We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven..”
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Zen Villas
Ranked #7 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heaven..”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a Fabulous Place to stay! I had 15 nights here with my Family, one of which is 4 year old. Lovely warm friendly staff but never obtrusive. The Villa was private from other Villas, so feels like you are in your own little Paradise. Breakfast was prepared every day for us, the Villa was serviced every day , the grounds and gardens are kept Beautifully but still it felt like we had the place to our self's. Having our own pool was great, and again was maintained at a high level. A wonderful experience , well worth the cost and the long flight from the UK..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biddieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear biddieboy. Thank you so much for your fabulous review of your stay at The Zen Villas. We're so pleased to hear it was a wonderful experience, and that it was worth the long trek from the UK! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    44
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
109
101
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krasnodar, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Splendid stay! Villa "buried" in the greenery. Spacious and comfortable villa. Gorgeous pool. Peace and a sense of privacy and peace. The beach, restaurants, shops within walking distance. Convenient place to organize excursions around the island. Caring and friendly staff villas, helping to solve any problems. Great attitude from the moment of meeting before parting. Holiday every day! Be sure to return to this hospitable place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Andrey.K Thank you so much for letting us and others know of the splendid stay you had with us. We look forward to your return. Don't forget, returning guests qualify for a special "loyalty" discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in the Tranquility Villa, villa D from 28 December to 2 January. From the moment we were picked up by their personal driver, to the moment we checked out, we were treated like royalty. The staff were fantastic.
The villa was amazing. Plenty of space, decorated beautifully and a swimming pool you won't want to get out of.
Upon check in, we filled in breakfast form and a time when we wanted it. A member of staff would come to your villa and prepare your breakfast and serve it on the outdoor setting. Breakfast was plentiful and kept us going until lunch. We ordered in a few nights due to bad weather and security would see the delivery to your villa.
Upon returning from a day out, your villa is cleaned, leaves swept, pool maintained and beds turned down. The little things like flowers on your kitchen bench, chocolates on your pillow, actually made the holiday that much better.
The villa has everything you need, check all the drawers, you will soon see that for yourself!

It is approx 5 mins to walk to the main road of Sanur and a further 15 mins walk to Hardys. All the time, safe.

We will definitely return to these villas. We have been spoilt now.

Say hi to Chelsea, Security's little dog when you get there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikki_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mikki_jr That you so much for your fabulous review of your stay with us during the Christmas/New Year period. We love our guests to feel like royalty, and our team will be pleased to hear you thought they were fantastic. We look forward to spoiling you again on your return. PS Check our our Facebook page for updates about Chelsea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Wonderful villa, fantastic staff (even gave us a cake on my wife's birthday...thank you). Great pool (Harmony villa). Would highly recommend and we will book again shortly for this years holiday. Walk to main street was OK and no problems, even during a down pour (kids loved splashing through puddles). Note that bedrooms in this villa are not interconnected but others in the complex are.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RobfromBusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear RobfromBusso. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of your “awesome” holiday at The Zen Villas. We’re very happy to hear your found the villa (Harmony) to be wonderful, and that our team were fantastic – they will be very happy to hear that! We look forward to hearing from you to plan your next visit this year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed in Peace villa for 6 nights. We asked for large pool as we love swimming and it was our wedding anniversary. We were given the smallest pool which was disappointing. The bed in this villa is rock hard. Breakfast is very average for the price. The only thing to choose if you are hungry in the morning is the pancakes. Long walk to the Main Street. Staff were lovely
Turndown at night is just that, no replacing of towels or topping up tea and coffee.
First hotel I have ever stayed in Bali where they did not acknowledge a special occasion
Not likely to stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Carolyn W. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know of your experience with us. Our differing villa categories all have different sized pools. You booked and paid for a Peace Villa, which has a plunge pool. We were fully booked at the time of your stay, so your requested free upgrade was not able to be accommodated. I am sorry you feel we did not acknowledge your special occasion. In our experience, honeymoon and anniversary couples enjoy quiet and undisturbed time together – I’m not really sure what your expectations were but we would have been delighted to have arranged something special for you on request. Your stay included a Continental Breakfast – our offering far exceeds this and we’re sorry you found it disappointing. Thank you for the feedback about the mattress. That villa is earmarked for new mattresses very soon. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We loved it here, it was so peaceful and serene. We stayed in a tranquility villa and although the pool was not massive it was very private and you could get about 12 strokes per length. The jacuzzi was lovely and the bale with fan under the roof was a lovely touch for on hot days. The two bedroomed apartment was nice with only one negative really. The gaps in the exterior doors are quite large so you do get plenty of bugs in. Luckily it's wide enough for lizards too so we appreciated the gecko visits as there were lots of Mosquitos inside and out. It's obviously an issue as the zen villas supply the rooms with insect repellant coils and tablets but they don't seem to work very well. As nice as the outside bathroom was we decided not to use it as even through the day the Mosquitos tended to hang around in there. Our whole family got scores of mosquito bites each despite being covered in repellant but that was the only negative about the place. The staff were all fantastic! They were the most unobtrusive and considerate staff ever - all of which smile constantly. The breakfasts were a real luxury, it was so nice to be able to choose and book your time slot then to be served it next your your pool after a morning dip. The little touches like the turn down service where they add little biscuit parcels on your pillow every evening was nice too. We would highly recommend zen villas if for a peaceful and tranquil stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YvieLeeds_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear YvieLeeds_. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Zen Villas in August 2013. We’re very happy to hear that you found “total tranquility”, and that your thought our team was “the most unobtrusive and considerate staff ever”! You will be pleased to hear that since your stay 6 months ago, we finally secured permission and have proceeded to remove the bamboo plantation in our neighbour’s yard – which posed a health risk to locals and tourists. We’ve noted a huge improvement in the moquito population (although the geckos are looking thin). Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to The Zen Villas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Our visit did not start off well; the plane was delayed and we arrived hours late at Denpasar airport, tired and uncomfortable - well past midnight. From then on - things just got better and better!
Our pre-booked driver was still waiting paitiently for us. When he turned off the Sanur bypass into what looked like a rutted back alley, we wondered if he was lost (of course he wasn't) and ariving at the Villas was like dropping in on another planet - everything was handled by the security guards - the office being closed it now being 1:30 am, but we were swiftly moved, baggage as well into our amazing villa. Prepared and lit for us with the air conditioning on, welcoming drinks in the fridge it was like heaven.
Ours was the 'Harmony Villa' - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, three toilets, four showers, a pool and spa, two TVs with sixty satellite channels and DVD players, a fully equipped kitchen and lovely decor.
One room had a private walled outdoor retreat, with bath, seating area, fish pond, fountain and indoor and outdoor showers, the other room had an en-suite with a glass door from the shower to a small outdoor courtyard with another shower.
The kitchen had a convection microwave oven, fridge/freezer, hot and chilled drinking water, toaster and sandwich toaster as well as all the pots and pans and dishes you could wish for.
Both beds were king sized and very comfortable, there were also two safes for valuables.
Breakfast was brought in each morning by one or two smiling happy ladies - we chose the fruit and pastries most days. The selection was always different each morning and beautifully prepared. We never managed to eat it all and it kept us going until lunch.
All the staff were friendly and helpful - gardeners and maintenance men, the villa was cleaned very thoroughly every day and was in excellent repair.
The Villa is not near the beach, but the walk is only about 400m and although the lane is narrow and in places a bit potholed, the locals are friendly and keep it clean daily and even after dark we never felt unsafe walking (torches are provided and are useful to avoid puddles after dark despite the street lights).
There are dozens of places to eat and most deliver to your door if you don't feel like being energetic. We can recommend 'Downtown' about halfway to Hardy's the department store, where you can get almost everything at fixed prices.
Sanur is nothing like as frantic as Kuta, nuch nicer and frendlier and the beachfront walk and beach is lovely.
Hiring a car and driver is the ONLY way to see the island properly - back roads, real villages away from the tourist routes - wonderful. Adi at reception can arrange this for you - Teja our driver was very good, very safe and knowledgable.
I heartily recommend this place, the staff are all lovely, friendly and cheerful. Nothing is too much bother and if you need to unwind and relax - this is the perfect spot in lovely private luxury surroundings.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sand_gropers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaxZeni, Director of Sales at The Zen Villas, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Sand_gropers100. Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review of your stay with us at The Zen Villas in Sanur, Bali. We are so very pleased to have contributed to your relaxing holiday. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
0.3 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#3 of 139 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maya Sanur Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Property: The Zen Villas
Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing