We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favourite breakfast restaurant no more”

Casa Luna International Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“my favourite breakfast restaurant no more”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I Have been coming to Casa Luna for brunch once a week for the last four months. Was my favourite place for brunch.. no longer. I am guessing there must be a new chef. Last week I had to send my bacon back as it was still raw... not much better when it came out again. Today the bacon was still undercooked, they forgot to serve the steak and no toast with the scrambled eggs, as was always the case in the past. The butter was rancid, it had been allowed to melt and was reset, YUCK.

This morning the music was loud and raucous, not at all conducive to an enjoyable relaxing Sunday morning brunch Asked for it to be turned down, but it didn't happen.

Couldn't recommend this restaurant in all good faith... shame that a great place has gone downhill so quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GREWOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    20
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Five star quality food but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had dinner here on two occasions. The taste and presentation of the meals was excellent, all four of us agreed it would have to be one of the best meals we have had in Bali . The menu is quite extensive and provides a great explanation of the various dishes.
Upon arriving we were greeted warmly and quickly taken to our table and given the menu but that is just about where the service stopped and we had to signal for attention several times to even place a drinks order. The restaurant was however quite full.
Both times there was a good atmosphere assisted by live music (not too loud) via guitar playing and ballad singing.
The first occasion the beer was nice and cold but on the second visit it was warm. We complained to the staff who advised that their beer fridge was broken but did not apologise or seem concerned. We could not drink it and sent it back. We were not expecting to see the items included on our bill but alas they were. We could not be bothered arguing so we paid it and left
Would we visit again, probably yes because the food is excellent but we will know what to expect from the service side and put up with it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice and big portion of breakfast..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had breakfast at Casa Luna on Friday morning around 10 am..
My friend order the Australian breakfast menu and it was a big portion..
Other friend order sandwich with hash brown and it was a big portion too..
I found my banana smoothies is sweet, fresh and tasty..
Food were good, but the service was not the best on that morning..
Maybe it's still early so they were bit slow to serve the food..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erna Yuli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ambience, great with young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a great night, beautiful Balinese styled 'courtyard' dining setting, live music the night we were there, great kids meals ( boys 2yo and 4yo had pizza and an ice cream sundae) staff were great, meals were great, we ordered simple Balinese dishes. The prices are on the higher side, but I think the experience was worth it. They have complimentary pick-up and drop-home service, which is great if you have young kids. We were the first ones there, but it started to get busier as we were leaving, so seems like a pretty popular place. We actually just went with the cabbies recommendation and it worked out perfectly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDn2Bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, very good service and an excellent evening of outstanding music.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Myself and two others had perhaps the best night of our holiday here.

The staff and service were excellent. The manager even checked up on us,
We ordered a calzone, an indonesian mix of food and a satay dish.

All were tasty and of a good size. The staff were attentive but did not hover and whisk away drinks.

Then the music started. Two guys (Emmanuel and Jhoey) began an incredible acoustic set. The musicianship was phenomenal, they took requests as well as playing a well rounded set. We began challenging them with various songs and they coped with all. From Pink floyd to Louis armstrong to Enrique Inglesias. We actually saw them again in Ubud a few days later as they played in Ubud where we were travelling to. The manager explained that he was trying to give local musicians a chance to play music (these guys starting here 3 years ago) and was very astute in his approach to his customers. We returned for drinks another night and were recognized and welcomed by the staff.

A great friendly organisation that delivers well on all levels. ( Daily for music, every wednesday for Jhoey and Emmanuel)

Thank you to all involved, for a fantastic experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexJW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Luna International Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing