We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$225
View deal
Agoda.comUS$225
eDreamsUS$225
FindHotelUS$225
Snaptravel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
80
54
25
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
54
25
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower after reading some of the negative venetian blinds outdoor area location was perfect clean pool a lovely stay bars and restaurants bedroom beach bali niggle relaxation hyatt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Spent our first 4 nights here and did NOT want to leave. When we arrived at our second Villa in Seminyak for the second 5 nights all I wanted to do was go back to Villa Mahapala.
The villas were spotlessly clean, the size was awesome, decorations stunning (better than the pictures), and service was exceptional. For the money I think unbeatable. We could have stayed in a hotel room for this price but with no private pool to swim anytime of the day or night. Plenty of sun and shade.
Right next to the beach with a 3 min walk to bars and restaurants. Best of all worlds.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahapala, Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your compliments towards Villa Mahapala. It is very much appreciated. We are trying our best to improve our service and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you at Villa Mahapala on your next holiday trip to Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed on our last leg of 3 weeks in Bali. We were greeted at the lovely reception area and taken to our wonderful villa once they had decorated with our star signs. The villa was fantastic, just like the photos that we had seen before we went. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff (Su was great), breakfast was great too, choice was amazing, my partner tried a different one each day. We didnt use to villa pool much, we prefered to go to the main pool which we had to ourselves during our 5 night stay. We would definately go back again, looking at Christmas next year.
Thanks to you all for making our time with you very enjoyable.
Tracey and Freddy

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TracenFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahapala, Manager at Villa Mahapala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Tracey & Freddy,

Thank you for your nice feedback explaining regarding the star signs and the facilities. We really appreciate it.

With regard to your comment, we have passed the information and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Villa Mahapala for next Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Pleasant staff, but had difficulty with the language. Not a fan of outside showers. Toilet blocked first night and we couldn't use them at all until morning. That was a pain, but no trouble rest of stay. Everything was ok, definitely not 5 star experience. Breakfast was ordinary, but plentiful. Overall, just for convenience of location to beach, restaurants and shops, Mahapala was good but could have been better.

Room tip: Noise from staff at gate and from the road wasn't conducive to a nice sleep in. Go for the rooms on the south side.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joanne775
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

The good:
Large, cool, comfortable rooms. Comfortable bed and good aircon. Lovely outdoor sitting/dining area. Great pool - shady, cool, deep and generous size. Lovely bathroom and outdoor shower. Friendly, helpful staff. One minute's walk to the beach and Luhtu's cafe.

The not so good:
Some little things could make this place excellent: A full size fridge, water dispenser, plates, drinking glasses and coffee maker in the outdoor sitting area, such as provided by other villa resorts. A supervisor who accompanies trainee staff and provides on the job training. Some general maintenance and detailing. A better organised system for ordering in-villa breakfast, perhaps the order form for the next day left on the table as is done in other villa resorts.

Overall good.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank west0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The hotel consists of common facilities (which were very under-utilised during our stay) and 20 separate villas, each hidden behind high walls and locked gates affording guests a substantial level of privacy.

The architect and designer of the resort did an excellent job. The villa set up with a private plunge pool at it's heart (directly accessible from the bedroom, bathroom and all of the outdoor facilities) is just perfect. I also loved the outdoor rain shower, particularly while it was raining.

However, there is a problem. Not insurmountable, but at present there appears to be no management desire to fix it. There has been inadequate repair and maintenance for some time - possibly years. Cracked stucco, dirty marks on walls, warped decking, broken handles, blown bulbs, split grouting, threadbare thatched roof, marked windows and doors close to pool, frayed linen etc etc - I could go on, but I think the message is clear. None of these in themselves is a problem - after all it is Bali - but the total begins to rankle somewhat.

Now food. Breakfast - don't bother with the included breakfast. There are lots of cafes nearby that can serve up a much better breakfast. As for room service, we made that mistake once and never again. The main problem with in-villa dining is that it takes so long to get the food from the kitchen to the villa that it is cold by the time it arrives. And once it arrives it is not necessarily very appetising. I had a carbonara which looked like congealed vomit but tasted excellent apart from being stone cold. My parter had satays that were tough, cold and inedible.

Then there was our biggest disappointment. A candlelight dinner by the main pool for my birthday. The first three courses were delicious if uninspired (bruschetta, cream of chicken soup - I am positive from a can or packet - and shredded beef with a sauce) and the desert was an inedible banana pancake - how you mess that up I really don't know. Service was by a new staff member who had never served at table before, leading to a few minor service problems. When I got the bill, it was expensive by Bali standards and not good value for money. None of this was the big disappointment. That came the next day, when we were informed that the price charged was wrong and it actually cost twice the original price. Extortionate!

Most of the staff are new, young and eager to please. Unfortunately, their spoken English is below par for a resort of this level. The evening turn down crew produced some amazing towel origami on the bed which was just fantastic. When we had minor problems with the room, the maintenance team were on to it immediately and it was sorted very quickly. The reception staff also were very helpful.

The location is excellent. It is a short walk from the hotel to the beach and adjacent shops and restaurants (including a couple of money changers and convenience stores).

Overall impression. Despite all the niggles in my review, yes, we would go back there.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews