We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Zen Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Zen Villas
Ranked #6 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tropical oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Had our summer holiday at the Zen Villas..couldnt fault it. Really spacious villa that was tastefully decorated. The outside area was just as nice with a massive Bagoda ( think thats how it's spelt ) with lots of cushions and a ceiling fan, that was perfect for relaxing or reading in the midday sun. The pool was nice and big enough for us all to have a splash around in. Staff were fantastic..from the reception to the maids you were always greeted with a warm smile and a helpful attitude. We all loved the Zen Villas experience and would definetly return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    44
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
109
101
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed with my wife in villa D for nine nights and from the first minute we knew that we would enjoy our stay . The villa has everything you could ever want while on holiday and offers very peaceful and luxurious surroundings. The staff from the moment we arrived were most helpful , very friendly and would do everything they could to make your stay enjoyable. Trish and her team cannot be commended enough for their attitude and the way they strive to make your holiday a success.
The Zen Villas are set in a residential area and are about a ten minute walk to the main area of Sanur , although poorly lit at night the walk is very pleasant , among very friendly local people who never failed to say hello when we were passing.
Breakfast was always served at the designated time in the morning and always with a smile from the staff.
Sanur itself we found to have a great choice of restaurants with great food of very reasonable price.
We always felt very safe while walking around and witout doubt will be returning to the Zen Villas next year as we cannot fault the place in any way .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmac2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

we stayed at Zen Villa B and had the most wonderfull relaxing holiday.

The Villa itself offered 1st class facilities and it was surrounded by beautifull gardens and staff and of course, the plunge pool which i spent many happy hours in. The Villa had a well equipped kitchen for you to use if needed and the rest of the Villa was decorated in very good taste which had a flavour of the Balineese lifestyle.

For a couple of oldies the walk to the main Village took us approx. 15-20mins, younger ones would do it perhaps in 10mins, but we found as we wound our way through the lanes, the many smiling faces of the Balineese peoples who would always say hello and give us a wave, this we thoroughly enjoyed.

The Sanur Beach was maybe another 10mins, for us, from the Main Street, the beach offering many Resorts, Resturants and Cafes as well as the Shindu Market at the end of the boardwalk. It was so very relaxing sitting at the Beach, having lunch or Dinner and watching the world go by, so peacefull and serene.

The Zen Villas are close to everything, theres a Supermarket in the main Street, we would buy food needed and then catch a cab home which would cost around about a $1 Aussie money.

I would reccommend the Villa to anyone, they were beautifull and the ambience of the Villa was relaxing, peacefull and calm, a fantastic place to get away from the rat race and enjoy your holiday in peace and tranquility. I personally, would class Zen Villa B as 4-5 star Accommodation .

In finishing my review i would also congratulate the people you will deal with in booking this Villa. Allan and Liene will give you so much detailed information on the Villa, whats available to you, and will keep in touch with you right up to the time you leave for you holiday, they leave no stone unturned and his imformation will be extremely helpfull.

To those who book this Villa, sit back and enjoy the experience, we loved it so i am sure you will too!

Alison and Peter McRae

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillieAdelaideSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed for 3 nights as a treat at the end of our two weeks of 'on-the-go' travelling - we just absolutely loved it to bits!

I found this place on the Internet via their website, emailed the owner and got a response back very quickly from an Australian so 'no broken english'! Payment was easy direct debit to their overseas account, which they will help you do if you are new to International transfers - not like ABL Travel (N.B. WARNING: DO NOT BOOK THROUGH ABL TRAVEL - THEY TAKE YOUR MONEY BEFORE CONFIRMATION AND WILL NOT REFUND YOUR MONEY!! They STILL owe me money after 3 months and do not answer emails.) Anyway after speaking to Zen directly we found out the manager owns and lives in one of the villas. They said that each of the Villa's are privately owned by different people and are basically 'rented' out which is why you get such good value for money.

We dropped our main bags there 3 days before our first night (so we could just take a small backpack each over to Nusa Lembongan) without prior organisation, which was no problem - they even knew me by name when I told them which day we were coming back!

When we arrived back again, our bags were already in our room. We stayed in the "Tranquility Villa" which is definately worth the extra $20 a night because it was towards the back of the complex and we had our own private pool AND outdoor spa. Our villa was two bedroom, but they just locked the second room off so we DIDN'T have to pay the two bedroom price - unheard of anywhere else in Bali - so it really is great value for money for a couple travelling alone. (However we will be going back with my sister and her husband next year!) The villa had EVERYTHING: outdoor BBQ, outdoor bale, laundry, decked out kitchen, tv/dvd, STUNNING indoor/outdoor bathroom with huge bathtub with jets, helmets and bicycles, etc etc the list goes on and on). Breakfast was brought to our room (they would ring the doorbell on our outdoor garden gate) and made by one of the staff in our own kitchen and served at our outdoor dining area. We stocked our fridge with supplies from the local supermarket for cocktails by the pool, however the owner said they would have been happy to stock our fridge for us before we arrived. Also included in the price were 2 airport transfers (pickup and drop-off) but because we weren't picked up, the owners happily gave us two seperate transfers for our different flights home.

The upside of the location was that it was away from the traffic noise and it was completely private. The downside was that it took about 10 minutes to walk to the restaurant strip/beach through a maze of little laneways. Even though it felt very safe, we always got a lift back at night. We just flagged down one of the bemo's (the van's that beep at you as they drive past you on the main street) to take us back which we paid 5,000RP (approx AU60cents?) each but I'm sure that's negotiable too! Oh and one day the owners of the Zen Villas gave us a lift to the main street in their own car!

All in all, we loved it and it was actually one of the highlights of our trip. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raylee_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We a family of four stayed 10 days in the Tranquility Villa in july 2010. We payed 1690 € for the stay in Villa D, one of the best in the Zen complex. Tricia Bailey the managing director, was very fast to respond at any question we have before confirming our stay. When arrival at the airport we have to stand i a Visa queue for more than 2 houers, but the driver was waiting for us just outside the luggage receipt. The drive from airport to the Villa takes about 25 minuts. The Villa neighborhood is others villas and local people, but first impression when arrival at night is rather portentous. But in the day and when you get to know the neighborhood it is very safe and the local people greet You.

The staff in the Villa is very nice and will do their very best so You will have a fantastic holiday. MY family are divers, and one morning the the car to the dive site should live at 07.00. AM. The staf then sereved our breakfest at 06.30. We used Crystal divers in Sanur, and have a fantastic day diving at Nusa Penida, diving with Gigant Manta Ray.

The Villa is aboat 500 meters walt to the main Sanmur street Jalan Danau Tamblingan, and the same distance to Hardys supermarked ( take to left when living the Vila ). A taxi trip in Sanur will cost Yoy about 20.000 RP. We also usesd the privat driver of the Villa for our day trips, and the priced was very reasonable , 300.000.-500.000 RP for a whole day.

If You like going the beach, the Kuta and Legian aria is much better. The Sanur beach is protected by a reef, but much of the beach is full of seaweed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

My partner and i stayed in the 'PEACE Villa' in May 2010. Both leading hectic, busy and, unfortunately, stressful lives we were in desperate need of some R & R and that is exactly what we were blessed with.
From the moment we arrived the staff were ever-available yet rarely seen. It was a nice touch as opposed to the large resorts we have stayed in. The guys on the security gates at the front of the complex were always good to share a laugh with while they get you a taxi....even when we got home in the early hours after an 'extended' dinner and drinks......more focus on the drinks that night!!!
Best thing was that the next day we could relax in our own space. Large private grounds in the villa with a refreshing private pool. We clocked many hours on the sunchairs reading / snoozing enjoying the beautiful weather. My partner tanned up beautifully while i on the other hand, to put it one way, turned a little beetroot.....
Because you have your own kitchen we saved money by buying supplies and cooking breakfast each morning and flicked through the 60 odd channels on the cable TV while we let it settle with our coffees in the air-conditioning. They have, which we needed to keep in touch, very fast WI-FI internet too.
It was such a great little find as we have in the past gone to Kuta (too busy now) but we're so glad to have tried something new. Great restaurants close by along with a Supermarket for nibblys and bottled water to stock up the fridge.
It really is a little paradise tucked away in paradise. Thanks to all the staff who ensured our holiday was a memorable, relaxing and happy experience. I look forward to coming back.
Cheers,
Steve.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Having visited Bali many times, but this being the first time we had rented a villa, we were delighted with our stay at Villa C, Zen Villas. This 2 bedroom villa was so spacious - big bedrooms, a kitchen with more appliances than we knew what to do with, wonderfully appointed with everything we needed for our 8 night stay. The staff were unobtrusive but always on hand to provide friendly assistance and advice. We spent hours lounging around Villa C's own private pool -larger than most so we could actually swim -and at the open air dining table. We found the villa to be very private, and quiet as it is set well off the main road. The short walk to the main street and the beach was easy - and there was a wide choice of restaurants and cafes to choose from. We had a very enjoyable stay- it was very stylish, comfortable accommodation in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.8 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Emerald Villas
Emerald Villas
#6 of 137 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Villas

Property: The Zen Villas
Address: Jln. Kesari # 3B, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zen Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zen Villa is a complex of beautiful private pool villas set in a quiet and lush tropical garden setting. Available as one, two, or in some cases, three bedrooms, each villa is unique, and features air-conditioned, king-size, en-suite bedrooms. The villa kitchens are well equipped, and adjoin an air-conditioned lounge area with LCD TV (cable) and DVD/CD player. A beautiful alfresco terrace is the perfect place to be served breakfast. This is an ideal resort for a couple, a family, or a group of friends - quiet and tranquil whilst being within easy reach of shops, restaurants and the beach. Guest service is our specialty. The friendly and knowledgeable team are available to assist from your first enquiry, right through to your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Zen Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zen Villas Hotel Sanur
The Zen Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing