We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Buntut”
Review of Cafe Batu Jimbar

Cafe Batu Jimbar
Ranked #47 of 436 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
UK
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Buntut”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent ages looking for Sop Buntut and finally found it. Service was good and the tables nicely spaced. We began with the Indonesian tapas/meze which consisted of fried corn cake, fresh and fried spring rolls and sate. We followed that with Buntut and the longtong which were all perfectly nice but nothing particularly out of the ordinary. I felt a bit more spiciness was needed but this probably just our personal preference.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomski2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    409
    145
    46
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Bali”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My family spends two weeks in Bali every August and Cafe Batu Jimbar is one of our favourite places to dine. There is something for everyone. They use fresh local ingredients and the food tastes "home-made". The ambience is stylish yet casual. The owners have great taste. The staff are friendly of a little slow at times but this is Bali! Great value too. They have theme nights such as salsa and jazz so you may want to check that out before you arrive. The place is always buzzy but we have never been turned away.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ginny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A MUST EAT PLACE IN SANUR”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Bali - for very many reasons and there is very little to fault if any. The food is excellent and I am addicted to the Nasi Campur - one of the best ever anywhere. They have a good selection of dishes all at quite reasonable prices and their drinks selection especially their fresh, healthy juices is unsurpassed. The setting of this cafe/restaurant is also excellent, very relaxed. You can drop by anytime for a meal or just a cup of coffee and a great place to catch up with friends. I absolutely adore this place and have been there many times. Sitting outside under a tree on a cool or warm night having a wonderful meal and watching the people and traffice go by on Jalan Danau Tamblingan is just a great past time. On Saturday night they have a band playing and the other night they even had Tango dancers. The vibe here is very special, relaxed, clean, friendly but not in your face and a great place to people watch.

Do yourself a favour and have a meal there and just sit there and relax and watch experience life in Sanur on a lazy afternoon or cool evening. I always make it a point to go there each time I am in Bali. Love love love this place muchly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Batu Jimbar is an elegant eatery. I particularly like the Sunday Market there that opens at 10am. The Gado Gado is fantastic but you sometimes have to wait for it for half an hour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Refreshingly different.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This cafe/restaurant is situated across the road from Hardy's and along a little. Had breakfast here on a number of occasions. The menu is different from all the others. Some nice little touches. Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon served with a couple of slices of freshly baked wholemeal bread, lightly toasted. Homemade "pukkola" muesli with fresh fruit, blueberries, yogurt and honey was one of my favourites. Excellent espresso and Americano. The staff are pleasant and attentive, service is good. On Sunday there's a mini market selling fresh fruit and veg, and a buffet of more local dishes. There's a small deli called The Pantry attached to Batu Jimbar as well. Have a coffee and a pastry and watch the world go by!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Batu Jimbar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Batu Jimbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing