We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhouse Guest House
Ranked #15 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice cosy hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

perfect, clean nice staff old Bali style everything new and clean, pool is perfect
we stay whole day in resort while Napy Day but was perfect, super kitchen with fridge and nice lady for help
make reservation in advance!!

Room Tip: Orchid :) room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    66
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
90
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

When I first came in, it looked beautiful. With a small swimming pool nearby, it just looked nice. However when I stepped into my room, I could feel the thick dust covering the bed sheet. Apparently they never changed the bed sheet for quite so long after the last guest left. As it was quite late when I came, I expected them to change the sheet the next morning. However to my surprise, they NEVER changed the bed sheet until I checked out 1 week later. And as a result, I got itchy at some parts of my body. It was my fault not to ask them directly to change the sheet, but since I was on my work duty then which made me quite busy (not a vacation), I hardly had time to ask them to change the sheet.

However the bathroom is clean & spacious.

Another thing, on the 3rd day, I found out that there was electricity circuit on the water heater at the bathroom, and it wasn't mended till I checked out. So I had to have cold shower every day then.

The staffs were very friendly, and so was the young man (owner).

Location is good, not far from Sanur Beach Hotel and there are mini markets nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsmailRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhardono, Owner at Sunhouse Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear IsmailRizal,

Thank you for your recent review after staying with us in April 2012.

Please allow us to take this opportunity once again to apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us last year.

We are very concerned and surprised of your review related to the dusty bed sheet, as during the month of your stay, our guesthouse was almost fully booked and that minimise the linen covered by dust. For your additional information, we always change the bed sheet and pillow cases for the new arriving guest and it will be washed and changed every 2 days throughout the guest stay. Moreover, upon guest request, we could change it on daily basis.

As for your second comment, we don't have individual water heater in guest bathroom as our water heater system is centralised for all the rooms. It would take sometime to generate hot water supply when the tank is run out of hot water, however it won't take more than 15 minutes to have hot water supply again once the tank is full. As far as we aware, there's no fault on the water heater system since last year as we also live on the premises, we should be aware if this happened.

We would be grateful if you could contact us directly providing your name and the exact date of your stay so we could review this case with our staff and take necessary action to avoid this case reoccur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This place is amazing value! The room was clean and comfortable, with TV, DVDs and air conditioning. There is a small pool which was great to cool off in. The location is also great, close walk to the beach and to restaurants and ATMS. You can even rent a bike for a small price to make getting around even easier. The staff were simply amazing, so kind and extremely helpful and accomodating, they really go out of their way to help! Definitely stay here while in Sanur!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kli21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sunhouse guest house for the first 3 nights after arriving in Bali. The guesthouse was gorgeous and the architecture traditional Balinese with bright orange and turquoise colors. We stayed at the Plumeria room which was beautiful and quite spacey. The little pool on the yard was a great refreshment after a long day out or the first thing in the morning. Location was ok even though it wasn't right on the beach. The owners were very helpful and friendly and we also rented a skooter through them. The guesthouse has a great variety of DVDs if you only have time to watch them. Only minus is that they don't have breakfast but there's a restaurant called Mama Putu very close by which serves great food and is very affordable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed for four nights ten days ago. Sunhouse is in a nice location not far from the beach. Everybody who works at the Sunhouse are nice and friendly. Also the husband and wife team are very helpful. We would like to stay again when we visit Sanur.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I loved my stay at Sunhouse, the four-poster bed was gorgeous and super comfy, the courtyard and pool was lovely. In a cute, quiet neighbourhood with nice restaurants nearby, and not far from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjchambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san mateo, ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Sunhouse Guesthouse is located just a couple blocks from the main strip of Sanur. It's the perfect place to stay in a nice quiet home near it all. We walked to the beachfront restaurants for almost every meal, and rented a motorbike to cruise down the main road. The house itself has all you need- a comfortable bed, in-suite bathrooms and air conditioning. Also, the staff was so friendly and helpful. The pool is great too, with a very comfortable lounge area to relax on.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatmFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#11 of 78 in Sanur
641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Property: Sunhouse Guest House
Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing