We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but very basic budget accommodation.”
Review of Hotel Palm Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palm Garden
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I would agree with scarlet47 review. We stayed in the same family suite 4B and encountered the same water leaks, paint peeling and a very smelly bathroom in main bedroom! I did mention to the staff that the show drain was blocked in the main bedroom which was promptly fixed but it didn't fix the smell! Some of the furnishings are getting a little tired. Parents with small children need to watch the slipper tiles on the stairwells. You'd expect more for the price you pay. Oh and look elsewhere for internet access as the price is quite expensive.

On the plus side the place was clean, gardens well presented, excellent location short walk to Sanur beach and the staff seemed very nice apart from one front desk guy who needs some training in smiling and public relations. The pool was great, atmosphere was relaxing with little to no road noise, roosters, dogs, no loud mosques prayers or night club noise. Close to the shops, restaurants and the bypass.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Made_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2010

We are a family of 2 adults 2 children aged 9 and 7 yrs.

We got a very cheap deal with Air Asia on the flights so this was our second trip to Bali in 2009. To keep the whole holiday as inexpensive as possible I chose an inexpensive hotel. This time we chose Sanur over Kuta and much prefered it.

The hotel sent a driver to pick us up (100,000RP) from the airport. I was very apprehensive about the hotel but there was no need. Reception staff were ok once you got to know them. The wait staff were very friendly.

Our first room , the one we had booked was 480,000rp per night. It was the 2 bed family room - upstairs. We found it a bit dark and not fantastically clean - the fridge especially. The floors. bathroom(a few rusty bits and exposed wires), beds etc were spotlessly clean just things like the fridge, the ceiling fans were dirty. This room has a living area, 1 queen size bedroom and 2 x single bed bedroom - 2 bathrooms, and a balcony.

But I knew we were not staying in a 4 star hotel this time so was prepared to put up with it as the pool area was lovely and also quite.

The next day we changed to the Presidental Suite for 800,000rp per night. This was much brighter and cleaner. It has 2 huge bedrooms both with queen size beds(1 four poster). Showers were fine, air-con really cold. Again - fridge could have been cleaner but I cleaned it myself. Only complaint was the beds were so hard but we got used to them.The balcony was huge and overlooking the beautiful gardens and pool. The restaurant makes the best satay's and brekkie of toast, fruit and coffee is included.

Down to the beach and turn right - there are some great restaurants along there. Walking distance is the Cat & the Fiddle pub which does great food too.

Overall we loved the small hotel and friendly staff and the fact that our holiday cost so little and was so enjoyable. We will definitely return here but will ask them to change the mattress and to hire a brand new fridge for our stay.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank lizab750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

After reading the reviews on trip advisor we booked 3 nights here. It was classed as mid range in the Lonely Planet guide however feel that this is an overstatement. I'm surprised to be still reading such good reviews. We were booked into room 4B upstairs. Whilst the 2 bedrooms were large, they were a little outdated and gloomy. Our room was in need of serious repairs. Paint peeling from the ceiling in the living room and water dripping from the exposed pipes in both bathrooms on to the "marble" tiles where my young daughter took a very nasty slip. When she went to get into bed it was very wet - also water dripping from above. We asked to be moved to another room but were unable to get a unit and could only get two seperate rooms which were unsuitable due to the age of our girls. The staff here were like robots, very inattentive and didn't seem at all happy to be there. The restaurant was average. The hotel however is close to the beach and the shopping streets however I suggest you look around before you book this one. I feel there will be better out there for much the same money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarlet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We booked directly with the hotel and paid about £18 per night for the room including a simple breakfast. The hotel is in the south of Sanur, just off the roundabout at the bottom of Jl Danau Tamblingan, opposite the Stana Puri Gopa, and about a 2 minute stroll to the beach. Taxi from the airport cost 95000Rp and journey time was about 30 mins. The room was on the ground floor looking out onto the small but beautiful garden in the middle of the hotel. There was a small terrace with table and 2 chairs, and drying rail. The room was a decent size, with TV, wardrobe, mini bar, and large bed. The bathroom was quite dark but clean; there were some large ants in there when we first arrived but a can of Baygon bug spray from a nearby shop soon got rid of these and kept the room bug free. Towels and bedding were changed daily. There was a very minor leak from the air-con unit pipe into the bathroom, so there was always a small freezing cold puddle on the bathroom floor, but a minor complaint, and it didn't bother me for the money I was paying. Breakfast was in the delightful restaurant, and it was a simple breakfast, literally 2 slices of toast, some butter and some jam. But you could buy breakfast from the menu, the usual thing of eggs, mie goreng, nasi goreng etc, and this was very cheap and just added to your room bill. The pool was a nice size, not many sunbeds, but the hotel is only a short walk to the beach where you can hire a pair of sunbeds for 20000Rp (cheaper than northern Sanur). In the immediate vicinity were plenty of shops and restaurants. Overall, a great budget hotel, not perfect but very good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happynoodleboy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We are a family with 3 young kids ,stayed in the upstairs 2 bedroom ambassedor suite.The place was close to the beach,quiet,cheap, clean ,relaxing & very comfortable.Staff were very friendly & helpful.Easy to have a great holiday here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed in Palm Garden Hotel for 4 nights out of 11 nights that we spent in Bali. This was the cheapest hotel during our trip. It is good value for the small amount of money that you pay. The continental breakfast that is included in the price is just toast, coffee and some fruits but you can order a full English or American breakfast for extra money. I must say that you can get the same breakfast for half the price if you don't mind walking a bit. The rooms are big enough but rather tired inside. The whole place looks fairly attractive with a nice garden and decent pool if you do not look at the details and do not have high expectations. We only spents the nights in the hotel, so it was OK for that purpose. The receptionists are very helpful. There is a supermarket about 5 minutes walk from the hotel where we rented bikes for 25,000 Rupia a day, which was very reasonable. I recommend that you should buy corn at the guy who sells corn right on the beach by the hotel. It is very tasty and sweet and costs just 5,000 Rupia. The hotel is really close to the beach but the beach looks awful at low tide. It is dirty and not attractive at all. If you want to relax on a nice beach, you have to get on a bike or take a taxi and go somewhere else either in Sanur or in Nusa Dua or Kuta, which we did. We found a really good restaurant nearby called Casa Luna. I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poclimacli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip and would have stayed again at the end, but there was no room. We booked directly with the hotel, by email. It took them at least a week and a few reminder emails on my part to get an answer from them, which made me a little nervous, but we were pleased once we got there. As arranged, we were met at the airport by their friendly and English-fluent driver. The room was very nice for the price, with the best bathroom and most comfortable patio furnishings we had during an entire trip of similarly priced hotels. For about 300,000 rupiah a night ($30), we got a room with both AC and a ceiling fan, a comfortable king-size bed, a television and a refrigerator/mini bar. The marble bathroom was spacious, with both a tub and a separate shower. The gardens and pool are lovely. Continental breakfast was included. We upgraded a few pennies and went for an Indonesian and "American" breakfasts, which were adequate, but not great. They take credit cards, which not all hotels in this price range do. We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff.

I liked the location. It was to the south of the most central shopping/dining area, but within easy walking distance. Also, taxis and bemos are both abundant. Best of all, the beach was just 100 feet or so away. Two weeks after our initial stay, we ended up back in Sanur. The Palm Garden was all booked up, and we ended up randomly searching the streets for an acceptable hotel. After seeing a few real dogs, we ended up staying at a nice-enough place that was closer to town but farther from the beach and with a lesser bathroom and terrace--and it cost $20 more a night. Lesson learned--if it's July, call ahead. All in all, I consider the Palm Garden a bit of a gem.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wateryrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.8 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#31 of 82 in Sanur
444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#39 of 82 in Sanur
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#14 of 82 in Sanur
753 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#36 of 82 in Sanur
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#29 of 82 in Sanur
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Garden

Address: Jalan Kesuma Sari 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £27 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palm Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palm Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Hotel
Hotel Palm Garden Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing