We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/21
Booking.com
US$40
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Trip.com
US$31
View deal
PricelineUS$40
Hotels.comUS$39
FindHotelUS$34
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,883)
Filter reviews
2,883 results
Traveller rating
770
1,266
552
188
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
770
1,266
552
188
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe room nice resort buffet breakfast egg station walk along the beach low tide beach area shuttle bus welcome drink sun loungers main pool pools bali genius massage squirrels tropical
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,378 - 1,383 of 2,883 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2013

after 2 weeks in Indonesia we arrived in Sanur on dec 30th and had booked another hotel that proved to be quiet far from the beach. We decided to look for something more suitable for New Year's Eve and following days.

We checked availabilities for hotels on "booking.com" and discovered that Mercure showed some rooms available. On an initial call to the Mercure we were given a quotation for a "NY-package" consisting of a room for 2 people + 2 NY "gala dinner". As we were 3 people we decided to drive over to the hotel to have a look and decide in situ.

Once there, a sleek manager, Mr Triana, welcomed us and listed us a confusing number of options, none of which corresponded to what had been offered by phone. Only when i mentioned that I had previously called he could remember that there was something like NY-packages which could give "better value". We were shown a nice duplex-suite in a private garden with direct access to the beach which would accommodate the three of us. He said he needed to "talk to his superiors" in order to "get a cheap rate for you" and he came back with a price which was horrendous but which we were willing to accept. Once we installed in the room we noticed a number of things:

a) the door to the "private garden" was locked an un-openable because the key had gone and with it the main selling point of this room. It took them 4 hours to get this fixed i.e. most of your first day in the hotel consisted of watching friendly but totally incompetent people try to open a locked door with hammers, knifes, screwdrivers, etc… Finally they called a locksmith from outside who opened the door in 5 seconds and that should have been done before renting out the room.

b) the electrical sockets are wired in a way that charging devices (phones, laptops, camera batteries) are systematically without power once you touch a switch. I am an engineer and have not succeded in understanding the algorithm or logic that commands the wiring. It left some of our modern world "necessities" powerless.

When we complained about the lock and the electrical problem we were always treated with friendliness and utter inefficiency. They somehow noticed that we started to be slightly unnerved so they came by us and offered my wife a complimentary "balinese massage" emphasizing the "value" of this "extraordinary gesture". She took the massage the day after and it proved to be of far lesser quality than the ones you can buy on the beach for 50.000 rp (5 USD/hour).

In our package for 3 people they omitted to tell us that the breakfast for our son was not included and they charged an extra 179.000 rp (18 USD) for a mediocre buffet. It is not the mere amount that counts but if a family of 3 books the most expensive suite of an hotel, the least you can expect is that the price you are given includes the same treatment for the whole party. At checkout I asked M. Triana to reconsider this and he called once again "the superiors" who refused to adjust the bill. I said we would not take breakfast in their hotel the second day so they could count one of the not used breakfasts for the previous day and they even refused that - hiding behind so-called rules from ACCOR.

The so called NY-gala dinner was a farce for european standards. Cheese was on display for hours at 30° Celsius and so were oysters. Indonesian dishes were decent. All the rest tasteless crap. Not even water was included in the 140USD "gala-dinner" and had to be ordered separately and signed off. 35 USD for the cheapest bottle of indonesian wine to several hundred USD for decent french wine. Greedy and ridiculous in a country where staff is probably paid less than 300USD per month.

The pools are extremely dirty. In one of the pools you could merely see 6 feet under water. They have a ridiculous vouchermania for everything: vouchers for towels at the pool (they threaten to charge you 20USD if you loose the voucher !!), vouchers for breakfast, vouchers for dinner, vouchers, for SPA, …) …

The staff is friendly but - as said - totally inefficient and hardly trained at all.

All the top executives from ACCOR should make a case-study on how you annihilate customer fidelity with such behaviour.

I would like to invite Mr Triana NOT to post a response to my post because I do not believe a single word of what he says. He should save his time and change the spirit of "his" hotel - it is definitely going in the wrong direction.

DO NOT GO THERE - I do not understand the positive feed-backs. They can only come from unexperienced travelers

I will take the time to post also a feed-back in french

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PittP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The location of this hotel is in Sanur area. Very nice location with a lot of shopping places and local restaurants surrounding . Actually this is a good hotel with nice garden, but unfortunately the hotel is not well maintained.
Entering the lobby I found some tiles are cracked , undone , dirty couch . Inside the room you'll find moist odor radiating the room.
There is not too much option for breakfast and waitress were unkind.
There are two swimming pools and there is a private beach .
Basically this hotel needs refurbishments in every aspect. Sadly very nice location and landscape are not counterbalanced with hospitality and building maintenance.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Mikaylasativa,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for your telling us your feedback about your recent stay in our resort. Your concerns on the hotel condition is greatly appreciated. We have noted your comments and rest assure we will review further and take the necessary actions to improve this condition.

We are waiting to welcoming you again, and we hope that your next stay will be even more pleasant.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We found that the overall conditions of the hotel were fine but our experiences with the staff were all terrible. There is a complete arrogance about everyone we dealt with for checking in, issues when the safe in our initial room was missing and then when they tried to charge twice even though we had pre-paid through their own website.
It certainly put a negative twist on our stay there and we wouldn't recommend it.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leemundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Leemundo,

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for taking your time to share about your recent stay in our resort. We regret to read that your experience, especially related to our staff service, did not meet your expectations.

We have remarked your concern, and rest assure we will take the appropriate measures to address this problem and improve our service quality.

We sincerely hope that you will grant us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews