We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money”
Review of Ananda Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ananda Beach Hotel
Ranked #108 of 139 Sanur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night because we wanted to take the boat to Nusa Lembongan the next morning. At first glance our room looked nice with ocean view and balcony. But there was a reason the manager gave us this room with a small discount: The tap in the sink did not work, the shower turned out only to have water that got hotter and hotter (not nice to discover with shampoo in the hair), and the fan was making so much noise we thought it would break. When we told the manager, he already knew about the problems and let us change to another room. "Fine". We went to their restaurant where our waitress was rude and the food not very good. If she had at least looked/smiled at us it would have been okay.. The next morning at 7 we asked reception if we could order breakfast, but the girl just told us that breakfast was at 7.30 and then turned away. The reason we booked this hotel was because of the early breakfast since we had a boat to catch - the manager had even tried to sell us tickets the day before. 2 hours boat ride with no breakfast - thank god for seasickness pills. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mie_Mikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Ananda Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

The place is in front of a nice beach in Sanur, crowed in the day but quiet at night. Price is a bit exesive but staff are nice. No need to book on internet, better go and bargain, there is a lot of place in that area and always someone stay at night.

Room Tip: No need to book in internet, better go and bargain the room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was by far the worst hotel we stayed in during our trip around Bali. The first room we were given had no toilet seat, gecko (we hope!) excrement in the bath tub and a broken window that would not close at all. We asked the owner if we could change rooms and were told only the more expensive rooms were available. The "superior" room had air con but an awful smell of leaking sewage / standing water. In the morning neither the taps nor the shower were working at all. The staff member on reception didn't seem to understand what we were saying so we packed up, paid and left. On leaving we had the owner chasing us accusing us of not paying! Would not reccomend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here as we were looking for a cheap place for 1 night before we left for Nusa Lembongan. I was not expecting anything special, but just somewhere to shower and sleep. However the room smelt strongly of sewerage, the toilet looked as though it had never been cleaned and when I turned on the shower bugs came out of the drain. There was even someone's cotton bud sitting on our table when we arrived, which was still there when we left. The bed linen was reasonably clean but that was the only thing that was.

We had no fly screen on our windows and could not shut them as the slats fell out if we tried to close them. So we had lots of mozzies and LOTS of noise all through the night and early hours from presumably staff talking loudly outside the window.

It was a good location close to boats but is definitely not cheap enough for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mkay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Actualy we went there at July 2010. The room is dirty, mody and dark. far from the beach, poor garden. The service is also terrible. The staff at the front desk is not kind. Never choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We didn't check the tripadvisor reviews for this hotel before we checked in and this was a big mistake! We saw three different rooms and every one of them was like a nightmare. The bathrooms were totally dirty and with big cockroaches on the floor! In every room were mold and it smells like this. The furniture is old and all the rooms need urgently a renovation.
After we saw the rooms we decided to go to another hotel even we paid already for one night. We saw very much different hotels all over the world but this was the worst hotel ever! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heiki_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My friend and I are travelling for 8 months and having already spent a month in Thailand this was the worst hotel we have EVER stayed in and comparing that to Thailand is certainly saying something. As backpackers we are on a budget and this was the cheapest hotel we could find in Sanur yet it was the most expensive we have stayed in. After 5 minutes of arriving there was no electric, the fan made the most annoying noise and didn't even cool us down, there was a huge hole in the ceiling in the toilet which was inviting a number of creepy crawly's including huge cockroaches into our room. The water was very smelly and we had to crouch down in order to use the shower. As a result we had next to no sleep the one night we stayed here. The staff were extremely rude and became very hostile when we informed them that we had booked a taxi with another company. If you are looking to come to Sanur my advice would be not to come here on a budget but instead come on holiday here as the more expensive hotels looked much more inviting and enjoyable. Overall a horrible place to stay!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here, your only option to find a good room is to stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmi_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alit's Beach
Hotel Alit's Beach
#77 of 78 in Sanur
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanur Agung Hotel
Sanur Agung Hotel
#93 of 139 in Sanur
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.0 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Beach Hotel

Address: Jl. Hang Tuah 43, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £14 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ananda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Beach Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing