We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel room”
Review of The Trophy Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Trophy Hotel
Ranked #96 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Perth Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hotel room”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

i was brought to this hotel because my hotel that i had booked 9 months in advance and also re-confirmed before arriving was full. I am rating this hotel as 1/2 star. the room had 2 bed rooms small kitchen and small lounge area. only 1 bedroom had air conditioning the other had nothing not even a fan. The lounge had a fan. Was only here 1 night so did not and would not have used the kitchen, the lounge cushion was so dirty i would not sit on it. i sat on a chair to watch tv the remote did not work, then at 10.30pm there was a knock on the door i was told that i would have to share my room because the other hotel was booked and they had another guest, as it turns out the young lady had also booked the other hotel "Senia" 2 days prior. they wanted to charge us 420,000rupiah which we both said we would not pay after many phone calls to the other hotel it was finally agreed on 210,000rupiah. finally went to bed the sheets smelt, bedroom door was falling apart looked like it had water damage. bathroom was just as disgusting and did not shower here, also the towels looked so gray and dirty, thought i might as well wait till i got transferred back to the Senia. I have traveled around Asia many times and this place would rank in the bottom and would suggest put the extra few dollars towards something better would never stay here again. Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amhs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just opposite the Cat & Fiddle and is a great place for meeting up with your friends over a cold beer and some quality snacks. Try the fried calamari and the mixed sartees and you’ll return here often!

Room Tip: This is a Bar review rather than a Hotel. Don't even know that they have accommodation?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paknasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samford, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The worst meal we had in Sanur. We ordered Asian dishes what was a big mistake. Balinese food was bland and barely edible. Indian dishes looked like dogfood, the taste was allegedly 'just okay'. Kids ate their burgers and lasagne, so that's a positive.
The service was slow and nothing like what we had in other places in Sanur. I think we were hit by a 10-15% tax in the end as well.
The entertainment was quite funny actually. A man with an acoustic guitar - he got the words in songs wrong on purpose maybe.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but stayed at another hotel very close to this place, and me and my partner were there several times during our weeks in Sanur.

The place is great. Good food, reasonable prices. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, nice staff. Great cocktails, especially the Balimoon cocktails. Live music several times a week. There was a cover band playing there on Friday nights during our stay, they were really good!

Please note that Sanur isn't a party place. If you're into that, you would probably go to Kuta instead. But Trophy bar does it's job, serving middle aged couples, families with children, and young couples looking for a calm stay during their honey moon. So if that's what you're expecting, then you'll love Trophy Bar. If you're looking for a place to party, you're probably better off somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Needed a western food fix and spotted the happy hour sign at the trophy. Bingo! Buy one draught beer get 1 free. Orderd a cheseburger and fries while Mandy ordered mie goreng, which when it arrvied looked pretty average but she said it was tasty. My burger looked great but was pretty average but for $4aud I was actually pretty happy. 2 meals 3 drinks all for under 120,000 rupiah ignore the filthy table cloths and rickety chairs and you have a winner. Commwealth bank atm in the bank adds bonus points.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ashmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We used to go to the Trophy pub a lot for dinner whilst in Bali (can't comment on the accommodation) and it was always great. Just loved the place. Went back this time expecting the same, and as usual the food was very good. What got us was the bill. We noticed this time a 15% service charge on our bill? Most places charge nothing or 10%.

Had a good meal however and went to pay by visa card. They then charged us an extra 3% to pay this way. Effectively nearly a 20% premium for nothing!

What a pity a great place in Bali with great food is spoiled by greedy owners who try to get every cent out of tourists that they can. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptrouble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I didn't stay at the trophy pub but used to go along for a drink most nights stayed in sanur for one month and got to know all the staff there very friendly +the drink was very cheap and great value try their crazy crush refreshing taste good live music would go back again all round great pub 5*

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.3 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#24 of 78 in Sanur
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Wirasana Hotel
Bali Wirasana Hotel
#55 of 78 in Sanur
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Svarna Hotel Sanur
Svarna Hotel Sanur
#49 of 135 in Sanur
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amansari Villa
Amansari Villa
#109 of 140 in Sanur
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Putri Homestay
Putri Homestay
#60 of 345 in Kuta
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yulia 2 Homestay
Yulia 2 Homestay
#75 of 135 in Sanur
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trophy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trophy Hotel

Property: The Trophy Hotel
Address: Jalan Danau Tamblingan 49, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Trophy Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing