We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse with great owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhouse Guest House
Ranked #14 of 141 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sunhouse for 3 nights in July and liked it very much.
Pros:
The room was clean and nice and they even decorated the bed with plumeria flowers for us, which was a nice touch. The bed and pillows were very comfy. The pool is small but warm and very refreshing. The staff are very friendly. They offer free bottled water, a huge plus and rare for homestays. TV and DVD player work well, which was nice for night, and they have lots of DVDs to choose from.
Cons:
The bathroom could use an update and the temperature of the shower was not good. It would fluctuate between cool and very hot. The location is not great as it is on the street and you can hear the traffic early in the morning. If you are a sound sleeper though, it would not bother you.

The best part of Sunhouse though is the owners and the staff. My husband lost his wedding ring on the beach and they did all they could to try to help us find it. Although we didn't find it, we really appreciated their empathy and effort.
There are lots of big, really nice hotels on the beach in Sanur. But, if you are looking for a nice guesthouse, I am not sure that you could find a better one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crittermedic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

I only stayed one night, but the staff and owners made me feel right at home! It's really good value, the rooms are very pleasent and only a short walk to the beach.

There is a little bit of traffic noise due to the location, but otherwise this place is fantastic and great value.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Ramana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for only one night, but it was a very nice relaxed, friendly hotel. Nice owners. It has a kind of backpackers atmosphere that we like, but with a swimming pool, kitchen, airco .... perfect. We arrived late (at 01:00) but the security guy was already waiting for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reynoldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed for a week in Sunhouse Guesthouse (Room Plumeria). We enjoyed ourselves very much. The staff is very kind and helpful. They helped us with taxi reservations and information where to go. We were happy with the free wifi, pool, fridge and hired bikes.

The room could have been cleaner. For the whole week there was sand on the floor from earlier visitors. Don't expect the bathroom to be new. We didn't expect that ourselves, considering the very reasonable priced room. Bring your own supplies, only 1 bar of soap available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

small, clean, close to the beach and resto and lovely staff

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jymartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed 10 nights at Sunhouse Guesthouse in Sanur and would have even stayed longer but they had no more free rooms. So book well in advance! 
The guesthouse is located in south Sanur, a 10 minutes walk away from the beach. They have 7 rooms - three standard, three superior and one deluxe. We stayed in a standard room (jasmine) and we loved the room. It was not to big but enough space for us, very clean, nicely decorated, with AC, TV and DVD player. They provide a big box of DVDs for all their guests to rent free of charge. They also provide a good wifi connection complimentary. In the small garden guests can find a nice swimming pool, sun beds, chairs and tables to sit and eat. You can also use the kitchen for breakfast and cooking (breakfast not included). They offer free tea and coffee. The deluxe and superior rooms have their own fridge, when you stay in a standard room you can use the big fridge in the kitchen. The staff girls who are everytime around are really nice and taking care of all the wishes from the guests.
Sanur is a good place to stay if you don't like the hustle and bustle of Kuta. It's a quiet beach town with a nice but not really beautiful beach. Nevertheless you will find many restaurants, bars and shops but the nightlife is much more smoother than in Kuta. Try the Power of now Oasis Yoga near the Mercure Hotel at the beach, rent a motorbike and drive around and take a long walk in the evening at the 5km beach promenade (also perfect for running)!
We loved to stay in Sanur and at Sunhouse Guesthouse and would recommend the hotel really much! 

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heiki_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed for two nights. Rooms are really nice, and the owners are really helpful and friendly. It was the best accommodation in Bali we've stayed at!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#56 of 79 in Sanur
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
0.2 mi away
Sanur Guest House
Sanur Guest House
#8 of 141 in Sanur
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rai House Sanur
Rai House Sanur
#37 of 79 in Sanur
73 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tropical Bali Hotel
Tropical Bali Hotel
#1 of 141 in Sanur
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jukung Guest House
Jukung Guest House
#6 of 141 in Sanur
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £20 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing