We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Semawang Beach Hotel
Ranked #75 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is one of the least expensive hotels in Sanur. It's far from perfect but for what you pay it's great. Rooms are fine (particularly for backpackers), hot water, clean linen, staff that are always cleaning the place as well. There's also a pool on the top floor, great fun for a 5am drunken swim!

For those backpacking you'll likely be using Perama travel (I did) but this is a hell of a walk from there, at least a mile and almost certainly more

I'd go again though, good food near here and a nice 'Irish' Pub over the road.

N.B. It doesn't look great from the outside as it's down an alleyway, rest assured it's safe though.

Room Tip: I'd go for the second floor if possible. As you're away from reception on the ground floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
4
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Recently stayed for a few nights at this establishment which is close to the beach and adjacent to shops and cafes.I had read all reviews regarding this hotel and i feel that people are expecting far too much for their money> The going rate for an A/C room on the first floor was rp250,000 which included an adequate breakfast (continental or indo).I found the staff and management very polite and attentive; the rooms of a good size; the A/C very good; bathrooms a little dated but still in good working condition with adequate water; the location is just great. It does not present well from the outside but be pleasantly surprised and have a good look before you judge. It is not 5 star but it is great value for money !

Room Tip: ground floor.. fan rooms; 1st floor a/c rooms/ second floor same as first but closer to pool and a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spudnikfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Although I already knew from the reviews that this place will be very basic, I was worse than that. I thought it would be at least clean, but it smelled very bad and the bad was the opposite of that. As well as the "bathroom" if you want to called like that. breakfast is very basic but okay for that price.

I would definitely not go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Tugun, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Although I had no high expectations of this place, and really wanted it as simply 'somewhere to sleep' we only stayed at Semawang for 3 nights of the booked 10. Firstly, our prebooked airport transfer did not arrive to collect us at 12.30pm, so we got a cab. We were shown our room and the room did not have curtains which we had to organise before going to sleep and also a fridge we requested was not there. This was organised 2 days later (the day we moved accommodations)

The rooms were old and run down (to be expected) with very low budget and hard beds.

We were kept awake by the air con on all 3 nights and infested wtih mosquitos on night 3 which was the end of our stay at Semawang after 3 sleepless nights. We moved up the road to a place called Abian Kokoro (Where the Sumo Japanese restaurant is) which was approx $6.00 a night more expensive and brand new.

I personally would not stay back at Semawang, however it is cheap and conveniently located for those travelling on a budget and don't mind 'roughing it' somewhat.

Although I have focussed on the negatives,most of the staff were very lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were a bit worried about the bad reviews about this place, but think maybe those reviewers had unrealistic expectations of the place.. comparing the price to other places around its obviously going to be a little more tatty/run down yes, but it is suitably clean and the rooms are big and have enough furniture etc. The aircon works really well and the hot water always seems to work, so we forgave the neglected air of the decorations and damp smell in the bathroom.

Breakfast is nice, the staff are very friendly, the location is great (literally 2mins to the beach), the communal balconies (there are no private ones) on each floor are big and have nice comfy chairs. There is also a pool table, which is nice!

The pool is very small so not good for actual swimming but very nice for bathing and the sunlounger area is nice, though there are only 4 sunbeds so get one early!

Room Tip: Was shown a top floor room, and a middle floor room. The middle floor was a little cheaper but was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutaylor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opole
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

we stay 30 days, so graet ,old style,good condition, huge rooms, bathroom inside, swimming pool, free braekfast, helpfull staff, cheap trip,

cleaning room everyday,but you should give key for cleaning,no key no cleaning,


free roomservice,beer,diner,cold drink,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp6smj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I had read the reviews---and was concerned. It is not a 5 star---but for the money it is a bargain! It is 2 minutes to the beach and adjacent to various luxury resorts (at 10x the money)---yes, it is spartan, and the bathroom fixtures are dated---but it is clean, has a nice pool, a/c, fridge, pool table, and quiet, but close to restaurants----and very friendly and helpful staff!!

Room Tip: top floor (3 story building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Puri Mango Hotel
Puri Mango Hotel
#64 of 78 in Sanur
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abian Srama Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alit's Beach
Hotel Alit's Beach
#76 of 78 in Sanur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#39 of 78 in Sanur
72 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#50 of 78 in Sanur
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semawang Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semawang Beach Hotel

Property: Semawang Beach Hotel
Address: Jl. Pantai Cemara No: 3, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Semawang Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semawang Beach Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing