We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay at the Zen Villas”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Zen Villas
Ranked #5 of 137 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
“Splendid stay at the Zen Villas”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Zen Villas in September 2013. It was really very good. The villa was excellent, the breakfast service was very good, nice garden and splendid swinning pool.
The staff was also very helpfull.
Nothing to complains. When we will return to Bali we will book another stay there that for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear linda t. Thank you so much for your review of your stay at The Zen Villas. We are very pleased you found the villa, gardens, breakfast service, staff and the swimming pool to be "excellent" and "splendid". We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Zen Villas on your next Bali holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
112
107
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I spent with my husband 7 nights at the Zen Villas. We had the Serenity Villa. Everything was great, more than what we expected. I actually realised that the rating of the villa on Tripadvisor, booking etc. was well deserved. The villa was very big and very clean (the ladies from the cleaning stuff came twice a day to our villa and did the cleaning) and the private pool was spectacular. The villa was fully equipped. We also had a jacuzzi in the yard. We staff was extremely friendly, very prompt and always willing to help (greetings to Adi, btw:)). They arranged for us massages, the trips around the villa and the transportation from and to the airport. Actually, I was very impressed when a day before our departure I was called from the reception and asked whether we would like to have transport to the airport.

Also, I must say that we made our reservation on booking and the staff from the villa immediately emailed me and confirmed the reservation. Last, but not least, the breakfast was great - one of the staff members prepared it for us every morning at our villa.

Once again special thanks to the staff from the Zen Villas for making our honeymoon perfect. It is definitely the nicest place we have ever stayed and we shall definitely return to you on our next holiday in Bali.

Ana,
Bucharest, Romania

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana-Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Ana-Maria O. Thank you so very much for your fantastic review of your "perfect" honeymoon at The Zen Villas. It's great to hear that everything was "more than you expected", and that it is the "nicest place you have ever stayed". We hope to welcome you back again very soon - perhaps for an anniversary? PS Greetings passed on to Adi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osterode am Harz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After a trip with our rental car from Ubud to Lovina and back to Sanur we enjoyed the serenity of the Zen Villas for seven days and nights. The apartment and its amenities are excellent and the breakfast served by two young women each morning was extraordinary. After our daytrips we were looking forward to hop into our pool and cool down for relaxation. Among the many hotels we saw on our trip The Zen Villas was absolutely number one. The staff was very friendly and helpful and took care of everthing we needed. We do recommend this place to everbody who wants to stay in Sanur.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Klaus O. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Zen Villas. We're very pleased you found the villa and it's amenities "excellent", and that our breakfast was "extraordinary". We are also happy that you would recommend us to everybody, and that you voted us "number one" of the many hotels you visited in Asia. We hope you return to Bali, and to The Zen Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This place was a little hidden piece of heaven. Everyone that worked there was fantastic and very friendly, we wanted to buy them all gifts. We thought it was wonderful that is was tucked away from the main street. It was lovely walking a short 5 mins through the neighbourhood everyday to the main road. We will be coming back definitely next year with the kids. Swam in the pool everyday and every night when we came home from walking around so relaxing floating in the warm water. This was our best holiday so far.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeleTrixie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear LeleTrixie B. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of the great holiday you had at The Zen Villas. Our team will be very happy to hear you found them to be friendly and fantastic! We are looking forward to welcoming you back - this time with the kids! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 14 nights in the Harmony Villa and WOW.....this totally exceeded our expectations and was one of the best holidays to Bali we have had to date. Everything was perfect. Staff were lovely, very professional and the villa itself was absolutely spotless. We liked it so much we are booked to return next year. The villa itself is large with lots of room, would be suitable for a family and for the two of us it was a decadent treat. TIP. the recommended restaurants by Zen Villa's are all very good, we also ordered home delivery from them a few times and the quality and freshness were excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaSato2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear AmaSato2013. It was a pleasure having you at The Zen Villas. We are so very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations - WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this great feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks enjoying the hospitality of this wonderful resort situated a little off the beaten track but only 5 minutes walk to the main shopping and restaurant area of Sanur. Sanur is a quieter village than the most popular areas but still has fine dining at a very reasonable price.The unit we stayed in had 3 bedrooms, 2 outdoor modern showers and a superb pool with Bale all with luxury fittings.
The staff are very friendly, will help you get taxis supply and all the little things that need doing whilst you are on holiday. We stayed in Villa F and would reccomend this villa.
We would br happy to return to Zen another time.

Room Tip: All villas have great rooms but villa F has been modernised in the last year .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear tonyfromaus. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and your experience during your stay at The Zen Villas this month. We really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

first of all: No, we don't want to condemn the zen villas. It is a great place after all, and for the most part deserves its excellent rating. The staff are friendly and helpful, the villas are a spacious dream. The "green walls" around are nice, although not as tight as to guarantee absolute privacy. But if you are not a naturist, it shouldn't bother you too much. And it is sometimes a bit noisy at night, because of the roosters crowing every few minutes, but an ear plug can also sort this out.

However, what really made us annoyed with the place was the breakfast. For some reasons no one has ever touched the topic in the reviews. Maybe they changed that only recently.
The booking includes "continental" breakfast,but doesn't specify which continent. And probably, since the management at the Zen villas is Australian, the meant the smallest continent. You get so little you can certainly not survive a hard traveller's day. They offer top-ups like eggs or fruit or local fried rice/noodles, but when you choose a top up, you won't get you continental breakfast in turn, unless you pay an additional 50000 Rp each. Not exactly a lot of money, but the price for a full two course meal with drink in a warung. Twice we left a note on our breakfast order sheet, stating that we would like bigger portions, and both times we were neglected. Instead we were (very friendly) told to order more top-ups.
The best part was that the manual we found in the villa (which was obviously outdated) stated that breakfast each morning includes continental breakfast with 2 rolls, PLUS a fruit platter and one choice of top-ups. That is more we had asked for!
We consider that ridiculous for such a place rather expensive as the Zen Villas. In Ubud we stayed at a resort that offered a luxurous all-you-can-eat buffet, and at an overall cheaper price.

leaving the villa hungry every morning in search for the next portion did not contribute to a particularly happy stay at the zen villas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agenttravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear agenttravel77. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Zen Villas. We’ve served thousands of guests breakfast during their stays at The Zen Villas and not a single other guest has ever remarked that they felt they didn’t receive a generous and filling start to their day. The breakfasts we offer, which are prepared and served in your villa, are intended to kick-start your day’s adventure in Bali, not to sustain you through to your evening meal. For the odd occasion where a guest is particularly hungry, we are happy for guests to order two breakfasts at a small surcharge, although not a single guest is yet to request this. Other places do offer all-you-can-eat/carry buffet and perhaps this should form the basis for the selection of your hotel for your next trip. We are sorry that your breakfast experience has blemished what otherwise appeared to be a great stay at The Zen Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#2 of 78 in Sanur
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
0.3 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#8 of 139 in Sanur
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Property: The Zen Villas
Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing