We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“just great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Dog Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Dog Villa
Ranked #42 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

my husband and i have just returned from 2 weeks at the lazy dog villa it is the first time we have stayed in one place for this amount of time so was a bit on edge as if we would cope with such a lazy stay but it was just perfect the pool is great we spent a lot of time in it it is bigger than the pictures show. Ayu and nyoman well what can i say they are two of the nicest people we have met very helpful and caring ,also when i asked about a taylor they found a very good one i had 4 skirts and a dressing gown made ( i brought the material from denpasar market dont forget to bargain) food is not a problem if you wish to eat in as hardys or the bali deli sells most things. one of the best things about the villa is they have most things like toothbrush and paste,shower gels soap mossie spray,dvds, books a good selection so can save yourself some weight in your case also things like tea bags coffee,bacon eggs milk and other foods to get you started almost forgot yes the villa is very private no one overlooks. it also has a guard 24 hours so very safe even with the open plan so if you would like a relaxing holiday with no worries go to the lazy dog villa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was our first visit to Bali for myself, husband and 3 daughters as we arranged this trip to celebrate our elder daughters 18th and 21st Birthdays and we were not dissapointed. The villa was fabulous and very well equipped. The service provided by Ayu and Nyoman was discreet, professional and nothing was ever too much trouble for either of them, it was faultless. Nyoman arranged for a friend to take us on a few day trips and we visited the Volcano and Ubud which were excellent days out. The villa is very quiet and private and is not over looked by other villas. We found some great places to eat especially Pregina Warung, Santurni Puri Hotel (afternoon tea was great value for money) and the Bali Deli was excellent for bread and they have a small supermarket as well which we only discovered on our last day. I would definitely return to this villa again in the future and would recommend it to anybody. I cannot thank Ayu or Nyoman enough for making this trip special for us all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We came here as the last spot on our honeymoon as i wanted to stay in a Vila instead of another fancy hotel - simply for the more homely feeling & connection to Bali. I was not disappointed! Ayu & Nyoman are beautiful. I loved all the little touches - such as having an Australian power adaptor plugged into the bathroom socket, great books to read, bicycles there to ride, & food in the fridge. I would stay here again just to experience the complimentary laundry service Ayu provides, my clothes are beautifully pressed and folded like new. A great time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tt_cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently left our stay at the Lazy Dog Villa after spending six nights there. We loved both the Villa and Sanur itself and have booked to stay again later in the year. Everything that has been written about the great staff there is true, Auy and Nyoman are fanstastic, they are both very happy and helpful people. Suri and Ayu gave as a great introduction when we arrived (which was fairly late at night). The Villa is very well equipped so you don't have to bring much, the showers were all kitted out with shampoo. condition, body wash, there is sun screen and insect repellent in the showers and books to read. There is a large flat screen, DVD player etc. The Villa is larger than it appears in the photos I agree with the other reviewers in this respect.
The Villa can be a bit hard to find for first timers, as we were, it is located opposite the Flapjaks restaurant and to the right of the Little India restaurant on Jalan Cemara. As Jl Cemara is a one way street, Flapjaks is on your left and LIttle India is on you right as you are heading up it. The main LDV is located downstream as well (RHS of road), with a Jade Green Ganesh on your left hand side as you face the gate. As you get picked up from the airport by the happy smiling Nyoman there is no issues with finding it first time.
The extras make this Villa even more worthwhile, we ate in a lot, so saved a bit of $ there, not because we needed to but because we loved being there and chilling out. We also cooked our own breakfast every day.
On the first day you get there, Nyoman will take you up to Hardy's and for a tour of Sanur to orient you. Nyoman also dropped our bags off with us at our next hotel and dropped us off at the airport, this was also included (as we were heading to another location in Indonesia before returning to Bali). Nyoman also posted our post cards for us, which was very helpful.
This is the sort of place you could take the whole family. The LDV just rents out the number of bedrooms that you wish, I got a bit confused by this at the start. So if you want 1, you pay for 1, etc. up to 3. there is a marginal increase in price for the additional bedrooms. Each of the bedrooms face the pool and are quite private from each other.
It is a short walk to the beach from the Villa and very quiet at night. There is a bit of noise from Flapjaks in-house entertainment some nights, but that stops around 10pm.
Sampai jumpa lagi Lazy Dog Villa! Woof woof!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScooterOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We arrived at lazy dog villa on January 6th 2012, Nyoman met us at the airport and transported us to the villa, when the villa door opened we were blown away to say the least this villa is simply stunning the grounds are beautiful and well looked after, the pool is just perfect and quite large (looks a bit smaller in photo's). We have two teenagers and booked all 3 rooms for our stay and the only complaint I have was the weather could have been a bit kinder to us. Nyoman and his wife Ayu are just lovely, he cleans the pool and gardens while Ayu cleans the villa and does all your washing each day ( I am really missing her since home) she is at the villa from 8.30am till 3.30pm but we changed the times to allow sleep ins and also told her to leave as soon as she was finished, which wasn't a problem. This was our first stay in Sanur and I am now a convert, it was so quiet in this area and you could cross the road quite easily without fearing for your life. Sometimes Sanur has power blackouts (which happened twice whilst we were there) this is not a problem at LDV as they have a backup power generator which activated as soon as power went off. The owners Ray and Suri were extremely helpful to us during our stay, Suri is Balinese and sorted a few booking problems out for me and both she and Ray came by on my daughters 17th birthday with a beautiful birthday cake and flowers for her, this was unexpected and so appreciated. The accommodation is extremely clean and very comfortable, they have not forgotten a thing here its like being at home with everything you could possibly want, I would not hesitate in recommending this accommodation to anyone and am looking forward to returning there in the not too distant future. Thankyou Ray, Suri, Nyoman and Ayu.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

After reading a lot of Trip Advisor reviews, it’s clearly easy for the first-time Bali villa user to get caught up in ‘villa hysteria’. That is, for people to be enamoured simply by the concept of staff attending to some of their daily needs (washing, cooking, security etc). Since these services are provided, to some extent, by all Bali villas, it should not be the primary basis on which accommodation is judged. Notwithstanding that, if the service is done well, it can make a big difference, as evidenced by the Lazy Dog Villa, Sanur.

The first impression of Lazy Dog Villa is its simple class. The villa is modern, refined, clean, and nicely (if not overly tastefully) decorated. From start to finish, there was a very smooth operation from Kristen, Ray, Ayu and Nyoman. In particular, the villa staff were professional and discreet (and didn’t once complain about their salary/employer/husband/wife/capacity to educate their children etc. as we have experienced at so many other villas). They clearly valued their work and their professional conduct was much appreciated.

The villa, in addition to being very quiet (by Bali standards) is equipped with fantastic facilities. The bathrooms are brilliant, and have outstanding water pressure, which is not to be taken for granted in Bali. In addition, the pool is great – warm enough all day and night, but not always in full sun. Again, this is not something to be taken for granted. Also, there is free Wi-Fi, a free phone for local calls, and a large flat screen TV. Once again, at this price point, these are certainly not the norm.

There are some really nice touches – from Nyoman driving you to Hardy’s (the local supermarket) and showing you the best money-changer when you arrive, through to the fluffy towels, free toothbrushes, unlimited body washes and shampoo, and a beautiful Christmas tree - we always felt valued and looked after. In particular, the ‘welcome pack’, which included bacon, eggs, jam, margarine, bread, juice, milk, beer, soft drink, water, and an enormous bowl of fresh fruit, was very helpful and much appreciated.

The kitchen was large and very well equipped, which (somewhat unusually for Bali) made self-catering ‘do-able’. The western-standard cooking facilities, barbeque, and a useful range of condiments provided free of charge in the pantry, combined with the fresh produce available at Hardy’s, means home-made sandwiches for lunch or a BBQ and salad for dinner is very easy for those inclined.

The villa security was very discreet. Some villas allow the security man and other staff to wander around your yard at any and all hours of the day and night – a problem if privacy is desired (which it often is, given you booked a ‘private villa’). Thankfully, security staff at the Lazy Dog never entered the villa enclosure without permission, and Ayu and Nyoman always rang the gate doorbell and waited to be invited inside.

I cannot pretend that the villa was perfect (few places are), and there were some minor problems that detracted a little from the overall quality of our stay.

The living room sofas are ridiculously uncomfortable. To be fair however, the selection of rattan/cane as the first-choice material for sofas in most Bali villas nevertheless means that this isn’t a problem unique to Lazy Dog. Also, the beds are simply too short. Whilst expansive and plush, the beds appear to be designed for the Asian market. If you’re more than 180cm, prepare to spend the night kicking your toes against the bed-end.

Unfortunately, Ayu, the maid, doesn’t cook. For many regular villa users, the lack of included breakfast and no option for prepared dinners will be a little strange. The welcome pack was enough for one or two mornings, but after that we were left to our own devices when it came to breakfast, which is somewhat unusual in a Balinese villa, many of which provide a cooked breakfast each morning. As would be expected, Ayu does do laundry each day. As would perhaps also be expected, your clothes end up grey. Typical of Balinese laundering, the ability to make whites un-white and colours less vivid is world-class. A tip for first-time Bali travellers – don’t bring your best clothes.

The villa lacked a handbook of local advice. Most villas provide some information about the best places to eat (at varying prices) and where the best value massages can be accessed, etc. It is invaluable for travellers who have not visited an area before. The ‘tour’ of Sanur provided by Nyoman pointed out the supermarket and a good money-changer, which was handy, but some more advice from the owners would have been appreciated. In particular, restaurant advice is very helpful, as navigating the minefield that is the Bali restaurant scene can be nothing short of treacherous, and finding the gems that are inevitably well hidden can be difficult.

As it is, a stay here is sure to impress, and guests will not be disappointed with the attentive, discreet service and superb facilities. I would strongly recommend the Lazy Dog Villa as a fantastic oasis in the laid-back area of Sanur.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Enjoyed our family stay in Lazy Dog Villa very much, we used all three rooms for the five of us. Teenagers appreciated big TV too. Pool very nice, accomodation very nice, ditto grounds. A big plus -it was the first time in Bali that we had a housekeeper who did our washing (and put me totally to shame with her ironing and folding) - but a really nice change from washing everything ourselves under the shower for weeks at a time. Slight negative was realising that I had to organise the breakfasts (although there was a well stocked fridge the first day). I'd got used to being fed.. I think the fridge and the TV could use a bit of help from airconditioning (the kitchen / dining is in the open but under cover) because the fridge was really struggling and the DVD player kept overheating. The villa is beautiful, just remember to take cash as they dont take credit card which I was a bit surprised about as its a pretty upmarket place. I suppose I ony noticed these small negatives because overall it was a terrific place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Agung & Sue Watering Hole II
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#35 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kesumasari Guest House
Kesumasari Guest House
#69 of 133 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bali Jade Villas
Bali Jade Villas
#37 of 133 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
0.2 mi away
Villa Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu
#42 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Dog Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Dog Villa

Property: Lazy Dog Villa
Address: Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lazy Dog Villa Hotel Sanur
Lazy Dog Villa Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing