We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Calm”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Zen Villas
Ranked #5 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Our visit did not start off well; the plane was delayed and we arrived hours late at Denpasar airport, tired and uncomfortable - well past midnight. From then on - things just got better and better!
Our pre-booked driver was still waiting paitiently for us. When he turned off the Sanur bypass into what looked like a rutted back alley, we wondered if he was lost (of course he wasn't) and ariving at the Villas was like dropping in on another planet - everything was handled by the security guards - the office being closed it now being 1:30 am, but we were swiftly moved, baggage as well into our amazing villa. Prepared and lit for us with the air conditioning on, welcoming drinks in the fridge it was like heaven.
Ours was the 'Harmony Villa' - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, three toilets, four showers, a pool and spa, two TVs with sixty satellite channels and DVD players, a fully equipped kitchen and lovely decor.
One room had a private walled outdoor retreat, with bath, seating area, fish pond, fountain and indoor and outdoor showers, the other room had an en-suite with a glass door from the shower to a small outdoor courtyard with another shower.
The kitchen had a convection microwave oven, fridge/freezer, hot and chilled drinking water, toaster and sandwich toaster as well as all the pots and pans and dishes you could wish for.
Both beds were king sized and very comfortable, there were also two safes for valuables.
Breakfast was brought in each morning by one or two smiling happy ladies - we chose the fruit and pastries most days. The selection was always different each morning and beautifully prepared. We never managed to eat it all and it kept us going until lunch.
All the staff were friendly and helpful - gardeners and maintenance men, the villa was cleaned very thoroughly every day and was in excellent repair.
The Villa is not near the beach, but the walk is only about 400m and although the lane is narrow and in places a bit potholed, the locals are friendly and keep it clean daily and even after dark we never felt unsafe walking (torches are provided and are useful to avoid puddles after dark despite the street lights).
There are dozens of places to eat and most deliver to your door if you don't feel like being energetic. We can recommend 'Downtown' about halfway to Hardy's the department store, where you can get almost everything at fixed prices.
Sanur is nothing like as frantic as Kuta, nuch nicer and frendlier and the beachfront walk and beach is lovely.
Hiring a car and driver is the ONLY way to see the island properly - back roads, real villages away from the tourist routes - wonderful. Adi at reception can arrange this for you - Teja our driver was very good, very safe and knowledgable.
I heartily recommend this place, the staff are all lovely, friendly and cheerful. Nothing is too much bother and if you need to unwind and relax - this is the perfect spot in lovely private luxury surroundings.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sand_gropers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Sand_gropers100. Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review of your stay with us at The Zen Villas in Sanur, Bali. We are so very pleased to have contributed to your relaxing holiday. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
112
106
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Zen Villas, Sanur. The villas were spacious and clean. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts had a huge variety and great portions (we were always full after). The pool was massive and the gardens were beautifully maintained. Very peaceful also. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to family and friends. The only thing we can suggest is perhaps offering bikes to ride from the villas to the main strip where restaurants and shopping is located. The walk was a little long for hot sunny days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellebrooks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear michellebrooks12. Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us at The Zen Villas, and thank you for your suggestion re push bikes, and your kind words about our breakfast! Much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back one day to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Zen Villas for a few nights prior to heading elsewhere for a wedding but wished we had longer!
From initial enquiry through to check-out NOTHING was too much trouble for the staff at Zen Villas. Sri Martini in particular was outstanding.

We were a little apprehensive about the location having read that it was located a while from town but taxi's were organised with no trouble and took no more than 2 minutes to arrive.
We personally loved the location of the villa’s as it felt like a sanctuary away from the craziness of the streets.

Would have absolutely NO hesitation in recommending this property to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallynPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear SallynPete. Thank you very much for letting us and others know how you found your stay at The Zen Villas. We're very pleased to hear that the entire process from initial enquiry right through to check-out was particularly noteworthy. (Sri will be pleased to hear you found her to be exceptional!) I'm glad you found our location offered a sanctuary - even though it is only 5 minutes walk to the main street, nestled amongst the village. We hope to welcome you back to stay at The Zen Villas very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Zen Villas in September 2013. It was really very good. The villa was excellent, the breakfast service was very good, nice garden and splendid swinning pool.
The staff was also very helpfull.
Nothing to complains. When we will return to Bali we will book another stay there that for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear linda t. Thank you so much for your review of your stay at The Zen Villas. We are very pleased you found the villa, gardens, breakfast service, staff and the swimming pool to be "excellent" and "splendid". We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Zen Villas on your next Bali holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I spent with my husband 7 nights at the Zen Villas. We had the Serenity Villa. Everything was great, more than what we expected. I actually realised that the rating of the villa on Tripadvisor, booking etc. was well deserved. The villa was very big and very clean (the ladies from the cleaning stuff came twice a day to our villa and did the cleaning) and the private pool was spectacular. The villa was fully equipped. We also had a jacuzzi in the yard. We staff was extremely friendly, very prompt and always willing to help (greetings to Adi, btw:)). They arranged for us massages, the trips around the villa and the transportation from and to the airport. Actually, I was very impressed when a day before our departure I was called from the reception and asked whether we would like to have transport to the airport.

Also, I must say that we made our reservation on booking and the staff from the villa immediately emailed me and confirmed the reservation. Last, but not least, the breakfast was great - one of the staff members prepared it for us every morning at our villa.

Once again special thanks to the staff from the Zen Villas for making our honeymoon perfect. It is definitely the nicest place we have ever stayed and we shall definitely return to you on our next holiday in Bali.

Ana,
Bucharest, Romania

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana-Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Ana-Maria O. Thank you so very much for your fantastic review of your "perfect" honeymoon at The Zen Villas. It's great to hear that everything was "more than you expected", and that it is the "nicest place you have ever stayed". We hope to welcome you back again very soon - perhaps for an anniversary? PS Greetings passed on to Adi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osterode am Harz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After a trip with our rental car from Ubud to Lovina and back to Sanur we enjoyed the serenity of the Zen Villas for seven days and nights. The apartment and its amenities are excellent and the breakfast served by two young women each morning was extraordinary. After our daytrips we were looking forward to hop into our pool and cool down for relaxation. Among the many hotels we saw on our trip The Zen Villas was absolutely number one. The staff was very friendly and helpful and took care of everthing we needed. We do recommend this place to everbody who wants to stay in Sanur.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Klaus O. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Zen Villas. We're very pleased you found the villa and it's amenities "excellent", and that our breakfast was "extraordinary". We are also happy that you would recommend us to everybody, and that you voted us "number one" of the many hotels you visited in Asia. We hope you return to Bali, and to The Zen Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This place was a little hidden piece of heaven. Everyone that worked there was fantastic and very friendly, we wanted to buy them all gifts. We thought it was wonderful that is was tucked away from the main street. It was lovely walking a short 5 mins through the neighbourhood everyday to the main road. We will be coming back definitely next year with the kids. Swam in the pool everyday and every night when we came home from walking around so relaxing floating in the warm water. This was our best holiday so far.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeleTrixie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear LeleTrixie B. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of the great holiday you had at The Zen Villas. Our team will be very happy to hear you found them to be friendly and fantastic! We are looking forward to welcoming you back - this time with the kids! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#5 of 140 in Sanur
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Property: The Zen Villas
Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing