We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace Villa”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Zen Villas
Ranked #5 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace Villa”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We spent 8 nights in Aug 2012 in the Peace Villa.
From the moment we arrived the staff at the Zen Villa's were wonderful.
The villa was perfect for our stay and was extremly clean and has everything you could want.
Staff were lovely and cooked our breakfast in the villa every morning which was a great bonus.
The villas are a bit futher out from the main road in Sanur but this was not an issue as we enjoyed the short 10 min walk to town in the evenings and got a ride back with a driver called Tommy who we used for most of our day trips when we we went out of Sanur to Ubud/Seminyak etc.
The plunge pool in the Peace Villa was nice to come back to after a day sightseeing and refresh yourself in.
Our 10 year old daughter Stella loved Bali and the Zen Villa's and can't wait to come back.
We truly felt relaxed when we left, and the only downside was that we hadn't stayed longer as there is so much to do in Bali.
We would like to thank the staff at Zen Villa's and hope that we can come back some time in the future.

Room Tip: Whilst the Peace Villa was lovely if you wanted a bigger pool choose another Villa option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnissaG910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
112
105
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK, Warrington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent six nights at Zen Villas In August and stayed in Tranquility Villa D.

After the initial disappointment of discovering we had not been given the villa I had requested and agreed with Fiona several months previously (Villa H - never did get an explanation for this) - our disappointment was set aside by this lovely villa. The pool area was beautiful, surrounded by tropical flowers and not too many insects. Our bedrooms were a good size and the bathroom off the main bedroom was stunning. The second bathroom not so special (which was why I had asked for Villa H). There was plenty of wardrobe space and lots of equipment in the kitchen should you wish to cater for yourself (we didn't).

The staff are lovely - very friendly and unobtrusive. Breakfast was the usual choices - fruit / pancakes/ eggs/ muesli - you certainly got enough! The television signal came through the WIFI and was very poor - we gave up watching it after a few days. But hey - your on holiday - who wants to watch the news anyway?

Overall it was a fantastic place to stay. It was about 20 minutes walk to the heart of things in Sanur - which for some may be too much. Personally we enjoyed the exercise. We hired bikes and saw the whole of Sanur that way. We walked out in the evenings and returned quite late some nights, but never felt unsafe despite having to walk down some narrow dark alleys.

It was one of three villas we stayed in during our 16 nts in Bali and it was definately our favourite - wish we hadn't stayed there first! Having said that it was also the most expensive.

All in all a fab villa in a peaceful location with good service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judithcharmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to publish your thoughts about your stay at The Zen Villas. We’re so pleased to see that you rated us so highly.

We apologise profusely for not allocating you the villa you preferred. We made this change for two reasons, and we apologise for not advising you of these. The first was that your main objective was to ensure there was plenty of room around the pool as you were planning on spending a lot of time enjoying the swimming pool. The villa to which we moved you actually had more room around the pool, so we were sure you wouldn’t be disappointed. The second reason was that the owner of the Villa H advised they were arriving in Bali and wanted to use their villa. As we were able to reallocate your reservation to another Tranquillity Villa which fulfilled your requirements, we determined that this would be fine.

The 60+ international television channel available in each villa is supplied by direct cable. We do occasionally get breaks in our cables or problem with our booster boxes at which time no picture is available, but did not have a report during your stay that this was an issue. We are always able to summon a repair technician immediately to our resort if we report a problem.

We’re very pleased to hear that you appreciated our friendly and unobtrusive staff, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Zen Villas on your next Bali trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Was recommended this place by friends and it truly outlived our expectations!! The villa was clean and luxurious with own private pool and jacuzzi! Was 10 minute walk to restaurants and bars where there were plenty to choose from (particularly good restaurants included massimo and casanovas) staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Sanur is quite quiet which is what we were after but if you do fancy a night on the tiles kuta is a 20 min cab ride which was quite cheap - if you do do this make sure you get a metered cab! Would definitely come back here if we are ever back in that part of the world!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chezzaherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

What a truly blissful stay at The Zen Villas. After a pretty hectic stay in Kuta during the busiest week of the year it was so nice to venture somewhere completely the opposite. Serene, quiet & decadent. Sanur was a great location to end our holiday and the Zen villas fulfilled all our needs and expectations. I would love to give them 5 stars and in all honesty is was more 5 stars than most of the 5 star hotels i've ever stayed at, however it is only due to the lack of privacy with the other villas being so close and only being separated by gardens. With having a 5 and 7 year old I had to constantly ask them to keep their voices down to avoid disturbing guests at the other villas. However in saying that as the villas are relatively new, I'm sure the gardens will only grown more lush and help create a more private environment. Adi and his team were fantastic, a wakeup call at 5am & transfer to the airport at 5:30am was not a problem and the attention to detail with his extremely discreet breakfast & turndown staff was amazing. It was lovely having a fridge with provisions including beer & softdrinks and with a huge range of restaurants delivering right to your villa, why would you want to leave? I would definitely return here and was rather sad to go. Next time I won't even bother with Kuta, we'll book our whole stay in Sanur at the Zen Villas. Thank you, thank you, thank you for a magical holiday in Bali.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Zen Villa's is amazing! I will not bother to stay anywhere else. I was initially hesitant at the location and unsure what to expect. The perfect combination of peaceful relaxation, whilst still being close to shops & restaurants.
The staff were friendly and thoughtful. The villas CLEAN & luxurious.
Can't wait to take our kids next time.

Room Tip: Villa G was great, but did have chickens & rooster next door in the neighboring property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Looking for a place to clear your mind and to charge your battery, Zen Villa is the place to be.
We have stayed at the Zen Villa mid June 2012 in the Peace Villa.
We didn’t know what to expect from the Zen, but the experiences was great.
I would like to start with the first day, we were welcomed by the front desk team with a smile and a refreshment. The Peace Villa was above our expectation, all that is necessary for a good and pleasant stay was available, for example. The kitchen was well equip, the living-,bed- and bath room was nice and clean (especially clean). The thing that really surprise me during our stay was the breakfast. Each and every morning your breakfast is prepared by one of the Zen team member and you can enjoy your breakfast on the veranda. Each and every Villa has there own swimming pool and every morning one of the team members will drop by to check the quality of the water and the cleanness of the pool. The Zen Villa is not far away from the town centre and the beach, a 10 to 15 minutes walk. In the town centre and on the beach you can enjoy a perfect meal, because there is so many restaurant to choose from. Also you can shop until you drop. Our stay in the Zen Villa and the city of Sanur was remarkable. The Zen Villa team did there very best to make our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a tour at the Zen Villa and all the villa are good to stay, depending on the number of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micanario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Zen Villas in early July with our parents and 2 young children - 2.5 years and 10 weeks. The villa was perfect for our family and was good value for money. We stayed in the Peace Villa - it had 3 bedrooms and a small plunge pool, which was all we needed with young kids - older kids would need a bigger pool. The 3rd bedroom contained a single bed which was perfect for our 2.5 year old. The kitchen was very well equipped and they had thought about the little things like adapters etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff would come on demand (when the baby was awake) and we had a lovely breakfast every morning cooked in our villa. The villa had nice furnishings and we loved the vegetation surrounding the villa - much nicer than a brick wall.
The Villas are located on a back lane and it took around 10 minutes walking with the kids to get to the beach - but we were happy to be off the main strip and the beach was very windy, so we were thankful we were not staying on the beach. We hired a bike with a babyseat which made it a great spot to go riding from and easy to pick up takeaway at night. Reception also provided DVD's if required.
Overall, I would highly recommend Zen Villas and we are looking forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#5 of 140 in Sanur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Property: The Zen Villas
Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing