We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Summer Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Mahapala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Mahapala
Ranked #34 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Fontana, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Summer Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here last June 2014. It was our weekend getaway and we weren't disappointed.
Not only the place is beautiful and relaxing, the location was perfect. The place is not to close to the crowd city center but also not to far where you can't go shopping to buy a thing or two.
The services were prompt and courteous. I love how the attendants were very helpful when we asked for some guide and tips for our self-adventure in Bali. However, they do offer their own tour packages which I think were good deals if you are not familiar with Bali.
Overall, it was definitely a great stay and an experience that I am surely looking forward when I visit Bali again next time.

Room Tip: Get their beach view room if possible and enjoy their spa after you go out exploring Bali for the wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewPrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketut Gde P, General Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear MatthewPrd

Greetings from Villa Mahapala Sanur Bali

We are pleased to hear that you have had a great stay with us recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on a TripAdvisor.

We will share your happiness' feedback to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back home to Villa Mahapala in the future.

Yours Sincerely


Gede Parmita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    36
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in the villa for 3 nights and got engaged in this beautiful setting. The staff were so professional and helpful. Minutes from the beach and all restaurants. The private swimming pool is amazing and the room itself is so comfy. The breakfast is excellent and there are a number of options from different countries to choose from. will definitely return to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketut Gde P, General Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear RalphieRoo

Greetings from Villa Mahapala Sanur, Bali

Thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor

We look forward to welcoming you back home again to Villa Mahapala.

Yours Sincerely


Gede Parmita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Just minutes walk to Sanur beach and a stunning villa we loved villa mahapala. The staff are so friendly and kind,breakfast delivered to the villa was just Devine. Nothing was to to much trouble. This is perfect for a family or friends getaway. We loved the villa mahapala and will be returning next year

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketut Gde P, General Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Leighhelen

Greetings from Villa Mahapala, Sanur

Thank you for your excellent comments on a TripAdvisor.

Our staff were happy to receive your feedback and you deserve to have a great holiday while you were in Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back home to Villa Mahapala in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely


Gede Parmita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We couldn't be more pleased w/ our stay at Mahala. The room is something I could only imagine, breakfast was great, and AC worked perfectly in the Indo heat. Only complaint was the restaurant and bar staff were MIA. At one point we almost mixed our own drink behind the bar. Not enough bothersome to remove a star rating tho!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pyrobugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketut Gde P, General Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Pyrobugg

Greetings from Villa Mahapala, Sanur Bali

It has been almost four months since your stay at our Villa Mahapala. Trust we finds you well.

We are happy to learn that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on a TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back home to Villa Mahapala in the future.

Yours Sincerely


Gede Parmita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is by far the most amazing hotel I've ever stayed in.

A huge selection of breakfasts, included in the price we paid, which were served to us in our private villa every morning.

Our PRIVATE POOL, was in the compounds of our private villa. This was surrounded by a lounge area, a sun tanning area, a sink and an eating area. Very nicely decorated as well! The pool was connected to the side of the villa by three doors. One door lead to the washroom (with tub -- super rare in the area -- and an outdoor, open air shower), the other sliding door went straight from the bedroom to the pool and the other door was the "main entrance" to the bedroom. Fairly spacious, but just unbelievable how much you get for the price! We booked through Agoda and were incredibly impressed with the facilities! It is also very close to the beach and night market (for food, etc).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrickvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketut Gde P, General Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Derrickvdw

Greetings from Villa Mahapala Sanur Bali.

Thank you for your feedback on a TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Mahapala in the future.

Yours Sincerely


Gede Parmita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This place is mind blowing, they take care of every aspect!!!
They offer you welcome drink when you are waiting for check in*(actually most of the Villa / Hotel in Bali has, but Mahapala has the best drink!! )
And the villa itself is isolate, so that really make you feel like you are the only guest, and relax
you can have you own huge private pool, outdoor living room...
Inside the room, the print of their mug is the depend on the guest's horoscope!!!!! how sweet is that!!! Not to mention the bath tub and the outdoor shower place, I have spent the whole night here, it's big, luxury and super clean.
Last but not least, the food here is THE BEST! You can choose your own breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner by country type (American, Indian, Japanese...), and they cook well, like everything is authentic and delicious, and you don't need to change your rope, cause you will gonna eat by your own private pool!!
The service, we ordered massage and manicure, the staff are all very nice.
If you have a chance to stay here, please spend you time in the villa, and enjoy the time of your life, and i will definitely stay again !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIOLAYAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketut Gde P, General Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear VIOLAYAO,

Greetings from Villa Mahapala Sanur Bali

Thank you for your comments on a TripAdvisor

Our staff were pleased to receive your feedback and we really look forward to welcoming you back home at Villa Mahapala in the near future

Yours Sincerely


Gede Parmita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here for a week in December 2013. First, the villa rooms themselves are fantastic. 2 spacious and well proportioned bedrooms, nice decor, each with huge bathtub and private outdoor shower. The 'living room' to the villas is outdoors, which is very nice, but keep the mosquito coils burning! The best thing about the rooms is the private pool, which is actually quite spacious - I was expecting just a plunge pool, but they are big enough to splash about in. The main pool is very nice, and the gym well equipped. Only 100m or less from the beach, which has a good choice of restaurants etc. and some watersports, but is generally laid back. Quite a bit of choice for breakfast, but after trying most things we stayed with continental (nice plate of fresh fruit and pastries). Breakfast (and any other meal) can be delivered to your villa dining area at the time of your choice, which is a nice touch, but you have to remember to order it the night before. Room cleaning etc and everything I asked for on the phone was done within minutes - really good service here. Food, minibar etc. prices are very reasonable.

Couple of small points for improvement - the Wifi is terrible (although free in the restaurant/pool area, the speed is too slow to do anything useful - I had work to do while there, and this became frustrating - and I was advised not to bother with paying for wifi in the villa). At this price point, you really expect free high speed internet throughout. Also, the bar (including room service) shuts at 10pm every night. This is not a place for party animals anyway, but if like me you like to enjoy a beer or two and a bit of quiet time after putting the kids to bed, or whatever, just be aware you have to plan for it, and get them to stock the minibar or go to the shop. On the whole, excellent place, and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Recommend a villa away from the road side of the resort. Ours had a bit of early morning road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#27 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#6 of 76 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ajanta Villas
Ajanta Villas
#3 of 137 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Seriska Bali
Villa Seriska Bali
#7 of 137 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahagiri Villas
Mahagiri Villas
#1 of 137 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mahapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mahapala

Property: Villa Mahapala
Address: Jl. Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Mahapala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mahapala is a luxury resort villa located in the quiet village of Sanur. The Villa's unique feature is its focus on the twelve signs of the zodiac. Exceptionally designed with immaculate facilities, Villa Mahapala will leave you with an unforgettable impression of your holiday in Bali. Each of the elegant villas, complete with its own private pool, is individually designed on one of the zodiac signs. The zodiac theme continues throughout the Resort, and our tasteful and elegant atmosphere will ensure that our guests enjoy a personalized villa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TravelUp so you can book your Villa Mahapala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Villa Mahapala Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing