We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great italian restaurant”

Massimo - Italian Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Italian cuisine with specialties of Salento (south-east coast of Italy). Pizza with natural levitation and fire wood oven. Homemade Gelato. Daily production of Mozzarella, Burrata, Ricotta and Mascarpone cheese. Homemade pasta: fettuccine, tortellini with beef filling, agnolotti with ham and mushrooms, ravioli with ricotta and spinach. Oven baked bread. Large Selection Gluten Free Menu.
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I really like the welcome bread, its so tasty.. The spaghetti A.O.P. Pomodoro was also great, its really light so it doesnt make you full so fast.. The cesar salad was okay, i have taste better salad dressing, but it was okay overall.. The drinks such cappuccino and orange juice were standard... The place was comfortable, there is enough spaces between tables, so it maintained the privacy...

Thank Batosai777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Grazie ...Italian way to say thanks.
Thanks dining at Massimo and time to write your nice review.
Look for to meet you again soon.
Yours,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,423 of 2,937 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

This restaraunt is a MUST GO every time we are in Bali.
Great Italian food on par and better than our local offerings here in Perth but at better price. Pizza is great if you like thin and crispy!
A/C room if you need it (book). or outdoors area too.

Thank Team_Zissou_Frogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Grazie real Italian way to say Thanks for your nice review.
Look for to meet again soon.
Yours,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Massimo never fails to deliver good Italian fare across the entire range. The menu is wider than any to be found in the standard Leichhardt or Haberfield restaurant and more generous by far. I ordered paglia e fieno boscaiola and asked for extra sauce, used to the meagre amounts dished out in Sydney. My meal arrived with an embarrassment of lush saucing - and the extra dish of creamy sauce, as requested.

Service is always prompt and gracious, with useful recommendations.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Many thanks for your support to our work.
Look for to meet again soon.
Yours,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Pizza was cold and not cooked properly. The chicken was deep fried and potato croquettes deep fried. Mushroom sauce was tasty and the saute veg was nice. Service was good.

Thank Irena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Irena,
as I can read you order "Petti di Pollo con Crema e Funghi" and menu explain exactly "Deep fried chicken breast with fresh mushrooms sauce sauté vegetables and potato croquette" ...how did you expect the chicken to be cooked ?
Our pizza is cooked with a crispy crust outside and soft inside ...on request we can overcook too.
Yours,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

After hearing much about Massimo we were very disappointed. I visited in the afternoon to check the menu and liked what I saw. I was told reservations would not be required and to arrive around 7pm. When we arrived at 7 for dinner there were many staff moving around the restaurant but no-one spoke to us. We had to ask 3 times for a table before someone told us that they were booked out despite being only a quarter full at the time. Our staff member suggested we come back in an hour which we did and were given a table in the smokers' section.

Our meal was quite good but each course was slow to arrive and came at different times. Perhaps the staff were busier than usual but the long wait and meals not arriving together spoiled our experience.

We found a much nicer Italian restaurant closer to Sanur the following night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Massimo - Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Scott,
I read every and value every comment. Feel sorry if something went wrong to your experience.
Reservation is highly recommended has you could read from any previous comment.
Indeed to eat at our restaurant is not a fast food. Despite busy time we kept our quality as day one (10 years of activity) and every meal is cooked table by table after guests place their order.
Hope you had a nice holiday in Bali.
Yours,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Massimo - Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Massimo - Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing