenty to choose from. There are new pool chairs and mats and the umbrellas have new canvas. There is free wifi around the restuarant pool area as well as the foyer. We spent a week and will definitely consider returning..

Room Tip: if you dont like stairs- ask for a downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Good value budget accom. right ON the beach @ Sanur a more sedate part of Bali. Beautiful beach front restaurant, fresh linen & cleaning each day. The staff are very friendly & most helpful with trips & tours. Nice pool. A quiet retreat from the more frenetic side of Bali. Needs a bit of refurbishment but some has been done.

Room Tip: Upstairs or downstairs? ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lorrainne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel is well located in Sanur and direct acces to the beach.
Small hotel with approx 40/50 rooms.
rooms are oké. Clean and with new bedsheets every day.
The renovated rooms are much better so you better ask for them.
As mentioned in a comment it is not the Ritz or the Hilton and that is indeed correct because the price you pay is also completely different.
Breakfastis à buffet simpel but efficient and give you enough choices.
Atmosphere is different than in other hotels, staff is not getting involved with the guests which is rather unusuall in Bali.
The restaurant is having excellent saté prepared on the grill. Other items on the menu are correct but not special.
We prefered to go to other restaurants in Sanur and there is more than enough choice.
For us it is a very good hotel for the money you pay for it.
Indeed you have to make your reservation / booking either at home or via the indonesian company.
In the hotel you have everywhere free wifi woeling perfectly well

Room Tip: See my comments already mentioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pieter130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have stayed at the Villa Shanti before and love the place it is small, quiet and if you feel like relaxing it is perfect.
The pool chairs, mats and Umberella's need replacing they are worn but if you can over come this and sit and enjoy the view its fine.
The accomadation is good, it is not the Ritz but your not paying for a 5 star resort.
It is close to everything and if you feel like kicking up your heels take a taxi to Kuta
and stress out for a while. Taxi's are cheap
We love Villa Shanti and the staff are nice and they look after us very well.
We are looking forward to our next visit very soon at Villa Shanti.
Lou and Margaret Perth WA




Lou and Margaret

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abramo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

it's quite, well located and budget.
foods are good, breakfast is not buffet (you have to order what you want) and staffs are OK.

Room Tip: good for last minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poosad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I read a number of mixed reviews about this hotel before finally deciding to stay there. What follows is my experience and my opinion.

As another reviewer has mentioned you cannot book directly through the hotel. Their website link to a company Bali Go Tours. They require 100% upfront payment - to be paid on the day you book. They also have - as I found out later - a 100% no refund policy if you are not happy with the hotel. When I decided to cut-my losses and checkout of the hotel 5 days early, the hotel confirmed that there is a no refund policy. This is not a reason to not stay there, but if you are not a return customer who is familiar with the standard of rooms and in particular the standard of service at this hotel - and from other reviews I know there are people who are return guests and love the VS - just be aware of the no refund policy.

In terms of the hotel itself, the rooms are very dated and furnishings pretty basic. The room I stayed in had 2 very small windows covered by traditional wooden shutters. If you want privacy the trade-off was you had no natural light and needed to turn the lights on in the room during the day. The rooms have a bar fridge, and the bathroom while dated was clean.

I was a bit disappointed with the room, but the main reason that I only stayed 1 night, and therefore forfeited the pre-paid cost of accommodation for the following 4 nights, was due to the staff. The restaurant staff, in particular the waitress and the cook preparing the eggs were rude and disinterested in assisting guests. Some tables had no cutlery or "missing" cutlery and the staff were disinterested in re-setting the tables. Self service was taken to a new level. The man cooking the eggs to order, was just plain rude to me. Anyway, I walked away from breakfast wondering whether I wanted to stay in such an unfriendly place for my last week in Bali.

I did speak with the front desk manager about the staff at the restaurant at breakfast, and she was very apologetic and seemed genuinely unhappy that the staff were behaving in that manner. So I have no complaints or negative comments about the management of the hotel at all. But at the end of the day it came down to a choice as to the environment in which I spent the last day of my holiday, and that decision was to move to another hotel where the staff were friendly and helpful.

One final comment - I contacted Bali Go Tours twice to explain the situation. The first time to ask if I could transfer to another hotel ( which had been possible when we had booked through another travel company on a previous trip to Bali). I had no response from BGT. After I found another hotel I sent BGT a second email advising them that I was checking out of the VS and their response was to send me a copy of their "no refund policy". That was the only contact I had from BGT. I would not book through BGT again. Vila Shanti was the only hotel during a month holiday in Bali that required 100% upfront payment - I guess there is a lesson there.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank traveller1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#70 of 78 in Sanur
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.1 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#25 of 78 in Sanur
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Shanti Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Shanti Beach Hotel

Property: Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Address: Jl Danau Tamblingan 47, Sanur, Denpasar 80001, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#28 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Shanti Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Shanti Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing