We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, very good service and an excellent evening of outstanding music.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Luna International Restaurant - CLOSED

Casa Luna International Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, very good service and an excellent evening of outstanding music.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Myself and two others had perhaps the best night of our holiday here.

The staff and service were excellent. The manager even checked up on us,
We ordered a calzone, an indonesian mix of food and a satay dish.

All were tasty and of a good size. The staff were attentive but did not hover and whisk away drinks.

Then the music started. Two guys (Emmanuel and Jhoey) began an incredible acoustic set. The musicianship was phenomenal, they took requests as well as playing a well rounded set. We began challenging them with various songs and they coped with all. From Pink floyd to Louis armstrong to Enrique Inglesias. We actually saw them again in Ubud a few days later as they played in Ubud where we were travelling to. The manager explained that he was trying to give local musicians a chance to play music (these guys starting here 3 years ago) and was very astute in his approach to his customers. We returned for drinks another night and were recognized and welcomed by the staff.

A great friendly organisation that delivers well on all levels. ( Daily for music, every wednesday for Jhoey and Emmanuel)

Thank you to all involved, for a fantastic experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexJW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    20
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Went to casa Luna in sanur last night had the large seafood platter for two it was just okay.But the big joke they only had four staff on and the place was packed we arrived early and the punters kept coming until there was 80 diners .They had two trainees in the four staff it was a disastor I was rolling on the floor thought I was a faulty towers production.Dont go there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and one of our cheapest up market meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Food was very good and great variation and best priced compared to other comparitive restaurants. Set in down town Ubud was very convenient.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank farm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very expensive, poor food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our driver as we were staying in Sanur, Bali.
But from the word go, it did not appeal. The ambience was too dull. lot of mosquitoes biting. We ordered a mix of Indonesian food and some continental food. Sadly the staff was neither very welcoming nor very well conversed in English. The service was very slow and disinterested. The food was barely passable. The portion of the seafood was too little. The Nasi goreng not very good. The only redeeming feature was the dessert which the kids loved.

The worst part was the bill. Way too expensive. Felt cheated paying it. Definitely the worst food experience in Bali for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small, sweet restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Casa luna is found on the street leading to Bali Hyatt and is dotted with many other numerous restaurant. We only had one meal there. The portion size was good but the quality of Babi Guling served was not up to the mark, the Nasi Goreng was on the sweet side ( maybe they have customized hat for international travelers) but we were in a mood for a traditional Nasi goreng. The service was slow, will give benefit of doubt to the staff as it was full for dinner. In all an average experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Epicureansilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Luna International Restaurant also viewed

 
Sanur, Denpasar
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing