We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Zen Villas
Ranked #6 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in the Tranquility Villa, villa D from 28 December to 2 January. From the moment we were picked up by their personal driver, to the moment we checked out, we were treated like royalty. The staff were fantastic.
The villa was amazing. Plenty of space, decorated beautifully and a swimming pool you won't want to get out of.
Upon check in, we filled in breakfast form and a time when we wanted it. A member of staff would come to your villa and prepare your breakfast and serve it on the outdoor setting. Breakfast was plentiful and kept us going until lunch. We ordered in a few nights due to bad weather and security would see the delivery to your villa.
Upon returning from a day out, your villa is cleaned, leaves swept, pool maintained and beds turned down. The little things like flowers on your kitchen bench, chocolates on your pillow, actually made the holiday that much better.
The villa has everything you need, check all the drawers, you will soon see that for yourself!

It is approx 5 mins to walk to the main road of Sanur and a further 15 mins walk to Hardys. All the time, safe.

We will definitely return to these villas. We have been spoilt now.

Say hi to Chelsea, Security's little dog when you get there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikki_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mikki_jr That you so much for your fabulous review of your stay with us during the Christmas/New Year period. We love our guests to feel like royalty, and our team will be pleased to hear you thought they were fantastic. We look forward to spoiling you again on your return. PS Check our our Facebook page for updates about Chelsea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Wonderful villa, fantastic staff (even gave us a cake on my wife's birthday...thank you). Great pool (Harmony villa). Would highly recommend and we will book again shortly for this years holiday. Walk to main street was OK and no problems, even during a down pour (kids loved splashing through puddles). Note that bedrooms in this villa are not interconnected but others in the complex are.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank RobfromBusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear RobfromBusso. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of your “awesome” holiday at The Zen Villas. We’re very happy to hear your found the villa (Harmony) to be wonderful, and that our team were fantastic – they will be very happy to hear that! We look forward to hearing from you to plan your next visit this year. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed in Peace villa for 6 nights. We asked for large pool as we love swimming and it was our wedding anniversary. We were given the smallest pool which was disappointing. The bed in this villa is rock hard. Breakfast is very average for the price. The only thing to choose if you are hungry in the morning is the pancakes. Long walk to the Main Street. Staff were lovely
Turndown at night is just that, no replacing of towels or topping up tea and coffee.
First hotel I have ever stayed in Bali where they did not acknowledge a special occasion
Not likely to stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Carolyn W. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of your experience with us. Our differing villa categories all have different sized pools. You booked and paid for a Peace Villa, which has a plunge pool. We were fully booked at the time of your stay, so your requested free upgrade was not able to be accommodated. I am sorry you feel we did not acknowledge your special occasion. In our experience, honeymoon and anniversary couples enjoy quiet and undisturbed time together – I’m not really sure what your expectations were but we would have been delighted to have arranged something special for you on request. Your stay included a Continental Breakfast – our offering far exceeds this and we’re sorry you found it disappointing. Thank you for the feedback about the mattress. That villa is earmarked for new mattresses very soon. Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We loved it here, it was so peaceful and serene. We stayed in a tranquility villa and although the pool was not massive it was very private and you could get about 12 strokes per length. The jacuzzi was lovely and the bale with fan under the roof was a lovely touch for on hot days. The two bedroomed apartment was nice with only one negative really. The gaps in the exterior doors are quite large so you do get plenty of bugs in. Luckily it's wide enough for lizards too so we appreciated the gecko visits as there were lots of Mosquitos inside and out. It's obviously an issue as the zen villas supply the rooms with insect repellant coils and tablets but they don't seem to work very well. As nice as the outside bathroom was we decided not to use it as even through the day the Mosquitos tended to hang around in there. Our whole family got scores of mosquito bites each despite being covered in repellant but that was the only negative about the place. The staff were all fantastic! They were the most unobtrusive and considerate staff ever - all of which smile constantly. The breakfasts were a real luxury, it was so nice to be able to choose and book your time slot then to be served it next your your pool after a morning dip. The little touches like the turn down service where they add little biscuit parcels on your pillow every evening was nice too. We would highly recommend zen villas if for a peaceful and tranquil stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank YvieLeeds_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear YvieLeeds_. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Zen Villas in August 2013. We’re very happy to hear that you found “total tranquility”, and that your thought our team was “the most unobtrusive and considerate staff ever”! You will be pleased to hear that since your stay 6 months ago, we finally secured permission and have proceeded to remove the bamboo plantation in our neighbour’s yard – which posed a health risk to locals and tourists. We’ve noted a huge improvement in the moquito population (although the geckos are looking thin). Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Zen Villas in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Our visit did not start off well; the plane was delayed and we arrived hours late at Denpasar airport, tired and uncomfortable - well past midnight. From then on - things just got better and better!
Our pre-booked driver was still waiting paitiently for us. When he turned off the Sanur bypass into what looked like a rutted back alley, we wondered if he was lost (of course he wasn't) and ariving at the Villas was like dropping in on another planet - everything was handled by the security guards - the office being closed it now being 1:30 am, but we were swiftly moved, baggage as well into our amazing villa. Prepared and lit for us with the air conditioning on, welcoming drinks in the fridge it was like heaven.
Ours was the 'Harmony Villa' - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, three toilets, four showers, a pool and spa, two TVs with sixty satellite channels and DVD players, a fully equipped kitchen and lovely decor.
One room had a private walled outdoor retreat, with bath, seating area, fish pond, fountain and indoor and outdoor showers, the other room had an en-suite with a glass door from the shower to a small outdoor courtyard with another shower.
The kitchen had a convection microwave oven, fridge/freezer, hot and chilled drinking water, toaster and sandwich toaster as well as all the pots and pans and dishes you could wish for.
Both beds were king sized and very comfortable, there were also two safes for valuables.
Breakfast was brought in each morning by one or two smiling happy ladies - we chose the fruit and pastries most days. The selection was always different each morning and beautifully prepared. We never managed to eat it all and it kept us going until lunch.
All the staff were friendly and helpful - gardeners and maintenance men, the villa was cleaned very thoroughly every day and was in excellent repair.
The Villa is not near the beach, but the walk is only about 400m and although the lane is narrow and in places a bit potholed, the locals are friendly and keep it clean daily and even after dark we never felt unsafe walking (torches are provided and are useful to avoid puddles after dark despite the street lights).
There are dozens of places to eat and most deliver to your door if you don't feel like being energetic. We can recommend 'Downtown' about halfway to Hardy's the department store, where you can get almost everything at fixed prices.
Sanur is nothing like as frantic as Kuta, nuch nicer and frendlier and the beachfront walk and beach is lovely.
Hiring a car and driver is the ONLY way to see the island properly - back roads, real villages away from the tourist routes - wonderful. Adi at reception can arrange this for you - Teja our driver was very good, very safe and knowledgable.
I heartily recommend this place, the staff are all lovely, friendly and cheerful. Nothing is too much bother and if you need to unwind and relax - this is the perfect spot in lovely private luxury surroundings.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sand_gropers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Sand_gropers100. Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review of your stay with us at The Zen Villas in Sanur, Bali. We are so very pleased to have contributed to your relaxing holiday. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Zen Villas, Sanur. The villas were spacious and clean. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts had a huge variety and great portions (we were always full after). The pool was massive and the gardens were beautifully maintained. Very peaceful also. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to family and friends. The only thing we can suggest is perhaps offering bikes to ride from the villas to the main strip where restaurants and shopping is located. The walk was a little long for hot sunny days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellebrooks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear michellebrooks12. Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us at The Zen Villas, and thank you for your suggestion re push bikes, and your kind words about our breakfast! Much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back one day to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Zen Villas for a few nights prior to heading elsewhere for a wedding but wished we had longer!
From initial enquiry through to check-out NOTHING was too much trouble for the staff at Zen Villas. Sri Martini in particular was outstanding.

We were a little apprehensive about the location having read that it was located a while from town but taxi's were organised with no trouble and took no more than 2 minutes to arrive.
We personally loved the location of the villa’s as it felt like a sanctuary away from the craziness of the streets.

Would have absolutely NO hesitation in recommending this property to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallynPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear SallynPete. Thank you very much for letting us and others know how you found your stay at The Zen Villas. We're very pleased to hear that the entire process from initial enquiry right through to check-out was particularly noteworthy. (Sri will be pleased to hear you found her to be exceptional!) I'm glad you found our location offered a sanctuary - even though it is only 5 minutes walk to the main street, nestled amongst the village. We hope to welcome you back to stay at The Zen Villas very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tandjung Sari Hotel
Tandjung Sari Hotel
#6 of 82 in Sanur
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
0.8 mi away
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
0.1 mi away
Klumpu Bali Resort
Klumpu Bali Resort
#3 of 82 in Sanur
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £89 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing