We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of The Ducks Nutz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ducks Nutz
Ranked #76 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Gael and her team have done a great job with what they are allowed to do as per restrictions on the lease. If you want 5 star go pay for 5 star. If you want cheap accomodation with 5 star staff and service i would reccomend the duck. Close proximity to the beach, shops, banks and restaurants. You are made to feel welcome and gael ensures there is a family friendly environment. My family (2 adultsand 3 kids) enjoyed our stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
central coast
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed and again it was great , this was a quickly organized holiday and all my emails to Gael where answered promptly , this is not 5 star accommodation , but is clean and small with wonderful staff and we will defiantly be back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tash-xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We highly recommended this budget accomodation the first time we stayed last year and it still is a great vibe only due to the enthusiastic Balinese staff. Unfortunately there is no consideration for repeat customers. Second time not so good. We were quoted via email $50 AUD per night about a month ago for a frankly average large room with little furniture bar a king size broken bed. Reality: AUD$63 per night with no warning - (reason - government taxes which are 10 per cent) even though the website states that the government taxes are included. It simply doesn't add up. Gael if you quote in Aussie dollars don't blame the purchaser for the exchange rate - suggest you quote in rupiah because then the exchange rate isn't a factor. Bed was terminally broken - a problem that we offered to fix ourselves for nix - offer refused due to lack of tools but we had to sleep on it for 4 nights anyway regardless. Hot water in shower - one day only in 4 even though it was made known to senior staff. Room not made up one day because cleaning staff did not have a key - not their fault. If this is the way that you treat happy former clients, they will not remain repeat customers. We were so disappointed this time. Unfortunately we weren't able to address our concerns with you personally as we would have preferred to do on the last day. We did not see you. It's sad we have to do it this way.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Footprintstrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

brunei
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Luckily we were only booked in here one night and arrived late. My boys were freaked out by an extremely large cockroach sitting on the bed to welcome them and my bed was infested by bugs which crawled over me all night. Everything felt dirty and rundown. And I am not a particularly fussy person when it comes to hotels. On the bright side the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flickbrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stumbled across the Ugly Duckling due to our original choice of hotel being fully booked. What a blessing!! The rooms might be tired and in need of an update but they are spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly and are willing to assist with anything. The location is perfect, only a short stroll to the beach,10 minutes from Hardy's and a variety of great restaurants at your doorstep. Gael, who owns the hotel is a gracious host who goes beyond the call of duty. My son had an accident at the beach and Gael transported us to the medical centre. She waited with us and brought us back home- where else would you get this kind of service? The boys and girls in the restaurant and bar were fantastic - nothing was a problem. A particular mention to Pluto who formed a close bond with my boys. Not only did we have a great holiday but we made some wonderful new friends. See you next year!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippychick808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Older hotel with a delightful pool area and helpful friendly service. Rooms are a little tired but comfortable enough. Each room I saw had 2 double beds in it. The A/C did not work in the first room but I was promptly moved to another one. The old A/C in the second room took a bit of time to get going, There was a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities and the mattress was comfortable. My new room was missing a curtain so it was rather bright first thing in the morning but was nice and quiet during the night. The two little shuttered windows could not be left open at night as there were no mosquito screens on them. The bar/café has a great atmosphere and live music and the food is good too. Good value for money and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth/West Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As reported by others before, this is a great-price hotel in a great location with a really-fun bar.
But wait!...There's more!
Gael & her happy staff will ensure that your stay is fun & inclusive or quiet & individual. It's that easy and it works so well.
For price & location, and the addition of the DucksNutz Bar & Grill, this is a Sanur gem.
I shall return in July 13.
Love it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.1 mi away
Bumas Hotel
Bumas Hotel
#66 of 78 in Sanur
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duck Inn Bali
Duck Inn Bali
#12 of 135 in Sanur
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kirana Homestay
Kirana Homestay
#13 of 135 in Sanur
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Svarna Hotel Sanur
Svarna Hotel Sanur
#50 of 135 in Sanur
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nyaman Guest House
Nyaman Guest House
#52 of 141 in Denpasar
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Putri Homestay
Putri Homestay
#56 of 345 in Kuta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ducks Nutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ducks Nutz

Property: The Ducks Nutz
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 72 | Puri Made Hotel, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star property. Very comfortable and friendly, great staff, nice tropical gardens and swimming pool. Very relaxing property. Always fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ducks Nutz Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing