We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not exactly love at first sight--but it got better...”
Review of Ramayana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramayana Hotel
Ranked #62 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not exactly love at first sight--but it got better...”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a very old, very tired hotel. Rooms are dark and unattractive, though spotlessly clean. Parking entrance depressing with broken-down furniture and overflowing trash containers. By the time I found the front desk, I regretted making a reservation here.

And yet, staff were welcoming and anxious to please. The a/c worked; bed was comfortable; both breakfast and lunch were very satisfactory. For the reasonable price, much value received. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms have little or no soundproofing. Ask to be far away from families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MGBIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
10
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Large rooms with all modern facilities. Very clean and tidy. Quiet location and just a short walk from the beach.
Swimming pool, which i did not use or see, is actually part of the hotel next door but you are allowed to use it.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I are in our mid 70's. We stayed at Ramayana in room number 5 for two weeks during September 2012. For RP300.000 ( AU$30 ), we didn't expect the Ritz or five star accommodation.
We were pleasantly surprised at what we found. Our room faced a small tropical garden. It had a king sized bed and a double bed. It was comfortable and clean and the air conditioner worked perfectly. We have had far worse accommodation in some Melbourne hotels at three times the price.
I have visited Bali nine times since 1985, staying at some luxurious and up market resorts and hotels and I would nominate the staff at Ramayana as among the most pleasant and helpful people I have had the pleasure to meet.
The new dining room and stainless steel kitchen served excellent meals and a free buffet breakfast breakfast..
We had a couple of small niggles when we first arrived, The air conditioner was leaking water on the floor, bar fridge we ordered was missing and a bedside light was flickering. We mentioned the above at the front desk on our way to breakfast and when we returned to our room the problems were being fixed. We are heading back to Bali in September and we will of course be staying at Ramayana. John and Jill Millbourn

Room Tip: Any room facing the small tropical garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Without a doubt this is the best value hotel in Sanur...I stayed there for 8 weeks...the staff are fabuous always ready to help and always with a smile....great Satay in the restaurant...use of 3 swimming pools...excellent position right in the middle of the hub of Sanur on Danu Tamblingan...linen changed every day/fridge/flat screen TV...home from home I had a fabulous stay...10 out of 10 and the very best value in Sanur...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Arrived in the dark without accommodation booked in Sanur. Looked at 2 other nearby hotels that were double the price with rooms not as good as here. AC and hot water worked well; fluffy towels and clean room with private verandah.....the satellite TV reception wasn't so good but hey! We're not here to watch tv! Breakfast plentiful, staff friendly and helpful. Close to the action of main road yet only few mins walk to beach. Glad I have found my lil place to stay when I next need to be in Sanur.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyTells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here almost three weeks as our families came to visit us in Bali while we were on a long Southeast Asia trip. The hotel is a bit old and some of the rooms are a bit dated. But overall it was a great stay. We payed 300.000 IRP for a double room and the price included taxes and breakfast. You're also allowed to use the three pools in Swastika hotel which is adjacent to Ramayana. And the pools were great. Breakfast was buffet style and OK with choice of eggs, fresh fruits and toast.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sanur as I find Sanur generally overpriced. Rooms 5 to 6 overlook a nice garden. Avoid rooms 11 and 12 are small and smell of mildew.

Staff was fantastic. Professional, super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmetzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF, California
Level Contributor
1,690 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Ramayana is the newer front part of the Swastika Guest House complex. We stayed in one of the bungalows with it's own front porch, overlooking a very nice tropical garden. The room was large for a budget hotel and was clean and well maintained. We found the staff very friendly and helpfull. Location is along the main street with restaurants and shops just steps away, with an easy walk to the beach.
A real plus to this stay was that the 3 (yes 3) swimming pools located in the rear are all in nice areas of the extensive garden. One pool is good for kids another for real swimming and one in a very private / intimate area.

Room Tip: There are a few bungalows just beyond the reception area that surround a nice garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.1 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#34 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Wirasana Hotel
Bali Wirasana Hotel
#55 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#64 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Svarna Hotel Sanur
Svarna Hotel Sanur
#50 of 136 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nyaman Guest House
Nyaman Guest House
#53 of 138 in Denpasar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramayana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Hotel

Property: Ramayana Hotel
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan No. 130, Sanur, Denpasar 80030, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramayana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramayana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing